$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaulO easy travel
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Mar 7, 2014

Boston getaway

The location is excellent, next to the Transit station. Making it very easy to get around Boston and to see the Historic sites all over the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maninha
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 12, 2013

Perfect location

Helpful and friendly staff. Situation right next to the Tufts Medical Center train station (orange line), easy access to other parts of the city. Short walk to South Station and on the edge of Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daddy1510
Business
NY
Sep 10, 2013

Great Location for family visit to Bean Town

Service was very friendly and helpful. Valet car service is terrific and well worth the additional charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kmq84
Business
Pittsburgh, pa
Aug 18, 2013

Boston friendly

Very helpful staff. Expensive but a good value for Boston. Parking was $43 a night which I didn't know till we got there. Location was good because it was right by the orange line train station but bad because its by Tufts medical center & there were ambulances throughout the night going past. Also, the pool was in the adjacent YMCA which wasn't convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring sandwich baggies with you - they can be used for snacks, toothbrushes, money,toiletries, medicine or leftovers and are especially helpful with kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Benjamin
Business
Dallas Tx
Jul 30, 2013

Great location

First time to Boston , the hotel is centrally located so easy to get around from this area . I would definitely recommend this location. You also have access to the YMCA , I'm big into fitness and didn't waste anytime getting to the gym or having to find a gym. Theres a Starbucks in the lobby for all you caffeine fans :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

So easy to get around from this location...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ormond Beach Family
Business
Ormond Beach
Jul 30, 2013

Double Tree in Boston Downtown

Excellent location and able to walk anywhere in Boston. With this great location you don't need to rent a car because everything is available to you. Staff was excellent and accommodating to your every need whether it was restaurants, transportation, or walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All transportation and the walking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
123tree456
Business
New York, NY
Jul 13, 2013

Ick

I checked into my room noticed it had a smell about it. The hotel is also near a hospital so be prepared to hear ambulance traffic. Anyway, back to the smell. I stayed in my room for the first night and the smell came and went. After returning the next day, I spoke to the front desk about the smell, which was almost akin to the spice cumin. They switched my room which to a comparable one, but the AC was shotty. I made the mistake of leaving the "privacy" tag on my door and asked one of the housekeeping staff if she could do a quick sweep after I left. She went and got my cleaning woman who said they stop cleaning at 4. It was a little after 3 and I was leaving in 20 minutes. I asked her again, saying I'd be gone shortly and she said she could "clean it now." I was getting dressed so it wasn't a solution for me. To sum up, just because you give people cookies does not mean that you can offer them subpar service. I wouldn't recommend this hotel or stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maw9
Business
Boston
Jul 8, 2013

Vacation get away

I had a ADA room which was OK. However, the shower pressure was low and the removable shower head would not stay fixed in one position. The lobby was enticing with its modern look. Good location near public transportation. $12.95 per day for internet access is excessive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most attractions are within a short walk (5 to 10 minutes) and other attractions are easy to get to with public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amsilva
Business
Concord, CA
Jun 21, 2013

Nice Hotel / clean

Enjoy the upkeep in the hotel. During a rain storm the bellman loaned me his umbrella...nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Boston Chops just down the street about 8 blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pregnant lady
Business
Boston back bay
Apr 29, 2013

Not a good experience

I wouldn't stay here in the future. I'm 7 1/2 months pregnant and they would not allow me to check in any earlier than 3 PM despite traveling since 4:45 AM in the morning. They promised to call if a room became available but never called in the 6 hours we waited before 3 PM. We could not find a restaurant they suggested which was only a few blocks from the hotel. The rooms have no control for the AC/heat. My husband and I both came back with skin rashes from the bed sheets. The rooms were not nicely decorated. Overall, poor experience and surprised this is a double tree/Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Markkk
Business
New Orleans, LA
Apr 8, 2013

Great Location for a Reasonable Price

I stayed here for a conference downtown and was delighted with the location. Walking distance to most major sites around the common and financial district and a short distance from public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top