$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
228 reviews
Great stay in Boston

Great beds and linens! A great staff that stored our luggage and gave us a better room. We were... See full review

  • Agneau
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great experience!

The service was exceptional - delightful stay! The room was so comfortable and the view was great.... See full review

  • CinderMom
  • Apr 28, 2014
Modern Hotel Conveniently Located in the Heart of Boston's Theatre District

The newly-renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown offers affordable, mid-scale comfort in the heart of the Theatre District. With access to the city's top attractions, including the Freedom Trail and Newbury Street's upscale boutiques, this full-service hotel offers travelers many options. A Starbucks in the lobby, 24-hour business center, on-site YMCA fitness center and valet parking are just a few of the conveniences at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, chocolate chip cookies are served warm at check-in and rooms feature plush-top mattresses and luxe linens.

Highlights
  • Located in downtown Boston's Theater District with Starbucks in lobby
  • Less than one block from the subway
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour on-site business center
  • Attached to YMCA fitness center
  • Warm chocolate chip cookie served at check-in
Rooms

Simplistic, yet modern furnishings grace each of the hotel's 267 guest rooms, including 11 suites with upgraded amenities, such as individual Keurig coffee machines. Relax on plush mattresses with high thread-count sheets and down pillows. Stay connected at the new black and white media center with 37-inch HDTV, task lighting and desk area, wireless internet access (fees apply), dual-line telephones with voicemail and easy-access outlets. Get ready to your favorite tunes with our iHome clock radio. Our brightly-lit bathrooms include Crabetree & Evelyn bath products and hair dryer.

Features

Drawing inspiration from nearby Chinatown, this hotel features a bi-level lobby with numerous opportunities for lounging, computing and dining. The adjacent YMCA fitness center features cardio and weightlifting equipment and group classes. Guests can use the facility at no charge. Grab something on the go at the full-service Starbucks located on the Lower Lobby level, offering your favorite coffees and pastries during the day. Wisteria Restaurant & Bar serves seasonal American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  The hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Orange Line Tufts Medical Center (adjacent)
  • Hynes Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Logan International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Amtrak-South Station (.65 mi/1.04 km)
Attractions
  • Tufts Medical Center (across street)
  • Boston Common (2 blocks)
  • Chinatown (2 blocks)
  • TD Bank Garden (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Over 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including seasonal courtyard
  • Wi-Fi available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

42.3488 -71.0647
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 3.00, MI, E; Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 53.00, MI, N; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 60.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.2 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.8 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norman, OK
Jul 25, 2011

Bois in Boston

The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was more than delightful and accommodating. Unknown to us, upon letting the front desk know it was my husband and I's wedding trip we were sent a complimentary bottle of wine and cheese tray on our first night. We were both really impressed with overall quality and the concierge helpfully recommended an amazing restaurant at the top of Boston (Top of the Hub), to eat at after our marriage. Overall great experience and we would definitely stay there again. Robert Bundrick, M.H.R., L.P.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cape Cod
Jul 25, 2009

perfect location

Perfect location for a theater trip to Boston. Walk to tons of restaurants and shopping as well as theater locations. Immaculate room, efficient check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aplad
Southern Illinois
Jul 28, 2009

Fantastic

Used this downtown hotel as our "home base" for touring Boston and its attractions. Found it to be excellant for this purpose. Close to entertainment, transportation to attractions, and a good value for a downtown hotel in a major city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Folly
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 3, 2009

Boston's my kind of town

The Double Tree Hotel was in a great location. We took the subway, bus, or taxi our whole time we were in town. Visited Harvard, Natural Museum of History, Cheers, Newberry Street, The Prudential Building. We took a day and visited Faneuil Park too boot! The weather took a turn for the worst the day before we left. Luckily, we are troopers and continued on. Being this was our 2nd time out, previous trips had better weather, so weather being what it is, didn't really hamper our overall trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit China Town and try the cuisine. It's awesome!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aplad
Southern Illinois
Jul 28, 2009

Fantastic

Used this downtown hotel as our "home base" for touring Boston and its attractions. Found it to be excellant for this purpose. Close to entertainment, transportation to attractions, and a good value for a downtown hotel in a major city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Highway Man
Salisbury, MD
Jun 9, 2009

Good place to stay

I found the entire staff friendly and helpful. I wish that the room had a chair or seat besides the desk chair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are all types of restaurant within walking distance of the hotel.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wldfire7x
South Windsor, CT
Feb 7, 2013

Great Way to explore Boston

We've stayed here before and this time was just as great as we remembered! The hotel is easy to get to from the highway, there is a T stop right outside the doors, and during nice weather it is easily in walking distance to many of the Boston activities and sights most visitors want to explore. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the bar downstairs is a great place to relax either before heading out for dinner or after you've returned from a long day exploring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You don't have to pay to park in the hotel's lot. You can get information on their website for two parking garages associated with Tufts Medical Center that cost about $10 less/day that are right next door!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, Utah
Oct 3, 2009

Close to subway

Clean, we were able to check in early after getting off a red-eye flight- always a huge plus. Concierge was not very helpful or knowledgeable. Located within walking distance of some good Chinatown restaurants and subway station, which we found through our guidebook not the hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
friend of Hawaii
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 15, 2010

Its a good standard business hotel

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Boston. They also provide items such as toothbruch, shaver and etc, if you forget. Most staff were friendly, except one I met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Boston airport.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Jul 6, 2010

overall great hotel

very friendly and helpful staff; extremely clean room, very comfortable bed not the best location, but not too bad. close to the commons and T stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Boston Commons- hang out and relax on a nice day or night.

Back to menu Return to top