$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Landenberg, PA
Jun 3, 2011

Doubletree Pretty Decent

Hotel was nice and clean. I do hate paying for internet though, that bugs me. Shower head is for [*]. But all-in-all positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
princess1014
Single
las vegas,nv
May 30, 2011

Excellent

location was great, staff was nice, hotel was very clean and upscale, great complimentary breakfeast (not your average hard boiled eggs and cheap waffles) wish the internet was complimentary but other than that no complaints at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

12.95 for wifi internet

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kiss the cook
Couples
Minnesota
May 23, 2011

On the edge of

We stayed 4nights. After 2 days, our rom key did not work. Returning after Avery long day, we had to go back down to the front desk because we could not get in our room. The gal said she would rekey our cards and that they would ork. My husband asked, "Why did they not work?". She said "The machine thought that you were only staying 2 nights.". Wow!!! I did not know that there are machines that can think!! She should have said "the information was entered incorrectly.". When we got there the parking attendant would not let our daughter park long enough to help us get registered. The towels are very nice. Big, thick and fluffy. However, we got just two bath towels. When I wash my hair I like to wrap my head in a towel. They want $12 per day for wi-fi. I have NEVER paid extra fit wi-fi. I will never stay in this hotel chain again and I will deffinently not recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Wisconsin
May 19, 2011

Great Location ! Great People !

First vacation without kids in 15years ! The Hotel was very nice.Loved the King size bed ! Would have been great if we could have used the pool & whirlpool after sight seeing all day, but that is my only complaint about the place. The staff were so awesome and friendly, they really made us feel welcome. When we go back to Boston, they will be our first choice. They are within walking distance of so many of the sights. WAY TO GO DOUBLETREE !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley. So worth the money.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
vermont
May 2, 2011

ok - not awesome

The hotel was fine. The bed was comfortable and the room nice. Seemed over priced for what it was but it was in the theater district in Boston so I guess that is to be expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The little hole in the wall - Boston Pizza - Delicious!!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego
May 2, 2011

overpriced

The room was ok and service was just the minimum needed (no restaurant service to rooms etc) but the Hotel didn't have much to offer. Price was too high considering that it didnt even include breakfast ($20/person!, for 2 people = $40 more per day)Because of that, we ended up paying more than we would have paid in a better quality Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Burlington, VT
May 1, 2011

Good Hotel & Close to Fenway

We needed to book a hotel close to Fenway Park for the Red Sox's game. This hotel was the perfect choice for pricing and distance (a quick trip on the T). Especially considering that I booked this the day before our trip, it was an excellent choice for the ball park and a night out on the town. The staff was courteous. The only thing that was annoying was one of the valet guys yelling at me for my keys- you just don't want to deal with that after driving for 5 ours. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel to anyone that need to be near the theater district and only a short train ride away to Fenway Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the outbound T (metro train) to kenmore for Fenway Park.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Up Late
Single
Troy, NY
Apr 25, 2011

Decent...

I was upset that I booked this hotel specifically because it was the cheapest hotel that offered a king bed, and then was put in a room with a queen bed. Other than that, it was clean and quiet. Hotel staff was very helpful, particularly the valets... if they weren't nice, the tiny parking lot where you check in could have been a nightmare. Be forewarned that the parking is $40/night! I thought this was exorbitant, but I don't know how it compares to its peers. Lots of restaurants, some cool bars, and plenty of people-watching around this hotel. Very close to Boston Common. It is kind of a bear to drive to if you don't know Boston. All in all - great location, decent accomodations, but perhaps a little over-priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're up late and hungry, be aware that nowhere delivers after 1am. However, the hotel is not far from the South Street Diner which has GREAT late night grub! My steak and eggs hit the spot, the homefries were out of this world, and even the patrons were friendly and talkative.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Teaneck,NJ
Apr 23, 2011

Very nice hotel

The room was very comfortable, the location convenient and the breakfast was excellent. Everyone was very helpful and we especially liked the warm chocolate chip cookies we received on check in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Vermont
Apr 19, 2011

Amazing hotel didnt think i could afford

This was amazing we were there for a concert. It was easy to get to, close to Chinatown. The T was just outside the hotel & the staff was amazing. We were so happy thanks to [...]we received a great package. It was my boyfriends birthday and I never could have afforded this place without them. We had also just come back from driving to Tennessee and staying in many hotels some cost more & were not as nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get yourself familiar with the T system and how to pay for it before you start your trips. It makes things go easier. But there were actually very helpful workers there to help also.

Back to menu Return to top