$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
144 reviews
Great stay in Boston

Great beds and linens! A great staff that stored our luggage and gave us a better room. We were... See full review

  • Agneau
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great experience!

The service was exceptional - delightful stay! The room was so comfortable and the view was great.... See full review

  • CinderMom
  • Apr 28, 2014
Modern Hotel Conveniently Located in the Heart of Boston's Theatre District

The newly-renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown offers affordable, mid-scale comfort in the heart of the Theatre District. With access to the city's top attractions, including the Freedom Trail and Newbury Street's upscale boutiques, this full-service hotel offers travelers many options. A Starbucks in the lobby, 24-hour business center, on-site YMCA fitness center and valet parking are just a few of the conveniences at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, chocolate chip cookies are served warm at check-in and rooms feature plush-top mattresses and luxe linens.

Highlights
  • Located in downtown Boston's Theater District with Starbucks in lobby
  • Less than one block from the subway
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour on-site business center
  • Attached to YMCA fitness center
  • Warm chocolate chip cookie served at check-in
Rooms

Simplistic, yet modern furnishings grace each of the hotel's 267 guest rooms, including 11 suites with upgraded amenities, such as individual Keurig coffee machines. Relax on plush mattresses with high thread-count sheets and down pillows. Stay connected at the new black and white media center with 37-inch HDTV, task lighting and desk area, wireless internet access (fees apply), dual-line telephones with voicemail and easy-access outlets. Get ready to your favorite tunes with our iHome clock radio. Our brightly-lit bathrooms include Crabetree & Evelyn bath products and hair dryer.

Features

Drawing inspiration from nearby Chinatown, this hotel features a bi-level lobby with numerous opportunities for lounging, computing and dining. The adjacent YMCA fitness center features cardio and weightlifting equipment and group classes. Guests can use the facility at no charge. Grab something on the go at the full-service Starbucks located on the Lower Lobby level, offering your favorite coffees and pastries during the day. Wisteria Restaurant & Bar serves seasonal American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  The hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Orange Line Tufts Medical Center (adjacent)
  • Hynes Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Logan International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Amtrak-South Station (.65 mi/1.04 km)
Attractions
  • Tufts Medical Center (across street)
  • Boston Common (2 blocks)
  • Chinatown (2 blocks)
  • TD Bank Garden (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Over 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including seasonal courtyard
  • Wi-Fi available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

42.3488 -71.0647
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 3.00, MI, E; Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 53.00, MI, N; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 60.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.2 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.8 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MDCop
Annapolis, MD
Nov 1, 2013

Double Tree Boston downtown

Nice clean room, pleasant staff and perfect location for the theatre district!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

several pubs close by with excellent offerings

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaulO easy travel
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Mar 7, 2014

Boston getaway

The location is excellent, next to the Transit station. Making it very easy to get around Boston and to see the Historic sites all over the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fiona Best
Vermont
Mar 13, 2014

Comfortable Room

The room was really cozy. I would def recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CinderMom
Haddonfield, NJ
Apr 28, 2014

Great experience!

The service was exceptional - delightful stay! The room was so comfortable and the view was great. Maid service hospitality was also exceptional. The only suggestion I would make is that the WIFI service be provided to guests free of charge - not just in the lobby area. It was time-consuming and frustrating to learn that the WIFI service had to be paid for by the day. Other than that, I have no complaints. Having a Starbucks at the hotel was also great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guille
Mexico city
Jun 21, 2010

Good services

Reviewed my e-mails, watched football games resume. I needed to make some international calls, I would like that exists telephones public where you can do it. All my travels around the world with you have been all right. Thank you very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In spite of the subway its near, everything it´s near. Knows the city by walking, so you need a very good shoes.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pinkrugger
Worcester, MA, USA
Nov 20, 2011

close to what we needed

We were attending the beer summit in boston. the hotel was within a few blocks of the park plaza castle. the staff welcomed us with hot chocolate chip cookies and directions to our event. everyone was friendly. the bed was PERFECT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hpaul
Lebanon,NH
Nov 29, 2011

Double Tree stay fantastic

The hotel was conventiantly located with transit right out the door. The staff was courteous, helpful and extremely professional. The rooms were beautiful, and exceptionally clean. I found it great that the hotel had a resteraunt, a starbucks in the lower lobby and was located directly near stores and dining. The hotel even made a reservation for us to the resteraunt of our choice. I have been to several hotels where I ended up forgetting my toothbrush, shaving cream and razor and had to pay for them at the hotel, but not at this one one they were complimentary. The chocolate chip cookies at check in were a wonderful touch. We had an exemplery experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Sometimes it is quicker and shorter to walk to your destination than to take the transit. I would suggest looking at the map before riding you might just find that you can get to where you are going sooner and burn some calories

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
McLean
Not Provided
May 19, 2011

A pleasant hotel, reasonably located

A pleasant hotel, reasonably located - a short walk from Boston Common. Pleasant and very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pogostick906
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Great Hotel for the price!

I was very pleased with this hotel. It was easy to check in and they gave us great cookies when checking in! They were very helpful when I forgot my toothbrush. They also gave us more cookies when we asked on the evening of the second day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

We enjoyed the comedy at the Improv Asylum!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
McLovin448
Toronto, ON
Mar 7, 2012

Fantastic location gateway to Boston!

Steps away from the Orange Subway line and only 40 mins from the Airport by the Silver Line. It was a gateway to the main areas of Boston and the price to travel by transit was unbeatable. Perfect for any vacation. The bed was extremely comfortable and all the in room amenities from the iron to the tv to the soap were of high standard. The staff were extremely helpful and gave great tips on where to go and what to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go eat at Neptune Oyster (Haymarket station). Amazing seafood.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boston girl
NC
Mar 28, 2013

perfect location for a Boston stay!!

great staff, very good amenities but not over the top, your there to see Boston not live in the hotel... Everything was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

many things are close, food, theater, china town, and more

Back to menu Return to top

Change search