$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
142 reviews
Great stay in Boston

Great beds and linens! A great staff that stored our luggage and gave us a better room. We were... See full review

  • Agneau
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great experience!

The service was exceptional - delightful stay! The room was so comfortable and the view was great.... See full review

  • CinderMom
  • Apr 28, 2014
Modern Hotel Conveniently Located in the Heart of Boston's Theatre District

The newly-renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown offers affordable, mid-scale comfort in the heart of the Theatre District. With access to the city's top attractions, including the Freedom Trail and Newbury Street's upscale boutiques, this full-service hotel offers travelers many options. A Starbucks in the lobby, 24-hour business center, on-site YMCA fitness center and valet parking are just a few of the conveniences at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, chocolate chip cookies are served warm at check-in and rooms feature plush-top mattresses and luxe linens.

Highlights
  • Located in downtown Boston's Theater District with Starbucks in lobby
  • Less than one block from the subway
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour on-site business center
  • Attached to YMCA fitness center
  • Warm chocolate chip cookie served at check-in
Rooms

Simplistic, yet modern furnishings grace each of the hotel's 267 guest rooms, including 11 suites with upgraded amenities, such as individual Keurig coffee machines. Relax on plush mattresses with high thread-count sheets and down pillows. Stay connected at the new black and white media center with 37-inch HDTV, task lighting and desk area, wireless internet access (fees apply), dual-line telephones with voicemail and easy-access outlets. Get ready to your favorite tunes with our iHome clock radio. Our brightly-lit bathrooms include Crabetree & Evelyn bath products and hair dryer.

Features

Drawing inspiration from nearby Chinatown, this hotel features a bi-level lobby with numerous opportunities for lounging, computing and dining. The adjacent YMCA fitness center features cardio and weightlifting equipment and group classes. Guests can use the facility at no charge. Grab something on the go at the full-service Starbucks located on the Lower Lobby level, offering your favorite coffees and pastries during the day. Wisteria Restaurant & Bar serves seasonal American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  The hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Orange Line Tufts Medical Center (adjacent)
  • Hynes Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Logan International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Amtrak-South Station (.65 mi/1.04 km)
Attractions
  • Tufts Medical Center (across street)
  • Boston Common (2 blocks)
  • Chinatown (2 blocks)
  • TD Bank Garden (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Over 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including seasonal courtyard
  • Wi-Fi available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.2 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.8 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 142
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CapeCodMom
Business
Centerville, MA
Jun 25, 2009

A comfy bed but too much $$$ for 1 night

Hotel was directly across from NE Medical Center and steps away from the T stop. The room my son and I were given was directly acroos from the Medical Center and a busy, loud road. Getting to our room felt like a maze, as we had to go down hallway after hallway. I felt like this part of the hotel hadn't been used in a long time. We never heard any other guests around us. The bathroom needs some overall improvements as the shower stall was dirty and the shower head was clogged and felt more like a water pick than a comforting shower. We stayed here as we went to an evening Red Sox game and I didn't want to make to 2 hour drive home that late at night. For a one night stay, I thin that the price was a bit high but the location was great and it was very easy to navigate the T system. The warm cookie when you check in would have been even sweeter if it came with a glass of cold milk, or was brought to your room within 30 minutes of checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the T for getting around. I left my vehicle at a Parking Garage outside of the city, ($7.00 versus the $38.00 overnight parking at the hotel). Transportation on the T was conveinent, but factor in travel time as you will have to wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Castor Norte
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Jan 4, 2013

Disappointing

This hotel is a complicated maze of hallways - a certain deathtrap in an emergency. Beware of hidden charges: despite the online reviews, breakfast and parking are not included. When you add in the $43 for parking and $15 per head for breakfast, you can stay in a better hotel for the same price. The staff will be unable to see the details of your online reservation and will not be able to address any concerns that you have - the product that they are prepared to deliver may not line up with what you expected to receive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oswego, NY
Feb 19, 2011

Not pleased!

Checking into this hotel, we were greeted by a very nice employee. When we asked about adjoining rooms with our friends, she was able to accomodate. Unfortunatley, when we went to the room, it had 1 king bed and we had 3 people traveling, my husband, son and myself. The other couple also had 3 people. This would not work and when we went back to the front desk, we were told there were no 2 bed rooms. This is what both of us had booked and we had confirmation to prove it. We were able to get one king suite with a very uncomfortable pull out and a cot in the other room. To add to the frustration, we had a bag of food come up missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
France
Jul 16, 2009

Good modern hotel, slightly off centre

This is a good modern, slightly impersonal hotel, very well located for theatre enthusiasts, as well as for the Chinese district of the town, but well out of the liveliest parts of the city and a fair walk from the harbour and the old historical part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakewood, OH
Aug 5, 2009

Good value and good location

We had to leave the luggage cart at top of stairs about 4 doors from our room and carry all of the luggage the rest of the way down. There was also only a shower, no tub, which made it difficult to give a little one a bath. Close to T for easy access to North End - within walking distance to Beacon Hill, Newbury Street, Boston Common. Because this hotel is directly across the street from the New England Medical Center, you may hear sirens throughout the day and night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelinglady
Business
NY NY
Oct 6, 2010

doubletree boston was just ok

when we showed up at the hotel all was well parking was expensive however and there really is no better option available that I could see. the room was a strange shape and was not completely clean. I found garbage in the trash can and a half eaten cookie in the drawer so it was not thoroughly cleansed prior to our visit and that annoyed me. The location was alright walking distance to almost all attractions because we walk a lot but if you're looking for something in the midst of it all this is not it. This hotel was close to a hospital and closer to the theater district. It was all just ok but I would have preferred to be closer to the water in a nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

find out about whale watching in advance because boats leave early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lubbock, Texas
Jul 5, 2010

Good location

The hotel and it's employees were great. Parking cost to much and the pool being in the YMCA was not what we expected. The hotel menu was very small making us have to go out to eat every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't plan on eating in this hotel as their menu is very small with very few selections

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Dakota/Minnesota border
Jun 11, 2010

Great location and value

Excellent concierge and desk assistance. Personable in restaurant/lounge, but it closed when slow, and with no other Pub/Tavern on the street, if you wanted late food/drink, you'd better bring it with you. The Theater district is one block away on Tremont, and the "T" is only one half block from the entrance, next to Tufts Medical Ctr entrance (CLOSE/SAFE). Get a 7 day "charlie pass" for subway, trollies and busses and from this hotel you are set. Would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Intermission Tavern is only a 2 blocks away, but there's a quiet, rather dark street if you walk. It's probably safe, but doesn't feel that way if your new and alone. If concierge calls cab, they can mitigate an overcharge, otherwise the cabbies will ask you to pay cash, about $5 and not run the meter. If they pull in the parking lot instead of up front of the hotel (and leave back past Tufts Medical Center), it is about a 40 second drive to Tremont Street and The Intermission Tavern. If pointed the other way, cabbies will take you about three blocks wide to a one way, and it'll end up being $4.50 and five to seven minutes. If the hotel's resaurant/lounge just served pizza, soup and sandwiches later, you'd never need to leave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston
May 26, 2009

review

We asked for a cot for a 3d person. We never got the cot and my bro had to sleep on the floor on top of pillows. All that for $330.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dogpatch
Business
chicago
Nov 27, 2011

family getaway

Clean, convenient and comfortable without overpaying for unnecessary glitz and glamour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

spend at least 3 days wherever you travel. Less is a waste of airfare and doesn't give you time to unwind, get settled and check out the place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top