DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
141 reviews
Great stay in Boston

Great beds and linens! A great staff that stored our luggage and gave us a better room. We were... See full review

  • Agneau
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great experience!

The service was exceptional - delightful stay! The room was so comfortable and the view was great.... See full review

  • CinderMom
  • Apr 28, 2014
Modern Hotel Conveniently Located in the Heart of Boston's Theatre District

The newly-renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown offers affordable, mid-scale comfort in the heart of the Theatre District. With access to the city's top attractions, including the Freedom Trail and Newbury Street's upscale boutiques, this full-service hotel offers travelers many options. A Starbucks in the lobby, 24-hour business center, on-site YMCA fitness center and valet parking are just a few of the conveniences at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, chocolate chip cookies are served warm at check-in and rooms feature plush-top mattresses and luxe linens.

Highlights
  • Located in downtown Boston's Theater District with Starbucks in lobby
  • Less than one block from the subway
  • Wi-Fi throughout hotel (fees apply)
  • 24-hour on-site business center
  • Attached to YMCA fitness center
  • Warm chocolate chip cookie served at check-in
Rooms

Simplistic, yet modern furnishings grace each of the hotel's 267 guest rooms, including 11 suites with upgraded amenities, such as individual Keurig coffee machines. Relax on plush mattresses with high thread-count sheets and down pillows. Stay connected at the new black and white media center with 37-inch HDTV, task lighting and desk area, wireless internet access (fees apply), dual-line telephones with voicemail and easy-access outlets. Get ready to your favorite tunes with our iHome clock radio. Our brightly-lit bathrooms include Crabetree & Evelyn bath products and hair dryer.

Features

Drawing inspiration from nearby Chinatown, this hotel features a bi-level lobby with numerous opportunities for lounging, computing and dining. The adjacent YMCA fitness center features cardio and weightlifting equipment and group classes. Guests can use the facility at no charge. Grab something on the go at the full-service Starbucks located on the Lower Lobby level, offering your favorite coffees and pastries during the day. Wisteria Restaurant & Bar serves seasonal American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  The hotel offers valet parking (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Orange Line Tufts Medical Center (adjacent)
  • Hynes Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Logan International Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Amtrak-South Station (.65 mi/1.04 km)
Attractions
  • Tufts Medical Center (across street)
  • Boston Common (2 blocks)
  • Chinatown (2 blocks)
  • TD Bank Garden (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour, self-service business center
  • Over 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including seasonal courtyard
  • Wi-Fi available (fees apply)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Hotel Map

42.3488 -71.0647
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 3.00, MI, E; Theodore Francis Green State Airport, (PVD), 53.00, MI, N; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 60.00, MI, S;

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.6 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.2 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.8 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
May 19, 2011

Great Location ! Great People !

First vacation without kids in 15years ! The Hotel was very nice.Loved the King size bed ! Would have been great if we could have used the pool & whirlpool after sight seeing all day, but that is my only complaint about the place. The staff were so awesome and friendly, they really made us feel welcome. When we go back to Boston, they will be our first choice. They are within walking distance of so many of the sights. WAY TO GO DOUBLETREE !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley. So worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vermont
May 2, 2011

ok - not awesome

The hotel was fine. The bed was comfortable and the room nice. Seemed over priced for what it was but it was in the theater district in Boston so I guess that is to be expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The little hole in the wall - Boston Pizza - Delicious!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
May 2, 2011

overpriced

The room was ok and service was just the minimum needed (no restaurant service to rooms etc) but the Hotel didn't have much to offer. Price was too high considering that it didnt even include breakfast ($20/person!, for 2 people = $40 more per day)Because of that, we ended up paying more than we would have paid in a better quality Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlington, VT
May 1, 2011

Good Hotel & Close to Fenway

We needed to book a hotel close to Fenway Park for the Red Sox's game. This hotel was the perfect choice for pricing and distance (a quick trip on the T). Especially considering that I booked this the day before our trip, it was an excellent choice for the ball park and a night out on the town. The staff was courteous. The only thing that was annoying was one of the valet guys yelling at me for my keys- you just don't want to deal with that after driving for 5 ours. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel to anyone that need to be near the theater district and only a short train ride away to Fenway Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the outbound T (metro train) to kenmore for Fenway Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Up Late
Business
Troy, NY
Apr 25, 2011

Decent...

I was upset that I booked this hotel specifically because it was the cheapest hotel that offered a king bed, and then was put in a room with a queen bed. Other than that, it was clean and quiet. Hotel staff was very helpful, particularly the valets... if they weren't nice, the tiny parking lot where you check in could have been a nightmare. Be forewarned that the parking is $40/night! I thought this was exorbitant, but I don't know how it compares to its peers. Lots of restaurants, some cool bars, and plenty of people-watching around this hotel. Very close to Boston Common. It is kind of a bear to drive to if you don't know Boston. All in all - great location, decent accomodations, but perhaps a little over-priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're up late and hungry, be aware that nowhere delivers after 1am. However, the hotel is not far from the South Street Diner which has GREAT late night grub! My steak and eggs hit the spot, the homefries were out of this world, and even the patrons were friendly and talkative.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 24, 2011

Great Hotel Experience

Friendly Staff, great breakfast, yummy cookies as always, great location, environmentally conscious, easy access to downtown, major sites, and the metro

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Teaneck,NJ
Apr 23, 2011

Very nice hotel

The room was very comfortable, the location convenient and the breakfast was excellent. Everyone was very helpful and we especially liked the warm chocolate chip cookies we received on check in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Apr 19, 2011

Amazing hotel didnt think i could afford

This was amazing we were there for a concert. It was easy to get to, close to Chinatown. The T was just outside the hotel & the staff was amazing. We were so happy thanks to [...]we received a great package. It was my boyfriends birthday and I never could have afforded this place without them. We had also just come back from driving to Tennessee and staying in many hotels some cost more & were not as nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get yourself familiar with the T system and how to pay for it before you start your trips. It makes things go easier. But there were actually very helpful workers there to help also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Babbibatinn
Business
Reykjavik, Iceland
Apr 7, 2011

Great location

The main reason, for me choosing that hotel, was the location. I only stayed there for a few hours and wanted to explore the city on foot. It was a nice and clean hotel and most of the staff was very helpful. It would have been nice to have a free internet. I payed 25$ + tips for the taxi to the Logan Airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Apr 5, 2011

Great place to stay!

VERY comfortable bed, clean room, great water pressure in shower (hey, that kind of stuff matters a lot to me!), very helpful staff, and an overall great stay. Parking is a bit expensive at $40 for overnight, but [...]offered us $20 off per night and this was pretty comparable to most other lots we could park in. Also, this hotel was right in Chinatown. Close to amazing places to eat and public transportation. We took the orange line (about 2 blocks away) to Hayward and bar hopped there, but did most of our eating in Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try My Thai Vegan Cafe - probably the BEST food I have ever had! Amazing selection! They are also known for their bubble tea, which was so good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top