$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 22, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

3 stars
63 R Boston Street, 63 R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
117 reviews
Whirlwind 24 hours

We arrived late morning with the intent that we would check in when we returned from downtown... See full review

  • City Slicker2
  • Aug 17, 2014
Nice Clean Hotel

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel The Hotel is very clean and quiet. The staff... See full review

  • SueEccy
  • Oct 12, 2014
Comfortable hotel with modern amenities just south of downtown Boston

Courtyard by Marriott South Boston sits just a few miles south of downtown Boston, offering guests large, comfortable and modern accommodations at quality prices. Guests can enjoy complimentary in-room Wi-Fi while dining on Italian-American fare from the 224 Boston St. Restaurant. Families with children can opt for the Nickelodeon Your Stay Program. Guests enjoy free, on-site parking. A shuttle operates between the hotel and the airport (fees apply). The hotel features a pool and fitness center.

Highlights
  • Located just south of downtown Boston
  • Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi
  • Free on-site parking
  • Nickelodeon Your Stay Program for kids
  • Fitness room and indoor heated pool
Rooms
All rooms feature beds with thick mattresses, luxury linens and a choice of firm or down pillows. Bathrooms feature hair dryers and shower/tub combinations and some king rooms feature a whirlpool in the bathroom. A large work station with ergonomic chair and well-placed lighting offers guests a place to work. All guests enjoy complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. Watch TV with premium cable including ESPN and HBO. Rooms have a sofa or chair with ottoman for extra lounging. All rooms have coffee stations.
Features

A dramatic entrance at this South Boston hotel leads to a bright and open lobby. Guests can relax in the gazebo in the outdoor courtyard, swim laps in the indoor heated pool or kick back in the Jacuzzi. An on-site fitness center helps guests stay in shape while traveling. Area restaurants deliver to the hotel, but guests can also enjoy made-to-order breakfast or the daily buffet. Unwind after a busy day with a cocktail in the lounge. Two meeting rooms, totaling 700 square feet facilitate conferences. On-site parking is free and a shuttle transports guests between the hotel and Logan Airport (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Red Line Andrew's Square (2 blocks)
  • Logan International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Complimentary on-site parking
Attractions
  • Newberry Street (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Back Bay (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Financial District (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Fenway Park (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
Business
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • 700 square feet of conference space
  • Full-service on-site business center

Hotel Map

42.3282 -71.0596
Area served
Downtown Boston (Quincy Market, Copley)
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport, (BOS), 6.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.4 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 2 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 2.1 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.4 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 2 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 2.1 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 2.1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.1 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.2 mi
  • African Meeting House: 2.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.3 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.5 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.6 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.6 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 3.3 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 3.3 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3.4 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.9 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Mar 29, 2010

Will never stay here again

Do not stay here unless you really have to! I booked this hotel because of the price and the close proximity to Boston. Unfortunately, the address is impossible to find on a map (google maps does not recognize it) and when I called to get another address, the woman that answered the phone was very rude. The address she gave me (7 Allstate St) was also not the address. Hopefully you know where to find it because GPS devices will be useless. When we finally checked into the hotel, the room was nice and that is where the good stuff ends. We had decided to sleep in but were woken up at 9 am by housekeeping banging on our door (there was no do not disturb sign to put out). We decided to go down to breakfast and had assumed it was free (I know, bad assumption) but there were no signs saying that there was a charge (I also checked the hotel info booklet in the room before we went down). AFTER we ate, we were told that we needed to hand in our coupons or we would be charged for breakfast. We did not have any so we were charged. Staff was very rude when I complained about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny,ny
May 25, 2009

bad location

the hotel itself was clean and new but the location was terrible it was in a really bad neighbor hood and located in mall the adress online said south boston but it really was dorchester

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patso
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 20, 2011

good location for the seaport

good location for the seaport ...cab just $10 to 15 dollars away....rooms are run down for Courtyard by Marriott ....could not even sit on the couch it was so dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yoshi
Business
PA
Nov 20, 2009

Marriot hotel

When I telephoned the hotel, she hang up without asking me about my permission. I had one more question about the location of the hotel, actually. I totally was upset and called again. Same person did same action. After arriving the hotel, they were nice staff but she was discussing rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gordon C.
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Apr 15, 2014

Weekend convention

Good stay for the weekend. The free parking was very crucial to us. Enjoyed the shuttle service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Cornville, Maine
Mar 2, 2011

nice Affordable vacation

The experience was pleasant. Was happy with breakfast hours. Service was great. Very pleased to find out the front desk would call a taxi when needed and held our bags after check out to do more site seeing. It was a good relaxing private environment for a couple getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the train everywhere. It is very cheap and practical for being in the city. Get a Charley card!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central FL
Mar 9, 2011

Overall it was fine

I was waiting for the front desk agent to take care of the person in front of me. The agent was very friendly and called him by name. But when the gentleman asked him if he might have a spare cell phone charger, the agent reached under the desk & pulled out a ball about a foot across of cell phone chargers. Not funny. Now you know why they say nobody found it when you call & ask. That experience had me looking for other short-comings, which I unfortunately did manage to find. Just stuff you don't expect from a Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AMORE MIO
Business
Cranston, RI, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Great overnight stay.

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. We had a very good experience. The only thing that i didn't like was there was an odor when you walked into our room. Almost like someone had smoked in it Otherwise, very nice and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College shopping
Business
NY
Feb 22, 2012

Okay

The location was a little difficult to find. It felt a bit unsafe to walk around the parking lots to get to the restaurants behind the hotel. Walking to the T station not far. I did not realize that , I could not gain Marriott points.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Culture Trip
Business
Ft. Myers, FL
May 24, 2012

Good 3 stars hotel but too expensive

Room is nice, clean, bathroom needs a little bit more attention to detail (wallpaper peeling off, door squeezing). Nice breakfast; attentive staff. Definitely too expensive. At 250-300$/night (mid-week to weekend) charging additional 5$ per person for airport shuttle (15 minutes) sounds cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top