$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston
May 26, 2009

review

We asked for a cot for a 3d person. We never got the cot and my bro had to sleep on the floor on top of pillows. All that for $330.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 5, 2011

Pretty Central...

Be prepared... A lot of add-on bills.... Parking is not cheap, but it is Boston... Was mad I had to pay for the internet...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Was close to everything... The 'T', night life, shopping and the 'Freedom Trail'... I would stay again... But this time I will fly in and not have to pay the parking... It was over 50% of the hotel room itself... But it was very safe (the parking lot) - I would feel comfortable leaving my lap-top and a thousand dollars in cash on the front seat....

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakewood, OH
Aug 5, 2009

Good value and good location

We had to leave the luggage cart at top of stairs about 4 doors from our room and carry all of the luggage the rest of the way down. There was also only a shower, no tub, which made it difficult to give a little one a bath. Close to T for easy access to North End - within walking distance to Beacon Hill, Newbury Street, Boston Common. Because this hotel is directly across the street from the New England Medical Center, you may hear sirens throughout the day and night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
friends looking for a getaway
Business
Maine
Mar 15, 2010

good place for an overnight

Friend and I went to Boston for an overnight. We did not want to spend a lot of money on a hotel and found this was a great deal. The staff were polite, the rooms were clean and the chocolate chip cookie was exactly what we needed upon check in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hopsital and T are next door, but there was no noise.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelinglady
Business
NY NY
Oct 6, 2010

doubletree boston was just ok

when we showed up at the hotel all was well parking was expensive however and there really is no better option available that I could see. the room was a strange shape and was not completely clean. I found garbage in the trash can and a half eaten cookie in the drawer so it was not thoroughly cleansed prior to our visit and that annoyed me. The location was alright walking distance to almost all attractions because we walk a lot but if you're looking for something in the midst of it all this is not it. This hotel was close to a hospital and closer to the theater district. It was all just ok but I would have preferred to be closer to the water in a nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

find out about whale watching in advance because boats leave early

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Up Late
Business
Troy, NY
Apr 25, 2011

Decent...

I was upset that I booked this hotel specifically because it was the cheapest hotel that offered a king bed, and then was put in a room with a queen bed. Other than that, it was clean and quiet. Hotel staff was very helpful, particularly the valets... if they weren't nice, the tiny parking lot where you check in could have been a nightmare. Be forewarned that the parking is $40/night! I thought this was exorbitant, but I don't know how it compares to its peers. Lots of restaurants, some cool bars, and plenty of people-watching around this hotel. Very close to Boston Common. It is kind of a bear to drive to if you don't know Boston. All in all - great location, decent accomodations, but perhaps a little over-priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're up late and hungry, be aware that nowhere delivers after 1am. However, the hotel is not far from the South Street Diner which has GREAT late night grub! My steak and eggs hit the spot, the homefries were out of this world, and even the patrons were friendly and talkative.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
leland nc
Jul 20, 2011

great location

great room for good price comfortable bed all that was missing was a free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lubbock, Texas
Jul 5, 2010

Good location

The hotel and it's employees were great. Parking cost to much and the pool being in the YMCA was not what we expected. The hotel menu was very small making us have to go out to eat every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't plan on eating in this hotel as their menu is very small with very few selections

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 2, 2009

Better than expected

I enjoyed the hotel. It is in Chinatown, but very close to theater dist. The room and overall appearance of the hotel was much better than expected. I would recommend this hotel. It lacks the fanciness of a 4 star hotel, but it is quite, clean, and the staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sao lourenco, brazil
Jun 12, 2011

Fantastic

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top