DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happy travellers
Business
Southampton, UK
Nov 21, 2011

good budget hotel

Enjoyed our stay in Boston. Hotel was fine for the price very clean and good room with comfy bed. Did not eat in restaurant or use bar. Having Starbucks on site was good. Hotel in good position for restaurants and visiting Boston..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can recommend eating at Jacob Wirth bar just round the corner from the hotel.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kristynmarie
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Decent spur of the moment decision

Our stay was a spur of the moment decision, It was one of the less pricier places we were able to find in the area, being that it was a holiday weekend. I was pleased that the rate on NYE wasnt outrageous. My only complaint is the $40 a night parking fee .. which you pretty much have to pay being that the meters have limits. Also, when we were ready to check out I called downstairs to see if I could get a cart so I could bring down all the luggage. The lady at the desk told me they were too busy and that I would just have to make a few trips to carry it all down. First time Ive ever heard that before... All in all it was a decent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ive
Business
Springfield, NJ
Feb 6, 2012

Nothing Great Here

The hotel is pretty basic. It is right next to a train line which was cool but besides that its in a pretty basic area. I'll prob stay somewhere else next time I visit Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M. Griffin 22
Business
Boston
Jan 23, 2013

Good Over Night Location

The hotel was sub par as far as a Boston hotel goes. However the location was perfect if you want a room with a decent price. However it was very loud with police cars and ambulance's all night long, being next to a hospital it should have been expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Markkk
Business
New Orleans, LA
Apr 8, 2013

Great Location for a Reasonable Price

I stayed here for a conference downtown and was delighted with the location. Walking distance to most major sites around the common and financial district and a short distance from public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville, MD
Aug 3, 2011

An acceptable stay

We stayed in Boston for one night and found ourselves nicely in the middle of town. It was an easy walk to the T line and everything from there was quick. The buffet breakfast was a nice surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the T to and from the airport for just $2 per person each way. An easy way to save on cab fares and it only took about 30 minutes.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
satisfied anniversary couple
Business
Rindge, NH
Jun 1, 2009

satisfactory for our needs

Our room was quite small and without frills but it was very helpful to have a place to rest and regroup between activities with friends. We had easy access to the T and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We had valet parking when we arrived and then accessed the T just ouside the hotel.We traveled from the waterfront to the esplanade back to the theater district and then to the north end with ease and had a comfortable room to return to.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El paso
Oct 26, 2010

Good location for price

Friendly staff and clean rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Oct 28, 2009

Disappointed

Unsatisfied with initial room because of smell. Hotel quickly gave me a new one. Bath tub drain clogged. Engineer cleared it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many places to dine.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Feb 14, 2011

Decent Hotel

The rooms we had were smaller than what I've styed in in the past...but that's not an issue when you're only there to sleep. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

As with every trip I make to Boston, always go to the North End for dinner. We went to a place called Filippo's for dinner and everything was out of this World.

Back to menu Return to top