$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
141 reviews
Great stay in Boston

Great beds and linens! A great staff that stored our luggage and gave us a better room. We were... See full review

  • Agneau
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great experience!

The service was exceptional - delightful stay! The room was so comfortable and the view was great.... See full review

  • CinderMom
  • Apr 28, 2014
Modern Hotel Conveniently Located in the Heart of Boston's Theatre District

The newly-renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown offers affordable, mid-scale comfort in the heart of the Theatre District. With access to the city's top attractions, including the Freedom Trail and Newbury Street's upscale boutiques, this full-service hotel offers travelers many options. A Starbucks in the lobby, 24-hour business center, on-site YMCA fitness center and valet parking are just a few of the conveniences at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, chocolate chip cookies are served warm at check-in and rooms feature plush-top mattresses and luxe linens.

Highlights
  • Located in downtown Boston's Theater District with Starbucks in lobby
  • Less than one block from the subway
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour on-site business center
  • Attached to YMCA fitness center
  • Warm chocolate chip cookie served at check-in
Rooms

Simplistic, yet modern furnishings grace each of the hotel's 267 guest rooms, including 11 suites with upgraded amenities, such as individual Keurig coffee machines. Relax on plush mattresses with high thread-count sheets and down pillows. Stay connected at the new black and white media center with 37-inch HDTV, task lighting and desk area, wireless internet access (fees apply), dual-line telephones with voicemail and easy-access outlets. Get ready to your favorite tunes with our iHome clock radio. Our brightly-lit bathrooms include Crabetree & Evelyn bath products and hair dryer.

Features

Drawing inspiration from nearby Chinatown, this hotel features a bi-level lobby with numerous opportunities for lounging, computing and dining. The adjacent YMCA fitness center features cardio and weightlifting equipment and group classes. Guests can use the facility at no charge. Grab something on the go at the full-service Starbucks located on the Lower Lobby level, offering your favorite coffees and pastries during the day. Wisteria Restaurant & Bar serves seasonal American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  The hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Orange Line Tufts Medical Center (adjacent)
  • Hynes Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Logan International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Amtrak-South Station (.65 mi/1.04 km)
Attractions
  • Tufts Medical Center (across street)
  • Boston Common (2 blocks)
  • Chinatown (2 blocks)
  • TD Bank Garden (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Over 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including seasonal courtyard
  • Wi-Fi available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

42.3488 -71.0647
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 3.00, MI, E; Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 53.00, MI, N; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 60.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.2 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.8 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cape Cod
Jul 25, 2009

perfect location

Perfect location for a theater trip to Boston. Walk to tons of restaurants and shopping as well as theater locations. Immaculate room, efficient check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Babbibatinn
Reykjavik, Iceland
Apr 7, 2011

Great location

The main reason, for me choosing that hotel, was the location. I only stayed there for a few hours and wanted to explore the city on foot. It was a nice and clean hotel and most of the staff was very helpful. It would have been nice to have a free internet. I payed 25$ + tips for the taxi to the Logan Airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Aug 8, 2011

A Real Deal

So convenient!! Literally just steps to the subway stop, and only minutes to walk the few blocks to Boston Common. We continued walking through the Public Garden, up Newberry Street and into Copley Plaza. Had lunch and explored the Trinity Church then went two clocks over to the Prudential and took in the SkyWalk and hopped on the Duck Tour. At the end of a long, hot, and fabulous day we got a cab for $8 back to the hotel. Cool to have Chinatown and the theater district outside our door. We walked around the corner Thursday to have a great dinner at the legendary Jabob Wirth's --- complete with early evening entertainment. The Doubletree staff were the best. Never met a friendlier, more efficient front desk crew. The concierge worked around our tight schedule and booked all our activities in a flash. The delicious and ample breakfast was so professionally served---Hats off to Juan, Shao, and all. The Doubletree satisfied all our travel needs and left a great impression on us all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mauggi
Business
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Nov 21, 2010

Quiet rooms in great location!

I attended a conference at the Haynes Conference Center and could avoid the big hotels around that location through booking at the Doubletree. I took the orange subway and could exit right next to the hotel, which was clean, quiet, with very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is not on the bed-bug list!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 6, 2011

Good value

I used to stay around the corner at a different hotel but decided to try this one. It's a good solid place. The room was a good size and it was in good shape. I had a problem with a window not closing but maintenance was there right away and fixed it. The breakfast buffet left a little to be desired and I would skip that the next time, but otherwise this place is a keeper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the theatre district and they're all within a block or two of the hotel. So is Chinatown.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelbug2
Seattle, WA
Mar 17, 2014

Relaxing stay and great location

We found a great deal for two rooms at this hotel which isn't easy to do in Boston. The rooms are comfortable, however the bathrooms are small. My only complaints are you have to pay for wifi which is ridiculous and parking was $42!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

located in the theater district and only a few blocks from Boston Commons.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Jul 19, 2009

Fantastic weekend getaway

My friend and I spent a weekend getaway in Boston. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location was terrific for getting to all the hot spots and easy to find your way around. I will go to this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Fenway Tours. It is reasonably priced and it is a great way to learn the history of the park as well as the team. It was an hour long and you visted various areas within the park. I don't like baseball.However, my friend is a fan, and I enjoyed it just as much.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 4, 2011

good location, value

Staff was friendly and helpful, no problem getting toothbrushes when we forgot ours. Complimentary cookies at check in were nice. Parking is either valet or you can park in a garage on Tremont street behind the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk for a few bars, but Jacob Wirth Co. is a good spot for German beers with a wide variety to choose from.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wayne, ME
Sep 9, 2009

Was very pleased with our stay here!

Enjoyed our stay here. Was very clean and nice rooms! Nice view of the city at night. Floors were squeeky however. Didn't understand why the pool was closed for the holiday though? Like the Valet parking, was under the hotel...cars much safer then parked out by the road! Was a little pricey though when your not used to paying for parking $35.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maw9
Boston
Jul 8, 2013

Vacation get away

I had a ADA room which was OK. However, the shower pressure was low and the removable shower head would not stay fixed in one position. The lobby was enticing with its modern look. Good location near public transportation. $12.95 per day for internet access is excessive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most attractions are within a short walk (5 to 10 minutes) and other attractions are easy to get to with public transportation.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search