$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 22, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

3 stars
63 R Boston Street, 63 R Boston Street, Boston, MA 02125
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
117 reviews
Whirlwind 24 hours

We arrived late morning with the intent that we would check in when we returned from downtown... See full review

  • City Slicker2
  • Aug 17, 2014
Nice Clean Hotel

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel The Hotel is very clean and quiet. The staff... See full review

  • SueEccy
  • Oct 12, 2014
Comfortable hotel with modern amenities just south of downtown Boston

Courtyard by Marriott South Boston sits just a few miles south of downtown Boston, offering guests large, comfortable and modern accommodations at quality prices. Guests can enjoy complimentary in-room Wi-Fi while dining on Italian-American fare from the 224 Boston St. Restaurant. Families with children can opt for the Nickelodeon Your Stay Program. Guests enjoy free, on-site parking. A shuttle operates between the hotel and the airport (fees apply). The hotel features a pool and fitness center.

Highlights
  • Located just south of downtown Boston
  • Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi
  • Free on-site parking
  • Nickelodeon Your Stay Program for kids
  • Fitness room and indoor heated pool
Rooms
All rooms feature beds with thick mattresses, luxury linens and a choice of firm or down pillows. Bathrooms feature hair dryers and shower/tub combinations and some king rooms feature a whirlpool in the bathroom. A large work station with ergonomic chair and well-placed lighting offers guests a place to work. All guests enjoy complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. Watch TV with premium cable including ESPN and HBO. Rooms have a sofa or chair with ottoman for extra lounging. All rooms have coffee stations.
Features

A dramatic entrance at this South Boston hotel leads to a bright and open lobby. Guests can relax in the gazebo in the outdoor courtyard, swim laps in the indoor heated pool or kick back in the Jacuzzi. An on-site fitness center helps guests stay in shape while traveling. Area restaurants deliver to the hotel, but guests can also enjoy made-to-order breakfast or the daily buffet. Unwind after a busy day with a cocktail in the lounge. Two meeting rooms, totaling 700 square feet facilitate conferences. On-site parking is free and a shuttle transports guests between the hotel and Logan Airport (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Nearest Subway: Red Line Andrew's Square (2 blocks)
  • Logan International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Complimentary on-site parking
Attractions
  • Newberry Street (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Back Bay (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Financial District (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Fenway Park (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
Business
  • 2 meeting rooms
  • 700 square feet of conference space
  • Full-service on-site business center

Hotel Map

42.3282 -71.0596
Area served
Downtown Boston (Quincy Market, Copley)
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport, (BOS), 6.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.4 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 2 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 2.1 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.4 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.7 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.7 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.9 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 2 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 2.1 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 2.1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.1 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.2 mi
  • African Meeting House: 2.2 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.3 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.5 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.6 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.6 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 3.3 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 3.3 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3.4 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.9 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 117
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.8

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
outacontrolsaturn
Business
colorado springs, co
Sep 29, 2014

goodish location

the hotel is located on the other side of the highway from the t station. it was not known that they would pick you up from the t station until after we lugged 75 pounds of luggage over there. the restaurant inside is also up bad hours. they were always closing... the tub was slow draining and it was like i was taking a bath instead of a shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frblblblbl
Business
Worcester
Apr 2, 2013

Close to the T, 93 and has parking.

Pros: Nicely furnished; helpful staff; good location with access to the Red Line and highway, huge shopping plaza immediately adjacent. Has Parking! Cons: Awkward to reach by car if you don't know the roads in the vicinity - but when is that not true for Boston?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're taking the T for a night out, be mindful of the last train scheduled. The "newly improved" T rates still pale in comparison with cab fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeFromColumbus
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 29, 2012

It can be considered good in general

The room is good, clean, the staff is nice and the location is very convenient. The problem is their transportation (shuttle) because they do not use it, it goes just to the airport and to a small unknown train station (for example it doesn't go to the south station), and they charge you for the shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mogoll
Business
Connecticut, USA
Jan 9, 2012

good value, but the location is hard to find

I stayed at this hotel for two days. The overall experience was good. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly. It was the cheapest one I can find which includes free parking and free wifi and is still close to downtown. There's also a shopping mall within walking distance. The only drawback is that the hotel was quite hard to find. My GPS kept recalculating and I almost lost my confidence. Otherwise I'm pretty satisfied. If I'm going to Boston again, I will definitely choose this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tufail
Business
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Jan 9, 2012

An average experience

Availability of a printer was helpful. An LCD tv was nice. Most services were paid though - including breakfast and airport shuttle. The overall service is what should be expected at the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leeyah
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 26, 2011

A comfortable place to stay

I was here for 5 days and i felt quite at home. I didn't rent a car and using the train was my mode of transportation. The station is about a 7 minute walk but the front desk will give you directions if you don't want to utilize their courtesy shuttle. If you forget something, there is a Target, Best Buy and other stores in walking distance in the shopping plaza behind the hotel. The front desk staff was very polite and made my stay extremely pleasant. i most likely will use this hotel again when i visit boston again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GlobeTrotterNYC
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Fine for quick one night stopover

Not the easiest place to find nor the most convenient location but this hotel is fine for a one night stopover. Probably a little overpriced for what it is but my stay was hassle free. Lobby was a little chaotic when a tour bus unloaded 50 guests at the same time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chagrin Falls Ohio
Mar 30, 2011

Southie

Visit daughter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 20, 2011

Good Hotel for the price

Only in Boston for a short time. A good hotel for the money. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to South Station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Boston-South Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
laa1147
Business
Louisville, KY
Mar 3, 2011

About what I expected...

I was only in town for one night and needed a place to get some work done in preparation for the next day and get a good night's sleep. The room was fine, nothing exceptional in a good or bad way. The bed was comfortable and the space was fairly clean (minus the desk chair...I don't want to know who was on there before me and what they did). The hotel's not in a great neighborhood. Target, Applebee's, Olive Garden, Panera, etc. are within walking distance, but I wouldn't walk alone after dark. Two things do stand out to me. First, I could hear everything that happened outside my door. As I tried to fall asleep I noticed a lot of movement and conversations in the hallway. Second, I tried to use the hotel's remote printing system and after following the in-room instructions and going to the lobby to retrieve my print job unsuccessfully, I was told it regularly doesn't work. If they have problems that often they should fix the system or replace it and the in-room instructions for how to print.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top