$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
142 reviews
Great stay in Boston

Great beds and linens! A great staff that stored our luggage and gave us a better room. We were... See full review

  • Agneau
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great experience!

The service was exceptional - delightful stay! The room was so comfortable and the view was great.... See full review

  • CinderMom
  • Apr 28, 2014
Modern Hotel Conveniently Located in the Heart of Boston's Theatre District

The newly-renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown offers affordable, mid-scale comfort in the heart of the Theatre District. With access to the city's top attractions, including the Freedom Trail and Newbury Street's upscale boutiques, this full-service hotel offers travelers many options. A Starbucks in the lobby, 24-hour business center, on-site YMCA fitness center and valet parking are just a few of the conveniences at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, chocolate chip cookies are served warm at check-in and rooms feature plush-top mattresses and luxe linens.

Highlights
  • Located in downtown Boston's Theater District with Starbucks in lobby
  • Less than one block from the subway
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour on-site business center
  • Attached to YMCA fitness center
  • Warm chocolate chip cookie served at check-in
Rooms

Simplistic, yet modern furnishings grace each of the hotel's 267 guest rooms, including 11 suites with upgraded amenities, such as individual Keurig coffee machines. Relax on plush mattresses with high thread-count sheets and down pillows. Stay connected at the new black and white media center with 37-inch HDTV, task lighting and desk area, wireless internet access (fees apply), dual-line telephones with voicemail and easy-access outlets. Get ready to your favorite tunes with our iHome clock radio. Our brightly-lit bathrooms include Crabetree & Evelyn bath products and hair dryer.

Features

Drawing inspiration from nearby Chinatown, this hotel features a bi-level lobby with numerous opportunities for lounging, computing and dining. The adjacent YMCA fitness center features cardio and weightlifting equipment and group classes. Guests can use the facility at no charge. Grab something on the go at the full-service Starbucks located on the Lower Lobby level, offering your favorite coffees and pastries during the day. Wisteria Restaurant & Bar serves seasonal American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  The hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Orange Line Tufts Medical Center (adjacent)
  • Hynes Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Logan International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Amtrak-South Station (.65 mi/1.04 km)
Attractions
  • Tufts Medical Center (across street)
  • Boston Common (2 blocks)
  • Chinatown (2 blocks)
  • TD Bank Garden (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Over 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including seasonal courtyard
  • Wi-Fi available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.2 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.8 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston
May 26, 2009

review

We asked for a cot for a 3d person. We never got the cot and my bro had to sleep on the floor on top of pillows. All that for $330.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 5, 2011

Pretty Central...

Be prepared... A lot of add-on bills.... Parking is not cheap, but it is Boston... Was mad I had to pay for the internet...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Was close to everything... The 'T', night life, shopping and the 'Freedom Trail'... I would stay again... But this time I will fly in and not have to pay the parking... It was over 50% of the hotel room itself... But it was very safe (the parking lot) - I would feel comfortable leaving my lap-top and a thousand dollars in cash on the front seat....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Castor Norte
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Jan 4, 2013

Disappointing

This hotel is a complicated maze of hallways - a certain deathtrap in an emergency. Beware of hidden charges: despite the online reviews, breakfast and parking are not included. When you add in the $43 for parking and $15 per head for breakfast, you can stay in a better hotel for the same price. The staff will be unable to see the details of your online reservation and will not be able to address any concerns that you have - the product that they are prepared to deliver may not line up with what you expected to receive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
123tree456
Business
New York, NY
Jul 13, 2013

Ick

I checked into my room noticed it had a smell about it. The hotel is also near a hospital so be prepared to hear ambulance traffic. Anyway, back to the smell. I stayed in my room for the first night and the smell came and went. After returning the next day, I spoke to the front desk about the smell, which was almost akin to the spice cumin. They switched my room which to a comparable one, but the AC was shotty. I made the mistake of leaving the "privacy" tag on my door and asked one of the housekeeping staff if she could do a quick sweep after I left. She went and got my cleaning woman who said they stop cleaning at 4. It was a little after 3 and I was leaving in 20 minutes. I asked her again, saying I'd be gone shortly and she said she could "clean it now." I was getting dressed so it wasn't a solution for me. To sum up, just because you give people cookies does not mean that you can offer them subpar service. I wouldn't recommend this hotel or stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vermont
May 2, 2011

ok - not awesome

The hotel was fine. The bed was comfortable and the room nice. Seemed over priced for what it was but it was in the theater district in Boston so I guess that is to be expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The little hole in the wall - Boston Pizza - Delicious!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oswego, NY
Feb 19, 2011

Not pleased!

Checking into this hotel, we were greeted by a very nice employee. When we asked about adjoining rooms with our friends, she was able to accomodate. Unfortunatley, when we went to the room, it had 1 king bed and we had 3 people traveling, my husband, son and myself. The other couple also had 3 people. This would not work and when we went back to the front desk, we were told there were no 2 bed rooms. This is what both of us had booked and we had confirmation to prove it. We were able to get one king suite with a very uncomfortable pull out and a cot in the other room. To add to the frustration, we had a bag of food come up missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mm xx
Business
Colorado
Jun 23, 2014

Needs that special something indeed

The hotel was average in quality and a short walk from downtown attractions. The only parking option was through valet, which was expensive. So it was ok, but we'll probably stay somewhere else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CapeCodMom
Business
Centerville, MA
Jun 25, 2009

A comfy bed but too much $$$ for 1 night

Hotel was directly across from NE Medical Center and steps away from the T stop. The room my son and I were given was directly acroos from the Medical Center and a busy, loud road. Getting to our room felt like a maze, as we had to go down hallway after hallway. I felt like this part of the hotel hadn't been used in a long time. We never heard any other guests around us. The bathroom needs some overall improvements as the shower stall was dirty and the shower head was clogged and felt more like a water pick than a comforting shower. We stayed here as we went to an evening Red Sox game and I didn't want to make to 2 hour drive home that late at night. For a one night stay, I thin that the price was a bit high but the location was great and it was very easy to navigate the T system. The warm cookie when you check in would have been even sweeter if it came with a glass of cold milk, or was brought to your room within 30 minutes of checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the T for getting around. I left my vehicle at a Parking Garage outside of the city, ($7.00 versus the $38.00 overnight parking at the hotel). Transportation on the T was conveinent, but factor in travel time as you will have to wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
Aug 28, 2009

nothing to write about

staff was more than RUDE!!! We have stayed at double tree several times,never again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pregnant lady
Business
Boston back bay
Apr 29, 2013

Not a good experience

I wouldn't stay here in the future. I'm 7 1/2 months pregnant and they would not allow me to check in any earlier than 3 PM despite traveling since 4:45 AM in the morning. They promised to call if a room became available but never called in the 6 hours we waited before 3 PM. We could not find a restaurant they suggested which was only a few blocks from the hotel. The rooms have no control for the AC/heat. My husband and I both came back with skin rashes from the bed sheets. The rooms were not nicely decorated. Overall, poor experience and surprised this is a double tree/Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top