$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 6, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

3 stars
63 R Boston Street, 63 R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
117 reviews
Whirlwind 24 hours

We arrived late morning with the intent that we would check in when we returned from downtown... See full review

  • City Slicker2
  • Aug 17, 2014
Nice Clean Hotel

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel The Hotel is very clean and quiet. The staff... See full review

  • SueEccy
  • Oct 12, 2014
Comfortable hotel with modern amenities just south of downtown Boston

Courtyard by Marriott South Boston sits just a few miles south of downtown Boston, offering guests large, comfortable and modern accommodations at quality prices. Guests can enjoy complimentary in-room Wi-Fi while dining on Italian-American fare from the 224 Boston St. Restaurant. Families with children can opt for the Nickelodeon Your Stay Program. Guests enjoy free, on-site parking. A shuttle operates between the hotel and the airport (fees apply). The hotel features a pool and fitness center.

Highlights
  • Located just south of downtown Boston
  • Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi
  • Free on-site parking
  • Nickelodeon Your Stay Program for kids
  • Fitness room and indoor heated pool
Rooms
All rooms feature beds with thick mattresses, luxury linens and a choice of firm or down pillows. Bathrooms feature hair dryers and shower/tub combinations and some king rooms feature a whirlpool in the bathroom. A large work station with ergonomic chair and well-placed lighting offers guests a place to work. All guests enjoy complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. Watch TV with premium cable including ESPN and HBO. Rooms have a sofa or chair with ottoman for extra lounging. All rooms have coffee stations.
Features

A dramatic entrance at this South Boston hotel leads to a bright and open lobby. Guests can relax in the gazebo in the outdoor courtyard, swim laps in the indoor heated pool or kick back in the Jacuzzi. An on-site fitness center helps guests stay in shape while traveling. Area restaurants deliver to the hotel, but guests can also enjoy made-to-order breakfast or the daily buffet. Unwind after a busy day with a cocktail in the lounge. Two meeting rooms, totaling 700 square feet facilitate conferences. On-site parking is free and a shuttle transports guests between the hotel and Logan Airport (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Red Line Andrew's Square (2 blocks)
  • Logan International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Complimentary on-site parking
Attractions
  • Newberry Street (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Back Bay (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Financial District (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Fenway Park (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
Business
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • 700 square feet of conference space
  • Full-service on-site business center

Hotel Map

42.3282 -71.0596
Area served
Downtown Boston (Quincy Market, Copley)
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport, (BOS), 6.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.4 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 2 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 2.1 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.4 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 2 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 2.1 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 2.1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.1 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.2 mi
  • African Meeting House: 2.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.3 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.5 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.6 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.6 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 3.3 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 3.3 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3.4 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.9 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Apr 6, 2010

Nice hotel in a bad location

Offer to take folks for free to the next safest T stop. Nice hotel in a rough neighborhood. Yike!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carrboro, NC
Apr 5, 2010

An Excellent Hotel at a Great Price

I stayed at this hotel 6 nights and really enjoyed it. The room was big, the location was great, it was quiet at night and the price was a relative bargain. It's in an urban neighborhood of South Boston, about a 6 minute walk to the Andrew Square station on the Red Line, but I felt perfectly safe walking it even past 10:00 one night. The carpet and chair could have been a little cleaner but the bathtub was literally gleaming. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. I did not use the parking or restaurant so no comment on those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delaware
Mar 31, 2010

Fair Price for a Decent Stay

Very decent hotel. In walking distance of the subway to make travel around the city a breeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Mar 29, 2010

Will never stay here again

Do not stay here unless you really have to! I booked this hotel because of the price and the close proximity to Boston. Unfortunately, the address is impossible to find on a map (google maps does not recognize it) and when I called to get another address, the woman that answered the phone was very rude. The address she gave me (7 Allstate St) was also not the address. Hopefully you know where to find it because GPS devices will be useless. When we finally checked into the hotel, the room was nice and that is where the good stuff ends. We had decided to sleep in but were woken up at 9 am by housekeeping banging on our door (there was no do not disturb sign to put out). We decided to go down to breakfast and had assumed it was free (I know, bad assumption) but there were no signs saying that there was a charge (I also checked the hotel info booklet in the room before we went down). AFTER we ate, we were told that we needed to hand in our coupons or we would be charged for breakfast. We did not have any so we were charged. Staff was very rude when I complained about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 28, 2010

A comfortable stay in Boston

I attended a conference at the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center and stayed at the Courtyard Boston-South Boston for 3 nights. I was told at the time of booking that the hotel offered van service to and from the Center. That's true; it did, but the staff omitted to say that the service was more TO the Center rather than FROM the Center. The van left from the hotel TO the Center every 1/2 hour, but the return was ONLY at 5:30 and 6:30 FROM the Center. Also, I was told that breakfast was included, but it was not. Two big surprises that made me change my plans somewhat. The hotel was definitely off the beaten track. It is about a 5-10 minute walk away from the "T," so it's not exactly convenient. The hotel is very clean and the room was great--clean, nicely appointed, refrigerator, iron, hair dryer, coffee in-room, etc. The price and amenities were good, the location and services were not what I'd been led to expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thelma & Louise's Big Train Trip!
Business
VT
Mar 9, 2010

Great Value at a very reasonable price!

I was with my 83 year old mother, and the staff went out of their way to assist us with transportation, access to restaurants, etc. It was a very enjoyable stay for both of us. Also, the free WiFi was a pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
military guy
Business
virginia beach, va
Feb 22, 2010

unbeatable

it was a wonderful experience. Quiet, spotless, enjoyable on every corner. One of the best I've stayed in. I'll definitely consider it for any future visits and recommend it to all my friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Feb 21, 2010

Comfortable Stay in Boston

This hotel is in a kind of run-down location, but the hotel itself was clean and modern. The service was generally okay, but it certainly depended on the service person. For example, one employee was willing to let us park at the hotel for a few hours after we had checked out of the hotel. With the cost of parking in Boston, that was really helpful! But other employees seemed sullen and unhelpful. The room was clean and nice, but the location of the TV was strange, I believe because we had one king-size bed, as opposed to two queens. There were two real draws for this hotel: the price ($89/night) and the free, on-site parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Polonia -- an excellent little Polish place just a few blocks from the hotel. The restaurant consisted of about five tables (fewer than 30 people) with fantastic, rustic decor, which provided for an intimate and fun evening. The price was great, so if you enjoy Polish or Hungarian cuisine, this place is excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
skeletor
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 19, 2010

Courtyard Boston-South Boston

There was a lack of parking. Cars were parking on the grass in front of the hotel. My bath tub drain very slow. The hotel and room was very clean. The breakfast was on free and the cost for it was to much for what you got. Ask for directions to the air port and they gave me a writen one with no map. The location of the hotel and the poor Boston rode system, you need a detail map.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cherry valley, ma
Feb 17, 2010

ok - god shuttle service

one night--it was quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top