$190 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

3 stars
View map of 63 R Boston Street, 63 R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 28, 2010

A comfortable stay in Boston

I attended a conference at the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center and stayed at the Courtyard Boston-South Boston for 3 nights. I was told at the time of booking that the hotel offered van service to and from the Center. That's true; it did, but the staff omitted to say that the service was more TO the Center rather than FROM the Center. The van left from the hotel TO the Center every 1/2 hour, but the return was ONLY at 5:30 and 6:30 FROM the Center. Also, I was told that breakfast was included, but it was not. Two big surprises that made me change my plans somewhat. The hotel was definitely off the beaten track. It is about a 5-10 minute walk away from the "T," so it's not exactly convenient. The hotel is very clean and the room was great--clean, nicely appointed, refrigerator, iron, hair dryer, coffee in-room, etc. The price and amenities were good, the location and services were not what I'd been led to expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thelma & Louise's Big Train Trip!
Business
VT
Mar 9, 2010

Great Value at a very reasonable price!

I was with my 83 year old mother, and the staff went out of their way to assist us with transportation, access to restaurants, etc. It was a very enjoyable stay for both of us. Also, the free WiFi was a pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Feb 21, 2010

Comfortable Stay in Boston

This hotel is in a kind of run-down location, but the hotel itself was clean and modern. The service was generally okay, but it certainly depended on the service person. For example, one employee was willing to let us park at the hotel for a few hours after we had checked out of the hotel. With the cost of parking in Boston, that was really helpful! But other employees seemed sullen and unhelpful. The room was clean and nice, but the location of the TV was strange, I believe because we had one king-size bed, as opposed to two queens. There were two real draws for this hotel: the price ($89/night) and the free, on-site parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Polonia -- an excellent little Polish place just a few blocks from the hotel. The restaurant consisted of about five tables (fewer than 30 people) with fantastic, rustic decor, which provided for an intimate and fun evening. The price was great, so if you enjoy Polish or Hungarian cuisine, this place is excellent!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
skeletor
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 19, 2010

Courtyard Boston-South Boston

There was a lack of parking. Cars were parking on the grass in front of the hotel. My bath tub drain very slow. The hotel and room was very clean. The breakfast was on free and the cost for it was to much for what you got. Ask for directions to the air port and they gave me a writen one with no map. The location of the hotel and the poor Boston rode system, you need a detail map.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cherry valley, ma
Feb 17, 2010

ok - god shuttle service

one night--it was quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dira
Business
Brockton, MA
Feb 15, 2010

It was nice!

THE HOTEL WAS NICE AND CLEAN. iT WAS VERY QUIET.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quincy, MA
Feb 15, 2010

nice trip

very urban setting, which I knew. They had a pool and that is what we wanted. Sadly, our first encounter with the place was unpleasant. The young man at the desk kind of stared at us like we were aliens. There was a large bowl of hard candy at the desk to which my grandson helped himself to a few. His comment to me was "there's a limit"...meaning the candy. No hello or welcome, etc. Made me really uncomfortable, I don't like to make a scene so I ignored the comment. Also, the parking was difficult. Almost had no place to park on the first evening. Food was good but very expensive (breakfast buffet, they ran out of ketchup on the second day. Said the truck was coming tomorrow...however, there was a large shopping center right next to the place with a large grocery store...I was surprised that no one took the initiative ran across the parking lot to buy some?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

take near by subway to Boston

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bedford, Ma.
Feb 14, 2010

Fantastic Getaway

Every thing was just great, The staff, the room & location. The room was very clean. Bed was very comfotable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
Feb 14, 2010

Great value for the price

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in this hotel over Valentines Day weekend. I was really impressed with the cleanliness of everything in the room, the bathroom in particular being in great condition and well-lit. I appreciated that you could digitally set the temperature of the room, that we had a mini-fridge and coffee maker, and there was wireless internet. The cost of our stay included the breakfast in the lobby, which was fabulous food (hot breakfast buffet with pastries and waffle maker) and saved us money. The staff was consistently helpful, whether asking for more towels or looking for a good take-out restaurant. The pool was very small - not a lap pool for sure - but was fine for relaxing, as was the hot tub. The hotel is about two blocks/less than five minutes from the red line on the T, which was awesome for getting around without needing to park downtown. We walked from the T stop at a variety of hours and it always felt safe (though not a scenic walk). It's also located next to a huge shopping plaza with some big box stores and restaurant chains, which was very convenient. My only complaint was parking - this hotel is right next to another chain hotel and parking was a very scare commodity by Friday night. We had to park about three buildings over on Saturday night and cars were parked in lots of places that weren't parking spots at all. I'd recommend leaving the car in the parking lot as much as possible and using the T or cabs to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To save time, money, and stress, choose the rate that includes breakfast in the lobby. Then walk five minutes to the Andrew stop on the T to get downtown without driving.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maikeru
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 9, 2010

Great Birthday Trip

Overall, the stay was great! It was very close to the Red Line, Target, Best Buy and a nice breakfast stop. The rooms had a nice space to them. I had a blast and plan on coming back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top