$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

3 stars
View map of 821 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02111

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelinglady
Business
NY NY
Oct 6, 2010

doubletree boston was just ok

when we showed up at the hotel all was well parking was expensive however and there really is no better option available that I could see. the room was a strange shape and was not completely clean. I found garbage in the trash can and a half eaten cookie in the drawer so it was not thoroughly cleansed prior to our visit and that annoyed me. The location was alright walking distance to almost all attractions because we walk a lot but if you're looking for something in the midst of it all this is not it. This hotel was close to a hospital and closer to the theater district. It was all just ok but I would have preferred to be closer to the water in a nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

find out about whale watching in advance because boats leave early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
providence, ri
Oct 4, 2010

short stay

No refrigerator in room. Some noise from streets, but not too bad. Overall, a great experience. The bed was comfy and the room was clean. The warm chocolate chip cookie at check in was a nice touch. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The south
Aug 27, 2010

Great hotel in a Great location

We were in Boston for sightseeing, and this hotel was perfect for our purpose. It was very close to the orange line subway which made it very convenient for getting around the city. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and rather spacious. The staff at check-in was very friendly. Also, we ordered room service one night when we'd gotten in too late to eat in town, and the food was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can take the subway to get to and from the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jul 6, 2010

overall great hotel

very friendly and helpful staff; extremely clean room, very comfortable bed not the best location, but not too bad. close to the commons and T stops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Boston Commons- hang out and relax on a nice day or night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lubbock, Texas
Jul 5, 2010

Good location

The hotel and it's employees were great. Parking cost to much and the pool being in the YMCA was not what we expected. The hotel menu was very small making us have to go out to eat every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't plan on eating in this hotel as their menu is very small with very few selections

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gypsy Jane
Business
New York, NY
Jun 26, 2010

Good location and friendly staff

This hotel was clean, comfortable and well situated for touring Boston. The staff at this hotel--as at other Doubletree hotels where I have stayed--is very intent upon doing a good job and is very accommodating. Even when there were minor glitches (a phone not working) they rectified the problem quickly and gave a little bonus (a Starbucks coupon) as an apology. They also called to see how the stay was going and if there was anything they could do to make it more enjoyable. The breakfast buffet is very overpriced and the nearby restaurant options appeared limited (McDonald's, Dunkin Donuts). But otherwise the stay was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guille
Business
Mexico city
Jun 21, 2010

Good services

Reviewed my e-mails, watched football games resume. I needed to make some international calls, I would like that exists telephones public where you can do it. All my travels around the world with you have been all right. Thank you very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

In spite of the subway its near, everything it´s near. Knows the city by walking, so you need a very good shoes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Jun 20, 2010

Good location for the price

The front desk staff was friendly but they first tried to put me in a room I was uncomfortable with. I was at first given a ground floor handicapped room with a large conference room attached & two courtyard doors. Since I was traveling alone, I found all the space and doors a little creepy. So I went back to front desk and asked to be moved to a more appropriate room and was immediately accomodated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Dakota/Minnesota border
Jun 11, 2010

Great location and value

Excellent concierge and desk assistance. Personable in restaurant/lounge, but it closed when slow, and with no other Pub/Tavern on the street, if you wanted late food/drink, you'd better bring it with you. The Theater district is one block away on Tremont, and the "T" is only one half block from the entrance, next to Tufts Medical Ctr entrance (CLOSE/SAFE). Get a 7 day "charlie pass" for subway, trollies and busses and from this hotel you are set. Would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Intermission Tavern is only a 2 blocks away, but there's a quiet, rather dark street if you walk. It's probably safe, but doesn't feel that way if your new and alone. If concierge calls cab, they can mitigate an overcharge, otherwise the cabbies will ask you to pay cash, about $5 and not run the meter. If they pull in the parking lot instead of up front of the hotel (and leave back past Tufts Medical Center), it is about a 40 second drive to Tremont Street and The Intermission Tavern. If pointed the other way, cabbies will take you about three blocks wide to a one way, and it'll end up being $4.50 and five to seven minutes. If the hotel's resaurant/lounge just served pizza, soup and sandwiches later, you'd never need to leave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shelby,NC
May 15, 2010

Great Vacation

WE did tours of Boston and the hotel was in a great location. The restaurant in the hotel was also very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top