$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
136 reviews
Love Doubltrees

We love doubletree hotel. Very comfy beds and friendly staff. Server in restaurant was the best! See full review

  • Jesse L.
  • Mar 10, 2015
Awesome!

Hotel was wonderful! Room was very clean and staff was really great. Great stay for business,... See full review

  • Dean S.
  • Jan 18, 2015

The newly-renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown offers affordable, mid-scale comfort in the heart of the Theatre District. With access to the city's top attractions, including the Freedom Trail and Newbury Street's upscale boutiques, this full-service hotel offers travelers many options. A Starbucks in the lobby, 24-hour business center, on-site YMCA fitness center and valet parking are just a few of the conveniences at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, chocolate chip cookies are served warm at check-in and rooms feature plush-top mattresses and luxe linens.

Rooms

Simplistic, yet modern furnishings grace each of the hotel's 267 guest rooms, including 11 suites with upgraded amenities, such as individual Keurig coffee machines. Relax on plush mattresses with high thread-count sheets and down pillows. Stay connected at the new black and white media center with 37-inch HDTV, task lighting and desk area, wireless internet access (fees apply), dual-line telephones with voicemail and easy-access outlets. Get ready to your favorite tunes with our iHome clock radio. Our brightly-lit bathrooms include Crabetree & Evelyn bath products and hair dryer.

Property features

Drawing inspiration from nearby Chinatown, this hotel features a bi-level lobby with numerous opportunities for lounging, computing and dining. The adjacent YMCA fitness center features cardio and weightlifting equipment and group classes. Guests can use the facility at no charge. Grab something on the go at the full-service Starbucks located on the Lower Lobby level, offering your favorite coffees and pastries during the day. Wisteria Restaurant & Bar serves seasonal American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  The hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located in downtown Boston's Theater District with Starbucks in lobby
  • Less than one block from the subway
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour on-site business center
  • Attached to YMCA fitness center
  • Warm chocolate chip cookie served at check-in
Nearby attractions
  • Tufts Medical Center (across street)
  • Boston Common (2 blocks)
  • Chinatown (2 blocks)
  • TD Bank Garden (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Over 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including seasonal courtyard
  • Wi-Fi available (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Orange Line Tufts Medical Center (adjacent)
  • Hynes Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Logan International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Amtrak-South Station (.65 mi/1.04 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CinderMom
Haddonfield, NJ
Apr 28, 2014

Great experience!

The service was exceptional - delightful stay! The room was so comfortable and the view was great. Maid service hospitality was also exceptional. The only suggestion I would make is that the WIFI service be provided to guests free of charge - not just in the lobby area. It was time-consuming and frustrating to learn that the WIFI service had to be paid for by the day. Other than that, I have no complaints. Having a Starbucks at the hotel was also great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pregnant lady
Business
Boston back bay
Apr 29, 2013

Not a good experience

I wouldn't stay here in the future. I'm 7 1/2 months pregnant and they would not allow me to check in any earlier than 3 PM despite traveling since 4:45 AM in the morning. They promised to call if a room became available but never called in the 6 hours we waited before 3 PM. We could not find a restaurant they suggested which was only a few blocks from the hotel. The rooms have no control for the AC/heat. My husband and I both came back with skin rashes from the bed sheets. The rooms were not nicely decorated. Overall, poor experience and surprised this is a double tree/Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kiss the cook
Business
Minnesota
May 23, 2011

On the edge of

We stayed 4nights. After 2 days, our rom key did not work. Returning after Avery long day, we had to go back down to the front desk because we could not get in our room. The gal said she would rekey our cards and that they would ork. My husband asked, "Why did they not work?". She said "The machine thought that you were only staying 2 nights.". Wow!!! I did not know that there are machines that can think!! She should have said "the information was entered incorrectly.". When we got there the parking attendant would not let our daughter park long enough to help us get registered. The towels are very nice. Big, thick and fluffy. However, we got just two bath towels. When I wash my hair I like to wrap my head in a towel. They want $12 per day for wi-fi. I have NEVER paid extra fit wi-fi. I will never stay in this hotel chain again and I will deffinently not recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
May 2, 2011

overpriced

The room was ok and service was just the minimum needed (no restaurant service to rooms etc) but the Hotel didn't have much to offer. Price was too high considering that it didnt even include breakfast ($20/person!, for 2 people = $40 more per day)Because of that, we ended up paying more than we would have paid in a better quality Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Castor Norte
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Jan 4, 2013

Disappointing

This hotel is a complicated maze of hallways - a certain deathtrap in an emergency. Beware of hidden charges: despite the online reviews, breakfast and parking are not included. When you add in the $43 for parking and $15 per head for breakfast, you can stay in a better hotel for the same price. The staff will be unable to see the details of your online reservation and will not be able to address any concerns that you have - the product that they are prepared to deliver may not line up with what you expected to receive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
123tree456
Business
New York, NY
Jul 13, 2013

Ick

I checked into my room noticed it had a smell about it. The hotel is also near a hospital so be prepared to hear ambulance traffic. Anyway, back to the smell. I stayed in my room for the first night and the smell came and went. After returning the next day, I spoke to the front desk about the smell, which was almost akin to the spice cumin. They switched my room which to a comparable one, but the AC was shotty. I made the mistake of leaving the "privacy" tag on my door and asked one of the housekeeping staff if she could do a quick sweep after I left. She went and got my cleaning woman who said they stop cleaning at 4. It was a little after 3 and I was leaving in 20 minutes. I asked her again, saying I'd be gone shortly and she said she could "clean it now." I was getting dressed so it wasn't a solution for me. To sum up, just because you give people cookies does not mean that you can offer them subpar service. I wouldn't recommend this hotel or stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oswego, NY
Feb 19, 2011

Not pleased!

Checking into this hotel, we were greeted by a very nice employee. When we asked about adjoining rooms with our friends, she was able to accomodate. Unfortunatley, when we went to the room, it had 1 king bed and we had 3 people traveling, my husband, son and myself. The other couple also had 3 people. This would not work and when we went back to the front desk, we were told there were no 2 bed rooms. This is what both of us had booked and we had confirmation to prove it. We were able to get one king suite with a very uncomfortable pull out and a cot in the other room. To add to the frustration, we had a bag of food come up missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vermont
May 2, 2011

ok - not awesome

The hotel was fine. The bed was comfortable and the room nice. Seemed over priced for what it was but it was in the theater district in Boston so I guess that is to be expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The little hole in the wall - Boston Pizza - Delicious!!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mm xx
Business
Colorado
Jun 23, 2014

Needs that special something indeed

The hotel was average in quality and a short walk from downtown attractions. The only parking option was through valet, which was expensive. So it was ok, but we'll probably stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rubadubsq13
Business
NYC
Mar 22, 2014

biz trip

access to YMCA was nice, the desk and chair for working was awful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rovnerisky
Business
South Burlington, VT
Sep 20, 2011

No frills, but super location

My wife and I stayed on Friday, Saturday nights for our anniversary weekend. The two major complaints I have are that parking was provided only as valet for $40/night (I parked 2.5 blocks down the street at city of Boston lot for $20/night), and that there was no complimentary breakfast. The restaurant seemed to have been placed on site only as an afterthought, and never seemed to have any patrons in it. Good things were the location, which is right next to Chinatown/Theatre district and is only ~15 min from center-city, the staff, who were extremely friendly and helpful, and the room itself which was reasonably spacious, with a large bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top