$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

3 stars
63 R Boston Street, 63 R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
117 reviews
Whirlwind 24 hours

We arrived late morning with the intent that we would check in when we returned from downtown... See full review

  • City Slicker2
  • Aug 17, 2014
Nice Clean Hotel

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel The Hotel is very clean and quiet. The staff... See full review

  • SueEccy
  • Oct 12, 2014
Comfortable hotel with modern amenities just south of downtown Boston

Courtyard by Marriott South Boston sits just a few miles south of downtown Boston, offering guests large, comfortable and modern accommodations at quality prices. Guests can enjoy complimentary in-room Wi-Fi while dining on Italian-American fare from the 224 Boston St. Restaurant. Families with children can opt for the Nickelodeon Your Stay Program. Guests enjoy free, on-site parking. A shuttle operates between the hotel and the airport (fees apply). The hotel features a pool and fitness center.

Highlights
  • Located just south of downtown Boston
  • Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi
  • Free on-site parking
  • Nickelodeon Your Stay Program for kids
  • Fitness room and indoor heated pool
Rooms
All rooms feature beds with thick mattresses, luxury linens and a choice of firm or down pillows. Bathrooms feature hair dryers and shower/tub combinations and some king rooms feature a whirlpool in the bathroom. A large work station with ergonomic chair and well-placed lighting offers guests a place to work. All guests enjoy complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. Watch TV with premium cable including ESPN and HBO. Rooms have a sofa or chair with ottoman for extra lounging. All rooms have coffee stations.
Features

A dramatic entrance at this South Boston hotel leads to a bright and open lobby. Guests can relax in the gazebo in the outdoor courtyard, swim laps in the indoor heated pool or kick back in the Jacuzzi. An on-site fitness center helps guests stay in shape while traveling. Area restaurants deliver to the hotel, but guests can also enjoy made-to-order breakfast or the daily buffet. Unwind after a busy day with a cocktail in the lounge. Two meeting rooms, totaling 700 square feet facilitate conferences. On-site parking is free and a shuttle transports guests between the hotel and Logan Airport (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Red Line Andrew's Square (2 blocks)
  • Logan International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Complimentary on-site parking
Attractions
  • Newberry Street (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Back Bay (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Financial District (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Fenway Park (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
Business
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • 700 square feet of conference space
  • Full-service on-site business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.4 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 2 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 2.1 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.4 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 2 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 2.1 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 2.1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.1 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.2 mi
  • African Meeting House: 2.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.3 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.5 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.6 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.6 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 3.3 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 3.3 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3.4 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.9 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dira
Business
Brockton, MA
Feb 15, 2010

It was nice!

THE HOTEL WAS NICE AND CLEAN. iT WAS VERY QUIET.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quincy, MA
Feb 15, 2010

nice trip

very urban setting, which I knew. They had a pool and that is what we wanted. Sadly, our first encounter with the place was unpleasant. The young man at the desk kind of stared at us like we were aliens. There was a large bowl of hard candy at the desk to which my grandson helped himself to a few. His comment to me was "there's a limit"...meaning the candy. No hello or welcome, etc. Made me really uncomfortable, I don't like to make a scene so I ignored the comment. Also, the parking was difficult. Almost had no place to park on the first evening. Food was good but very expensive (breakfast buffet, they ran out of ketchup on the second day. Said the truck was coming tomorrow...however, there was a large shopping center right next to the place with a large grocery store...I was surprised that no one took the initiative ran across the parking lot to buy some?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

take near by subway to Boston

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Bedford, Ma.
Feb 14, 2010

Fantastic Getaway

Every thing was just great, The staff, the room & location. The room was very clean. Bed was very comfotable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
Feb 14, 2010

Great value for the price

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in this hotel over Valentines Day weekend. I was really impressed with the cleanliness of everything in the room, the bathroom in particular being in great condition and well-lit. I appreciated that you could digitally set the temperature of the room, that we had a mini-fridge and coffee maker, and there was wireless internet. The cost of our stay included the breakfast in the lobby, which was fabulous food (hot breakfast buffet with pastries and waffle maker) and saved us money. The staff was consistently helpful, whether asking for more towels or looking for a good take-out restaurant. The pool was very small - not a lap pool for sure - but was fine for relaxing, as was the hot tub. The hotel is about two blocks/less than five minutes from the red line on the T, which was awesome for getting around without needing to park downtown. We walked from the T stop at a variety of hours and it always felt safe (though not a scenic walk). It's also located next to a huge shopping plaza with some big box stores and restaurant chains, which was very convenient. My only complaint was parking - this hotel is right next to another chain hotel and parking was a very scare commodity by Friday night. We had to park about three buildings over on Saturday night and cars were parked in lots of places that weren't parking spots at all. I'd recommend leaving the car in the parking lot as much as possible and using the T or cabs to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To save time, money, and stress, choose the rate that includes breakfast in the lobby. Then walk five minutes to the Andrew stop on the T to get downtown without driving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maikeru
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 9, 2010

Great Birthday Trip

Overall, the stay was great! It was very close to the Red Line, Target, Best Buy and a nice breakfast stop. The rooms had a nice space to them. I had a blast and plan on coming back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kris K
Business
Portland, Maine
Jan 11, 2010

Could Not Have Better Service!

We booked a room to celebrate my best friend's 30th birthday in Boston. As soon as we arrived, the gentlemen at the front desk was extremily friendly and helpful. Over the course of the night the staff on in the evening were all very helpful and courteous as well. They called our cab for us, provided us with information for our night out and had a great attitude. I have stayed in a great number of hotels in my lifetime and this was by far one of the most friendly helpful staffs and an overall positive experience. The room was very nice as well. I was very pleased, thank you so much!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hogman 43
Business
Searcy, AR
Nov 30, 2009

Thanksgiving 2009

We were very happy with our stay at this hotel. The accommodations were just what we needed and the price was reasonable. The hotel was very quiet and we rested well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Andrew Square Pizza & Subs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yoshi
Business
PA
Nov 20, 2009

Marriot hotel

When I telephoned the hotel, she hang up without asking me about my permission. I had one more question about the location of the hotel, actually. I totally was upset and called again. Same person did same action. After arriving the hotel, they were nice staff but she was discussing rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheryl from MD
Business
Baltimore, MD
Oct 29, 2009

We were thrilled

If youu don't mind a 5 minute walk to the subway each day this is the perfect hotel. Cleanest rooms I have ever seen. My daughter and I spent the evening after walking all day around town at this very comfortable and very accomodating hotel. I am very particular and the only thing that would make this a 5 star hotel to me is being in the center of downtown. For the price difference, if you can walk to the subway for 5 minutes each way you can't go wrong. Thank you [...] Marriott

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway station instead of cabs and hotel shuttle to and from the airport for $5 pp each way

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mondovi, WI
Oct 27, 2009

Courtyard - South Boston

One overnight stay for a business meeting the following day. Room was fine. Staff was friendly. Very lacking in restaurants. Took longer to get to motel from Boston Logan than it did to fly from Philadelphia to Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top