$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MDCop
Annapolis, MD
Nov 1, 2013

Double Tree Boston downtown

Nice clean room, pleasant staff and perfect location for the theatre district!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

several pubs close by with excellent offerings

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Up Late
Business
Troy, NY
Apr 25, 2011

Decent...

I was upset that I booked this hotel specifically because it was the cheapest hotel that offered a king bed, and then was put in a room with a queen bed. Other than that, it was clean and quiet. Hotel staff was very helpful, particularly the valets... if they weren't nice, the tiny parking lot where you check in could have been a nightmare. Be forewarned that the parking is $40/night! I thought this was exorbitant, but I don't know how it compares to its peers. Lots of restaurants, some cool bars, and plenty of people-watching around this hotel. Very close to Boston Common. It is kind of a bear to drive to if you don't know Boston. All in all - great location, decent accomodations, but perhaps a little over-priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're up late and hungry, be aware that nowhere delivers after 1am. However, the hotel is not far from the South Street Diner which has GREAT late night grub! My steak and eggs hit the spot, the homefries were out of this world, and even the patrons were friendly and talkative.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 24, 2011

Great Hotel Experience

Friendly Staff, great breakfast, yummy cookies as always, great location, environmentally conscious, easy access to downtown, major sites, and the metro

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Teaneck,NJ
Apr 23, 2011

Very nice hotel

The room was very comfortable, the location convenient and the breakfast was excellent. Everyone was very helpful and we especially liked the warm chocolate chip cookies we received on check in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Apr 19, 2011

Amazing hotel didnt think i could afford

This was amazing we were there for a concert. It was easy to get to, close to Chinatown. The T was just outside the hotel & the staff was amazing. We were so happy thanks to [...]we received a great package. It was my boyfriends birthday and I never could have afforded this place without them. We had also just come back from driving to Tennessee and staying in many hotels some cost more & were not as nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get yourself familiar with the T system and how to pay for it before you start your trips. It makes things go easier. But there were actually very helpful workers there to help also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Babbibatinn
Business
Reykjavik, Iceland
Apr 7, 2011

Great location

The main reason, for me choosing that hotel, was the location. I only stayed there for a few hours and wanted to explore the city on foot. It was a nice and clean hotel and most of the staff was very helpful. It would have been nice to have a free internet. I payed 25$ + tips for the taxi to the Logan Airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Apr 5, 2011

Great place to stay!

VERY comfortable bed, clean room, great water pressure in shower (hey, that kind of stuff matters a lot to me!), very helpful staff, and an overall great stay. Parking is a bit expensive at $40 for overnight, but [...]offered us $20 off per night and this was pretty comparable to most other lots we could park in. Also, this hotel was right in Chinatown. Close to amazing places to eat and public transportation. We took the orange line (about 2 blocks away) to Hayward and bar hopped there, but did most of our eating in Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try My Thai Vegan Cafe - probably the BEST food I have ever had! Amazing selection! They are also known for their bubble tea, which was so good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 4, 2011

good location, value

Staff was friendly and helpful, no problem getting toothbrushes when we forgot ours. Complimentary cookies at check in were nice. Parking is either valet or you can park in a garage on Tremont street behind the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk for a few bars, but Jacob Wirth Co. is a good spot for German beers with a wide variety to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 7, 2011

Great location!

My relatives visited me for the weekend. The bathroom was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the rooms were spacious. It would have been nice to get free wi-fi in the rooms, but for the price, it's fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is just a 5 minute walk away for cheap eats!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 23, 2011

very nice hotel for a small rate

The hotel is conveniently located close to South Station and right by a subway stop. In addition to the hotel restaurant, many other restaurants are also available in walking distance. Our room (2 double beds) was spacious, very clean and warm. The people at the reception were very nice and helpful in providing directions and tips about Boston. Note that internet is not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oswego, NY
Feb 19, 2011

Not pleased!

Checking into this hotel, we were greeted by a very nice employee. When we asked about adjoining rooms with our friends, she was able to accomodate. Unfortunatley, when we went to the room, it had 1 king bed and we had 3 people traveling, my husband, son and myself. The other couple also had 3 people. This would not work and when we went back to the front desk, we were told there were no 2 bed rooms. This is what both of us had booked and we had confirmation to prove it. We were able to get one king suite with a very uncomfortable pull out and a cot in the other room. To add to the frustration, we had a bag of food come up missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top