$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 19, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

3 stars
View map of 63 R Boston Street, 63 R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quincy, MA
Feb 15, 2010

nice trip

very urban setting, which I knew. They had a pool and that is what we wanted. Sadly, our first encounter with the place was unpleasant. The young man at the desk kind of stared at us like we were aliens. There was a large bowl of hard candy at the desk to which my grandson helped himself to a few. His comment to me was "there's a limit"...meaning the candy. No hello or welcome, etc. Made me really uncomfortable, I don't like to make a scene so I ignored the comment. Also, the parking was difficult. Almost had no place to park on the first evening. Food was good but very expensive (breakfast buffet, they ran out of ketchup on the second day. Said the truck was coming tomorrow...however, there was a large shopping center right next to the place with a large grocery store...I was surprised that no one took the initiative ran across the parking lot to buy some?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

take near by subway to Boston

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bedford, Ma.
Feb 14, 2010

Fantastic Getaway

Every thing was just great, The staff, the room & location. The room was very clean. Bed was very comfotable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
Feb 14, 2010

Great value for the price

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in this hotel over Valentines Day weekend. I was really impressed with the cleanliness of everything in the room, the bathroom in particular being in great condition and well-lit. I appreciated that you could digitally set the temperature of the room, that we had a mini-fridge and coffee maker, and there was wireless internet. The cost of our stay included the breakfast in the lobby, which was fabulous food (hot breakfast buffet with pastries and waffle maker) and saved us money. The staff was consistently helpful, whether asking for more towels or looking for a good take-out restaurant. The pool was very small - not a lap pool for sure - but was fine for relaxing, as was the hot tub. The hotel is about two blocks/less than five minutes from the red line on the T, which was awesome for getting around without needing to park downtown. We walked from the T stop at a variety of hours and it always felt safe (though not a scenic walk). It's also located next to a huge shopping plaza with some big box stores and restaurant chains, which was very convenient. My only complaint was parking - this hotel is right next to another chain hotel and parking was a very scare commodity by Friday night. We had to park about three buildings over on Saturday night and cars were parked in lots of places that weren't parking spots at all. I'd recommend leaving the car in the parking lot as much as possible and using the T or cabs to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To save time, money, and stress, choose the rate that includes breakfast in the lobby. Then walk five minutes to the Andrew stop on the T to get downtown without driving.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maikeru
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 9, 2010

Great Birthday Trip

Overall, the stay was great! It was very close to the Red Line, Target, Best Buy and a nice breakfast stop. The rooms had a nice space to them. I had a blast and plan on coming back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kris K
Business
Portland, Maine
Jan 11, 2010

Could Not Have Better Service!

We booked a room to celebrate my best friend's 30th birthday in Boston. As soon as we arrived, the gentlemen at the front desk was extremily friendly and helpful. Over the course of the night the staff on in the evening were all very helpful and courteous as well. They called our cab for us, provided us with information for our night out and had a great attitude. I have stayed in a great number of hotels in my lifetime and this was by far one of the most friendly helpful staffs and an overall positive experience. The room was very nice as well. I was very pleased, thank you so much!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kris K
Business
Portland, Maine
Jan 11, 2010

Could Not Have Better Service!

We booked a room to celebrate my best friend's 30th birthday in Boston. As soon as we arrived, the gentlemen at the front desk was extremily friendly and helpful. Over the course of the night the staff on in the evening were all very helpful and courteous as well. They called our cab for us, provided us with information for our night out and had a great attitude. I have stayed in a great number of hotels in my lifetime and this was by far one of the most friendly helpful staffs and an overall positive experience. The room was very nice as well. I was very pleased, thank you so much!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hogman 43
Business
Searcy, AR
Nov 30, 2009

Thanksgiving 2009

We were very happy with our stay at this hotel. The accommodations were just what we needed and the price was reasonable. The hotel was very quiet and we rested well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Andrew Square Pizza & Subs

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yoshi
Business
PA
Nov 20, 2009

Marriot hotel

When I telephoned the hotel, she hang up without asking me about my permission. I had one more question about the location of the hotel, actually. I totally was upset and called again. Same person did same action. After arriving the hotel, they were nice staff but she was discussing rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yoshi
Business
PA
Nov 20, 2009

Marriot hotel

When I telephoned the hotel, she hang up without asking me about my permission. I had one more question about the location of the hotel, actually. I totally was upset and called again. Same person did same action. After arriving the hotel, they were nice staff but she was discussing rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheryl from MD
Business
Baltimore, MD
Oct 29, 2009

We were thrilled

If youu don't mind a 5 minute walk to the subway each day this is the perfect hotel. Cleanest rooms I have ever seen. My daughter and I spent the evening after walking all day around town at this very comfortable and very accomodating hotel. I am very particular and the only thing that would make this a 5 star hotel to me is being in the center of downtown. For the price difference, if you can walk to the subway for 5 minutes each way you can't go wrong. Thank you [...] Marriott

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway station instead of cabs and hotel shuttle to and from the airport for $5 pp each way

Back to menu Return to top