$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
142 reviews
Great stay in Boston

Great beds and linens! A great staff that stored our luggage and gave us a better room. We were... See full review

  • Agneau
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great experience!

The service was exceptional - delightful stay! The room was so comfortable and the view was great.... See full review

  • CinderMom
  • Apr 28, 2014
Modern Hotel Conveniently Located in the Heart of Boston's Theatre District

The newly-renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown offers affordable, mid-scale comfort in the heart of the Theatre District. With access to the city's top attractions, including the Freedom Trail and Newbury Street's upscale boutiques, this full-service hotel offers travelers many options. A Starbucks in the lobby, 24-hour business center, on-site YMCA fitness center and valet parking are just a few of the conveniences at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, chocolate chip cookies are served warm at check-in and rooms feature plush-top mattresses and luxe linens.

Highlights
  • Located in downtown Boston's Theater District with Starbucks in lobby
  • Less than one block from the subway
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour on-site business center
  • Attached to YMCA fitness center
  • Warm chocolate chip cookie served at check-in
Rooms

Simplistic, yet modern furnishings grace each of the hotel's 267 guest rooms, including 11 suites with upgraded amenities, such as individual Keurig coffee machines. Relax on plush mattresses with high thread-count sheets and down pillows. Stay connected at the new black and white media center with 37-inch HDTV, task lighting and desk area, wireless internet access (fees apply), dual-line telephones with voicemail and easy-access outlets. Get ready to your favorite tunes with our iHome clock radio. Our brightly-lit bathrooms include Crabetree & Evelyn bath products and hair dryer.

Features

Drawing inspiration from nearby Chinatown, this hotel features a bi-level lobby with numerous opportunities for lounging, computing and dining. The adjacent YMCA fitness center features cardio and weightlifting equipment and group classes. Guests can use the facility at no charge. Grab something on the go at the full-service Starbucks located on the Lower Lobby level, offering your favorite coffees and pastries during the day. Wisteria Restaurant & Bar serves seasonal American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  The hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Orange Line Tufts Medical Center (adjacent)
  • Hynes Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Logan International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Amtrak-South Station (.65 mi/1.04 km)
Attractions
  • Tufts Medical Center (across street)
  • Boston Common (2 blocks)
  • Chinatown (2 blocks)
  • TD Bank Garden (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Over 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including seasonal courtyard
  • Wi-Fi available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.2 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.8 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 142
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pinkrugger
Business
Worcester, MA, USA
Nov 20, 2011

close to what we needed

We were attending the beer summit in boston. the hotel was within a few blocks of the park plaza castle. the staff welcomed us with hot chocolate chip cookies and directions to our event. everyone was friendly. the bed was PERFECT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
McLovin448
Business
Toronto, ON
Mar 7, 2012

Fantastic location gateway to Boston!

Steps away from the Orange Subway line and only 40 mins from the Airport by the Silver Line. It was a gateway to the main areas of Boston and the price to travel by transit was unbeatable. Perfect for any vacation. The bed was extremely comfortable and all the in room amenities from the iron to the tv to the soap were of high standard. The staff were extremely helpful and gave great tips on where to go and what to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go eat at Neptune Oyster (Haymarket station). Amazing seafood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MDCop
Business
Annapolis, MD
Nov 1, 2013

Double Tree Boston downtown

Nice clean room, pleasant staff and perfect location for the theatre district!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

several pubs close by with excellent offerings

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Apr 19, 2011

Amazing hotel didnt think i could afford

This was amazing we were there for a concert. It was easy to get to, close to Chinatown. The T was just outside the hotel & the staff was amazing. We were so happy thanks to [...]we received a great package. It was my boyfriends birthday and I never could have afforded this place without them. We had also just come back from driving to Tennessee and staying in many hotels some cost more & were not as nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get yourself familiar with the T system and how to pay for it before you start your trips. It makes things go easier. But there were actually very helpful workers there to help also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Apr 5, 2011

Great place to stay!

VERY comfortable bed, clean room, great water pressure in shower (hey, that kind of stuff matters a lot to me!), very helpful staff, and an overall great stay. Parking is a bit expensive at $40 for overnight, but [...]offered us $20 off per night and this was pretty comparable to most other lots we could park in. Also, this hotel was right in Chinatown. Close to amazing places to eat and public transportation. We took the orange line (about 2 blocks away) to Hayward and bar hopped there, but did most of our eating in Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try My Thai Vegan Cafe - probably the BEST food I have ever had! Amazing selection! They are also known for their bubble tea, which was so good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Aug 24, 2009

All We Wanted

The room we had a wonderful "big" window and a nice view. The tradition at Doubletree is to serve warm chocolate chip cookies upon arriving and when asked for. My wife enjoyed this extra! Over all it was a very enjoyable stay. The gym was actually the Y which was connected to the hotel. It was up-to-date with equipment. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially in guiding us in how to get to certain places in Boston by public transportation. We were very happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Doubletree is on the outskirts of Chinatown. Lots of authentic chinese restaurants. The price was right!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Killington
Sep 7, 2008

Great in-town location

Within walking distance of the theatre district and downtown attractions in Boston; also in close proximity to Tufts Medical Center. Serene atmosphere; multi-national guests; friendly staff. Room was very clean and the towels large! We requested a quiet location and our wish was graciously granted. Parking was very expensive ($36.00 per night charged). We also had to walk to a neighborhood store for the Sunday paper...perhaps the hotel should have a supply for convenience of their guests. Those are our only suggestions...we had a nice stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

YMCA next door offers hotel guests free use of pool, etc., and roof-top track/exercise path. Nice option!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ozone Park
Aug 10, 2008

very family friendly

Very amazing hotel, the room was beautiful, bathroom was amazing. I really enjoyed my stay. The cookies they give to you at check in are amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping is just a short distance from the hotel and with the map you'll be able to navigate your way around easily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kbrat22
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Friendliest Staff Ever

The staff at the Doubletree Downtown Boston was fantatstic from the Bell Man, the Concierge, the bar tender, and the food service staff, to the Personnel behind the registration/check in desk. ALL went out of thier way to provide us with directions, help us with our luggage, hail us a cab, get us water, and whatever else we could have possibly needed. The rooms were clean and roomy, the bed was super comfortable. After the last few experiences I have had with different chains/brands, I will definitely consider choosing Doubletree next time I travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is German Restaurant & Bar called John Wirth's just up the street and around the corner. The food looked fantastic (we didn't eat) and they had an amazing and eclectic selection of beer (two pages!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Summit
Jul 6, 2008

Convenient

Great location for a hotel. Minutes walk to travel attractions, tour info, bus/train & freeway. We were right next to the subway. The street & neighborhood was well lit & looked relatively safe for walking even late at night. Was a little nervous about the possibility of wailing sirens from ambulances arriving at hospital across the street but fortunately that didn't happen the 2-3 night over a major holiday weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Au Bon Pain across the street may be a better choice than Starbucks in hotel building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top