$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
144 reviews
Great stay in Boston

Great beds and linens! A great staff that stored our luggage and gave us a better room. We were... See full review

  • Agneau
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great experience!

The service was exceptional - delightful stay! The room was so comfortable and the view was great.... See full review

  • CinderMom
  • Apr 28, 2014
Modern Hotel Conveniently Located in the Heart of Boston's Theatre District

The newly-renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown offers affordable, mid-scale comfort in the heart of the Theatre District. With access to the city's top attractions, including the Freedom Trail and Newbury Street's upscale boutiques, this full-service hotel offers travelers many options. A Starbucks in the lobby, 24-hour business center, on-site YMCA fitness center and valet parking are just a few of the conveniences at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, chocolate chip cookies are served warm at check-in and rooms feature plush-top mattresses and luxe linens.

Highlights
  • Located in downtown Boston's Theater District with Starbucks in lobby
  • Less than one block from the subway
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour on-site business center
  • Attached to YMCA fitness center
  • Warm chocolate chip cookie served at check-in
Rooms

Simplistic, yet modern furnishings grace each of the hotel's 267 guest rooms, including 11 suites with upgraded amenities, such as individual Keurig coffee machines. Relax on plush mattresses with high thread-count sheets and down pillows. Stay connected at the new black and white media center with 37-inch HDTV, task lighting and desk area, wireless internet access (fees apply), dual-line telephones with voicemail and easy-access outlets. Get ready to your favorite tunes with our iHome clock radio. Our brightly-lit bathrooms include Crabetree & Evelyn bath products and hair dryer.

Features

Drawing inspiration from nearby Chinatown, this hotel features a bi-level lobby with numerous opportunities for lounging, computing and dining. The adjacent YMCA fitness center features cardio and weightlifting equipment and group classes. Guests can use the facility at no charge. Grab something on the go at the full-service Starbucks located on the Lower Lobby level, offering your favorite coffees and pastries during the day. Wisteria Restaurant & Bar serves seasonal American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  The hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Orange Line Tufts Medical Center (adjacent)
  • Hynes Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Logan International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Amtrak-South Station (.65 mi/1.04 km)
Attractions
  • Tufts Medical Center (across street)
  • Boston Common (2 blocks)
  • Chinatown (2 blocks)
  • TD Bank Garden (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Over 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including seasonal courtyard
  • Wi-Fi available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

42.3488 -71.0647
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 3.00, MI, E; Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 53.00, MI, N; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 60.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.2 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.8 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 144
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rubadubsq13
Business
NYC
Mar 22, 2014

biz trip

access to YMCA was nice, the desk and chair for working was awful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
123tree456
Business
New York, NY
Jul 13, 2013

Ick

I checked into my room noticed it had a smell about it. The hotel is also near a hospital so be prepared to hear ambulance traffic. Anyway, back to the smell. I stayed in my room for the first night and the smell came and went. After returning the next day, I spoke to the front desk about the smell, which was almost akin to the spice cumin. They switched my room which to a comparable one, but the AC was shotty. I made the mistake of leaving the "privacy" tag on my door and asked one of the housekeeping staff if she could do a quick sweep after I left. She went and got my cleaning woman who said they stop cleaning at 4. It was a little after 3 and I was leaving in 20 minutes. I asked her again, saying I'd be gone shortly and she said she could "clean it now." I was getting dressed so it wasn't a solution for me. To sum up, just because you give people cookies does not mean that you can offer them subpar service. I wouldn't recommend this hotel or stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amsilva
Business
Concord, CA
Jun 21, 2013

Nice Hotel / clean

Enjoy the upkeep in the hotel. During a rain storm the bellman loaned me his umbrella...nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Boston Chops just down the street about 8 blocks.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Markkk
Business
New Orleans, LA
Apr 8, 2013

Great Location for a Reasonable Price

I stayed here for a conference downtown and was delighted with the location. Walking distance to most major sites around the common and financial district and a short distance from public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Business Traveler
Business
Iowa, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Pretty Good Place

Parking a little expensive, but the room was comfortable. Food was good, but they don't tell you there is an 18% gratuity added to roomservice unless you read the booklet first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMM attendee
Business
Colorado
Jan 8, 2012

Boston for a conference

The staff was extremely helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. The Hynes Convention Center was not as close as advertised (I thought we could walk, but not easily or quickly) and a cab cost between 9 and 11 dollars each way. The T was very convenient to this property and we utilized it often during our stay. Overall A.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the T

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lthomp29
Business
Knoxville, TN, USA
Dec 3, 2011

good stuff

Convenient location right next to the orange line and a block from the green line. Great staff, and conveniently connect to the YMCA. Just wish the room was a little bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Landenberg, PA
Jun 3, 2011

Doubletree Pretty Decent

Hotel was nice and clean. I do hate paying for internet though, that bugs me. Shower head is for [*]. But all-in-all positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 23, 2011

very nice hotel for a small rate

The hotel is conveniently located close to South Station and right by a subway stop. In addition to the hotel restaurant, many other restaurants are also available in walking distance. Our room (2 double beds) was spacious, very clean and warm. The people at the reception were very nice and helpful in providing directions and tips about Boston. Note that internet is not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 6, 2011

Good value

I used to stay around the corner at a different hotel but decided to try this one. It's a good solid place. The room was a good size and it was in good shape. I had a problem with a window not closing but maintenance was there right away and fixed it. The breakfast buffet left a little to be desired and I would skip that the next time, but otherwise this place is a keeper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the theatre district and they're all within a block or two of the hotel. So is Chinatown.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search