$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vermont
May 2, 2011

ok - not awesome

The hotel was fine. The bed was comfortable and the room nice. Seemed over priced for what it was but it was in the theater district in Boston so I guess that is to be expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The little hole in the wall - Boston Pizza - Delicious!!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mm xx
Business
Colorado
Jun 23, 2014

Needs that special something indeed

The hotel was average in quality and a short walk from downtown attractions. The only parking option was through valet, which was expensive. So it was ok, but we'll probably stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rubadubsq13
Business
NYC
Mar 22, 2014

biz trip

access to YMCA was nice, the desk and chair for working was awful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
France
Jul 16, 2009

Good modern hotel, slightly off centre

This is a good modern, slightly impersonal hotel, very well located for theatre enthusiasts, as well as for the Chinese district of the town, but well out of the liveliest parts of the city and a fair walk from the harbour and the old historical part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
White Plains, NY
Jan 4, 2011

Good locale, no amenities

PROS: + Good location- subway right outside, walk to major attractions CONS: -Room did not have any windows- only window faced an indoor electrical system -Parking not included-ended up being $40 a night -Continental breakfast not included - ended up being $14.99 for cereals/coffee (flat fee) -WiFi not included ($12 extra) ** Most of these non-included items were misleading. It seemed to be the hotel's way of getting $ for hidden fees

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rovnerisky
Business
South Burlington, VT
Sep 20, 2011

No frills, but super location

My wife and I stayed on Friday, Saturday nights for our anniversary weekend. The two major complaints I have are that parking was provided only as valet for $40/night (I parked 2.5 blocks down the street at city of Boston lot for $20/night), and that there was no complimentary breakfast. The restaurant seemed to have been placed on site only as an afterthought, and never seemed to have any patrons in it. Good things were the location, which is right next to Chinatown/Theatre district and is only ~15 min from center-city, the staff, who were extremely friendly and helpful, and the room itself which was reasonably spacious, with a large bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
happy travellers
Business
Southampton, UK
Nov 21, 2011

good budget hotel

Enjoyed our stay in Boston. Hotel was fine for the price very clean and good room with comfy bed. Did not eat in restaurant or use bar. Having Starbucks on site was good. Hotel in good position for restaurants and visiting Boston..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can recommend eating at Jacob Wirth bar just round the corner from the hotel.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kristynmarie
Business
New Jersey, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Decent spur of the moment decision

Our stay was a spur of the moment decision, It was one of the less pricier places we were able to find in the area, being that it was a holiday weekend. I was pleased that the rate on NYE wasnt outrageous. My only complaint is the $40 a night parking fee .. which you pretty much have to pay being that the meters have limits. Also, when we were ready to check out I called downstairs to see if I could get a cart so I could bring down all the luggage. The lady at the desk told me they were too busy and that I would just have to make a few trips to carry it all down. First time Ive ever heard that before... All in all it was a decent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ive
Business
Springfield, NJ
Feb 6, 2012

Nothing Great Here

The hotel is pretty basic. It is right next to a train line which was cool but besides that its in a pretty basic area. I'll prob stay somewhere else next time I visit Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M. Griffin 22
Business
Boston
Jan 23, 2013

Good Over Night Location

The hotel was sub par as far as a Boston hotel goes. However the location was perfect if you want a room with a decent price. However it was very loud with police cars and ambulance's all night long, being next to a hospital it should have been expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top