$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Benjamin
Dallas Tx
Jul 30, 2013

Great location

First time to Boston , the hotel is centrally located so easy to get around from this area . I would definitely recommend this location. You also have access to the YMCA , I'm big into fitness and didn't waste anytime getting to the gym or having to find a gym. Theres a Starbucks in the lobby for all you caffeine fans :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

So easy to get around from this location...

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Babbibatinn
Business
Reykjavik, Iceland
Apr 7, 2011

Great location

The main reason, for me choosing that hotel, was the location. I only stayed there for a few hours and wanted to explore the city on foot. It was a nice and clean hotel and most of the staff was very helpful. It would have been nice to have a free internet. I payed 25$ + tips for the taxi to the Logan Airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Apr 5, 2011

Great place to stay!

VERY comfortable bed, clean room, great water pressure in shower (hey, that kind of stuff matters a lot to me!), very helpful staff, and an overall great stay. Parking is a bit expensive at $40 for overnight, but [...]offered us $20 off per night and this was pretty comparable to most other lots we could park in. Also, this hotel was right in Chinatown. Close to amazing places to eat and public transportation. We took the orange line (about 2 blocks away) to Hayward and bar hopped there, but did most of our eating in Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try My Thai Vegan Cafe - probably the BEST food I have ever had! Amazing selection! They are also known for their bubble tea, which was so good!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 4, 2011

good location, value

Staff was friendly and helpful, no problem getting toothbrushes when we forgot ours. Complimentary cookies at check in were nice. Parking is either valet or you can park in a garage on Tremont street behind the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk for a few bars, but Jacob Wirth Co. is a good spot for German beers with a wide variety to choose from.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 7, 2011

Great location!

My relatives visited me for the weekend. The bathroom was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the rooms were spacious. It would have been nice to get free wi-fi in the rooms, but for the price, it's fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is just a 5 minute walk away for cheap eats!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 23, 2011

very nice hotel for a small rate

The hotel is conveniently located close to South Station and right by a subway stop. In addition to the hotel restaurant, many other restaurants are also available in walking distance. Our room (2 double beds) was spacious, very clean and warm. The people at the reception were very nice and helpful in providing directions and tips about Boston. Note that internet is not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oswego, NY
Feb 19, 2011

Not pleased!

Checking into this hotel, we were greeted by a very nice employee. When we asked about adjoining rooms with our friends, she was able to accomodate. Unfortunatley, when we went to the room, it had 1 king bed and we had 3 people traveling, my husband, son and myself. The other couple also had 3 people. This would not work and when we went back to the front desk, we were told there were no 2 bed rooms. This is what both of us had booked and we had confirmation to prove it. We were able to get one king suite with a very uncomfortable pull out and a cot in the other room. To add to the frustration, we had a bag of food come up missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Feb 14, 2011

Decent Hotel

The rooms we had were smaller than what I've styed in in the past...but that's not an issue when you're only there to sleep. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

As with every trip I make to Boston, always go to the North End for dinner. We went to a place called Filippo's for dinner and everything was out of this World.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
worcester, ma
Feb 8, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The location is great if you are going into the city to see a show or take in some fine dining. Access to a number of T-stops, as well as walking distance to China Town. The room was well kept and gym access was a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hong Kong, Cambridge.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 6, 2011

Good value

I used to stay around the corner at a different hotel but decided to try this one. It's a good solid place. The room was a good size and it was in good shape. I had a problem with a window not closing but maintenance was there right away and fixed it. The breakfast buffet left a little to be desired and I would skip that the next time, but otherwise this place is a keeper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the theatre district and they're all within a block or two of the hotel. So is Chinatown.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 5, 2011

Pretty Central...

Be prepared... A lot of add-on bills.... Parking is not cheap, but it is Boston... Was mad I had to pay for the internet...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Was close to everything... The 'T', night life, shopping and the 'Freedom Trail'... I would stay again... But this time I will fly in and not have to pay the parking... It was over 50% of the hotel room itself... But it was very safe (the parking lot) - I would feel comfortable leaving my lap-top and a thousand dollars in cash on the front seat....

Back to menu Return to top