$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville, MD
Aug 3, 2011

An acceptable stay

We stayed in Boston for one night and found ourselves nicely in the middle of town. It was an easy walk to the T line and everything from there was quick. The buffet breakfast was a nice surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the T to and from the airport for just $2 per person each way. An easy way to save on cab fares and it only took about 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
satisfied anniversary couple
Business
Rindge, NH
Jun 1, 2009

satisfactory for our needs

Our room was quite small and without frills but it was very helpful to have a place to rest and regroup between activities with friends. We had easy access to the T and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We had valet parking when we arrived and then accessed the T just ouside the hotel.We traveled from the waterfront to the esplanade back to the theater district and then to the north end with ease and had a comfortable room to return to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El paso
Oct 26, 2010

Good location for price

Friendly staff and clean rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Oct 28, 2009

Disappointed

Unsatisfied with initial room because of smell. Hotel quickly gave me a new one. Bath tub drain clogged. Engineer cleared it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many places to dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Feb 14, 2011

Decent Hotel

The rooms we had were smaller than what I've styed in in the past...but that's not an issue when you're only there to sleep. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

As with every trip I make to Boston, always go to the North End for dinner. We went to a place called Filippo's for dinner and everything was out of this World.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Jun 21, 2009

Location, location, location

The hotel was in a great location. We walked to Boston Common, down Comm Ave, and to the Prudential Center. It's right near a stop on the T which was really convenient. Only about a ten dollar cab ride to the North End. It's a good place to stay if you need a base to sleep and shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, ME
Jan 23, 2011

Wrong Bed!

[...] Hotel is in a great location for any of the theater shows, and is a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters, Dining, Chinatown, Bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Dakota/Minnesota border
Jun 11, 2010

Great location and value

Excellent concierge and desk assistance. Personable in restaurant/lounge, but it closed when slow, and with no other Pub/Tavern on the street, if you wanted late food/drink, you'd better bring it with you. The Theater district is one block away on Tremont, and the "T" is only one half block from the entrance, next to Tufts Medical Ctr entrance (CLOSE/SAFE). Get a 7 day "charlie pass" for subway, trollies and busses and from this hotel you are set. Would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Intermission Tavern is only a 2 blocks away, but there's a quiet, rather dark street if you walk. It's probably safe, but doesn't feel that way if your new and alone. If concierge calls cab, they can mitigate an overcharge, otherwise the cabbies will ask you to pay cash, about $5 and not run the meter. If they pull in the parking lot instead of up front of the hotel (and leave back past Tufts Medical Center), it is about a 40 second drive to Tremont Street and The Intermission Tavern. If pointed the other way, cabbies will take you about three blocks wide to a one way, and it'll end up being $4.50 and five to seven minutes. If the hotel's resaurant/lounge just served pizza, soup and sandwiches later, you'd never need to leave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston
May 26, 2009

review

We asked for a cot for a 3d person. We never got the cot and my bro had to sleep on the floor on top of pillows. All that for $330.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 5, 2011

Pretty Central...

Be prepared... A lot of add-on bills.... Parking is not cheap, but it is Boston... Was mad I had to pay for the internet...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Was close to everything... The 'T', night life, shopping and the 'Freedom Trail'... I would stay again... But this time I will fly in and not have to pay the parking... It was over 50% of the hotel room itself... But it was very safe (the parking lot) - I would feel comfortable leaving my lap-top and a thousand dollars in cash on the front seat....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top