$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2014 Check-out: Jul 13, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
227 reviews
Great experience!

The service was exceptional - delightful stay! The room was so comfortable and the view was great.... See full review

  • CinderMom
  • Apr 28, 2014
Comfortable Room

The room was really cozy. I would def recommend it. See full review

  • Fiona Best
  • Mar 13, 2014
Modern Hotel Conveniently Located in the Heart of Boston's Theatre District

The newly-renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown offers affordable, mid-scale comfort in the heart of the Theatre District. With access to the city's top attractions, including the Freedom Trail and Newbury Street's upscale boutiques, this full-service hotel offers travelers many options. A Starbucks in the lobby, 24-hour business center, on-site YMCA fitness center and valet parking are just a few of the conveniences at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, chocolate chip cookies are served warm at check-in and rooms feature plush-top mattresses and luxe linens.

Highlights
  • Located in downtown Boston's Theater District with Starbucks in lobby
  • Less than one block from the subway
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour on-site business center
  • Attached to YMCA fitness center
  • Warm chocolate chip cookie served at check-in
Rooms

Simplistic, yet modern furnishings grace each of the hotel's 267 guest rooms, including 11 suites with upgraded amenities, such as individual Keurig coffee machines. Relax on plush mattresses with high thread-count sheets and down pillows. Stay connected at the new black and white media center with 37-inch HDTV, task lighting and desk area, wireless internet access (fees apply), dual-line telephones with voicemail and easy-access outlets. Get ready to your favorite tunes with our iHome clock radio. Our brightly-lit bathrooms include Crabetree & Evelyn bath products and hair dryer.

Features

Drawing inspiration from nearby Chinatown, this hotel features a bi-level lobby with numerous opportunities for lounging, computing and dining. The adjacent YMCA fitness center features cardio and weightlifting equipment and group classes. Guests can use the facility at no charge. Grab something on the go at the full-service Starbucks located on the Lower Lobby level, offering your favorite coffees and pastries during the day. Wisteria Restaurant & Bar serves seasonal American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  The hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Orange Line Tufts Medical Center (adjacent)
  • Hynes Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Logan International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Amtrak-South Station (.65 mi/1.04 km)
Attractions
  • Tufts Medical Center (across street)
  • Boston Common (2 blocks)
  • Chinatown (2 blocks)
  • TD Bank Garden (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Over 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including seasonal courtyard
  • Wi-Fi available (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3488 -71.0647
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 3.00, MI, E; Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 53.00, MI, N; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 60.00, MI, S;

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.2 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.8 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
worcester, ma
Feb 8, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The location is great if you are going into the city to see a show or take in some fine dining. Access to a number of T-stops, as well as walking distance to China Town. The room was well kept and gym access was a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hong Kong, Cambridge.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
May 19, 2011

Great Location ! Great People !

First vacation without kids in 15years ! The Hotel was very nice.Loved the King size bed ! Would have been great if we could have used the pool & whirlpool after sight seeing all day, but that is my only complaint about the place. The staff were so awesome and friendly, they really made us feel welcome. When we go back to Boston, they will be our first choice. They are within walking distance of so many of the sights. WAY TO GO DOUBLETREE !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley. So worth the money.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Aug 8, 2011

A Real Deal

So convenient!! Literally just steps to the subway stop, and only minutes to walk the few blocks to Boston Common. We continued walking through the Public Garden, up Newberry Street and into Copley Plaza. Had lunch and explored the Trinity Church then went two clocks over to the Prudential and took in the SkyWalk and hopped on the Duck Tour. At the end of a long, hot, and fabulous day we got a cab for $8 back to the hotel. Cool to have Chinatown and the theater district outside our door. We walked around the corner Thursday to have a great dinner at the legendary Jabob Wirth's --- complete with early evening entertainment. The Doubletree staff were the best. Never met a friendlier, more efficient front desk crew. The concierge worked around our tight schedule and booked all our activities in a flash. The delicious and ample breakfast was so professionally served---Hats off to Juan, Shao, and all. The Doubletree satisfied all our travel needs and left a great impression on us all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stamford, CT
Aug 8, 2011

Great stay, convenient location

The hotel was in a great spot. We were able to jump on the orange line or green line to get where ever we needed to go. The room was also huge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
May 19, 2011

Great Location ! Great People !

First vacation without kids in 15years ! The Hotel was very nice.Loved the King size bed ! Would have been great if we could have used the pool & whirlpool after sight seeing all day, but that is my only complaint about the place. The staff were so awesome and friendly, they really made us feel welcome. When we go back to Boston, they will be our first choice. They are within walking distance of so many of the sights. WAY TO GO DOUBLETREE !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley. So worth the money.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Jul 19, 2009

Fantastic weekend getaway

My friend and I spent a weekend getaway in Boston. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location was terrific for getting to all the hot spots and easy to find your way around. I will go to this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Fenway Tours. It is reasonably priced and it is a great way to learn the history of the park as well as the team. It was an hour long and you visted various areas within the park. I don't like baseball.However, my friend is a fan, and I enjoyed it just as much.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, ME
Jul 19, 2009

Great for Theater or Freedom Trail!

Our family of 4 stayed here on a weekend visit to Boston to see a play. It was the perfect location - a quick 5 minute walk to our theater or to Boston Common, with a subway stop right next door to get anywhere else. The room was clean and the fitness center at the Y was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theater district and Freedom Trail are just a few blocks away.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Jul 6, 2010

overall great hotel

very friendly and helpful staff; extremely clean room, very comfortable bed not the best location, but not too bad. close to the commons and T stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Boston Commons- hang out and relax on a nice day or night.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BosSports
New Hampshire, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Downtown Boston Weekend Getaway

Great location to T, hotel was perfect location downtown yet affordable. Made it easy to get all around the city for a quick weekend getaway to catch some Boston sports.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linsea
Kenner, Louisiana
Oct 8, 2013

Nice room and good location

The room was clean and comfortable but the restaurant was expensive especially the breakfast prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top