$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Up Late
Business
Troy, NY
Apr 25, 2011

Decent...

I was upset that I booked this hotel specifically because it was the cheapest hotel that offered a king bed, and then was put in a room with a queen bed. Other than that, it was clean and quiet. Hotel staff was very helpful, particularly the valets... if they weren't nice, the tiny parking lot where you check in could have been a nightmare. Be forewarned that the parking is $40/night! I thought this was exorbitant, but I don't know how it compares to its peers. Lots of restaurants, some cool bars, and plenty of people-watching around this hotel. Very close to Boston Common. It is kind of a bear to drive to if you don't know Boston. All in all - great location, decent accomodations, but perhaps a little over-priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're up late and hungry, be aware that nowhere delivers after 1am. However, the hotel is not far from the South Street Diner which has GREAT late night grub! My steak and eggs hit the spot, the homefries were out of this world, and even the patrons were friendly and talkative.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
leland nc
Jul 20, 2011

great location

great room for good price comfortable bed all that was missing was a free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lubbock, Texas
Jul 5, 2010

Good location

The hotel and it's employees were great. Parking cost to much and the pool being in the YMCA was not what we expected. The hotel menu was very small making us have to go out to eat every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't plan on eating in this hotel as their menu is very small with very few selections

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 2, 2009

Better than expected

I enjoyed the hotel. It is in Chinatown, but very close to theater dist. The room and overall appearance of the hotel was much better than expected. I would recommend this hotel. It lacks the fanciness of a 4 star hotel, but it is quite, clean, and the staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sao lourenco, brazil
Jun 12, 2011

Fantastic

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sister Duo
Business
Victoria BC
Jul 20, 2009

A good deal.

This hotel was fine for the dollars spend. It was not spectacular, but for location, cleanliness, ease of movement, very close to the subway, it was well worth the dollars spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy subway pass. It will make everything very easy from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Jun 20, 2010

Good location for the price

The front desk staff was friendly but they first tried to put me in a room I was uncomfortable with. I was at first given a ground floor handicapped room with a large conference room attached & two courtyard doors. Since I was traveling alone, I found all the space and doors a little creepy. So I went back to front desk and asked to be moved to a more appropriate room and was immediately accomodated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Castor Norte
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Jan 4, 2013

Disappointing

This hotel is a complicated maze of hallways - a certain deathtrap in an emergency. Beware of hidden charges: despite the online reviews, breakfast and parking are not included. When you add in the $43 for parking and $15 per head for breakfast, you can stay in a better hotel for the same price. The staff will be unable to see the details of your online reservation and will not be able to address any concerns that you have - the product that they are prepared to deliver may not line up with what you expected to receive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
123tree456
Business
New York, NY
Jul 13, 2013

Ick

I checked into my room noticed it had a smell about it. The hotel is also near a hospital so be prepared to hear ambulance traffic. Anyway, back to the smell. I stayed in my room for the first night and the smell came and went. After returning the next day, I spoke to the front desk about the smell, which was almost akin to the spice cumin. They switched my room which to a comparable one, but the AC was shotty. I made the mistake of leaving the "privacy" tag on my door and asked one of the housekeeping staff if she could do a quick sweep after I left. She went and got my cleaning woman who said they stop cleaning at 4. It was a little after 3 and I was leaving in 20 minutes. I asked her again, saying I'd be gone shortly and she said she could "clean it now." I was getting dressed so it wasn't a solution for me. To sum up, just because you give people cookies does not mean that you can offer them subpar service. I wouldn't recommend this hotel or stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oswego, NY
Feb 19, 2011

Not pleased!

Checking into this hotel, we were greeted by a very nice employee. When we asked about adjoining rooms with our friends, she was able to accomodate. Unfortunatley, when we went to the room, it had 1 king bed and we had 3 people traveling, my husband, son and myself. The other couple also had 3 people. This would not work and when we went back to the front desk, we were told there were no 2 bed rooms. This is what both of us had booked and we had confirmation to prove it. We were able to get one king suite with a very uncomfortable pull out and a cot in the other room. To add to the frustration, we had a bag of food come up missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top