$141 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Copley Square Hotel

4 stars
47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
66 reviews
holiday weekend stay

I stayed at The Copley Square Hotel for two nights over Thanksgiving. The staff was friendly and... See full review

  • David D from NY
  • Nov 30, 2014
Great hotel, amazing location

The best part about this hotel is definitely the location, in one of the most beautiful sections of... See full review

  • Academic in Wait
  • Aug 30, 2014
Newly renovated hotel on Boston’s beautiful and historic Copley Square

Having recently undergone an $18 million renovation, the Copley Square Hotel offers guests a unique blend of chic, modern design with a keen sense of history. The hotel is situated close to many of Boston's historical and cultural attractions. Dining, shopping, nightlife, and entertainment options are within convenient access. Guests will enjoy state-of-the-art facilities and amenities. These include a fully equipped fitness center with the latest equipment; multiple on-site dining and drinking options; complimentary wireless Internet throughout the hotel; and world-class service. The Copley Square Hotel provides its guests with the best in accommodations and service at a landmark Boston address.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Conveniently set in Boston's fashionable Back Bay neighborhood; close to Fenway Park, Boston Common, and other major attractions

  • XHALE offers local cuisine; multiple bar/lounge options include Storyville and Minibar - an upscale martini bar

  • Fitness center with full range of cardio and strength training equipment; complimentary wireless Internet access throughout hotel

The Copley Square Hotel Rooms

The Copley Square Hotel features 143 recently renovated guestrooms and suites. Units range in size from just over 200 square feet to approximately 540 square feet. Most guestrooms feature excellent views of Exeter Street or Huntington Avenue; all rooms are decorated in a relaxing color palette that includes cream, taupe, chocolate, and heather gray. All guestrooms and suites feature an LCD television; an MP3 player; a duel-line direct dial telephone with voicemail; complimentary wireless Internet access; and en suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. Room service and in-room spa services are available (fees apply). The Copley Square Hotel is 100% smoke-free in its accommodations and public spaces. It is a pet-friendly hotel (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • Boston Public Garden (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fenway Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

  • Boston Common (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

  • Faneuil Hall (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

  • Boston Children's Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)

  • New England Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)

  • Boston Convention and Exhibition Center (1.7/2.7 km)

  • Paul Revere House (1.8 mi/2.9 km)

  • Franklin Park Zoo (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copley Square Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Copley Square Hotel Rooms

Premier Double Double
Wine Down Hour and free Wifi included.
Boutique Queen
Wine Down Hour and free Wifi included.
Copley Square Suite
Suites provide urban views down Huntington Avenue. within approximately 500 total square feet.
Premier King
Premier King-Wine Down Hour/free Wifi included
Premier Family Suite
Family Suites feature 2 king bedrooms, 1 bathroom within approximately 540 total square ft.
Deluxe King
Wine Down Hour Free Wifi included
Premier EDGE King
An amazing 250 degree view down both Huntington Ave and Exeter St with approx. 340 square ft.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Night club
Jogging track
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.4 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.3 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.4 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.3 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.4 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.5 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.5 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.6 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.7 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.7 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.1 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.1 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.3 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.3 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.5 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.2 mi

Dining

XHALE
Type-Restaurant Cuisine- American Continental Hours of Operation: Breakfast 0600 to 1030 Monday-Friday 0700-1200 Saturday-Sunday Dinner 1730 to 2300 Daily Dress Code- Casual
minibar
Type- Full Service Lounge Cuisine- Light Appetizers Hours of Operation- 1700 to 2300 Dress Code- Smart Casual
In-Room Dining
Type-Room Service Cuisine- American Continental Hours of Operation: All-Day Dining 0600 to 2359 Daily Dress Code- Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Copley Square Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
greensboro, nc
Nov 19, 2009

Bad -they charged me an extra $50 !!!! B

they charged me an extra $50 because I wanted two beds!!!!!! this was at CHECKIN!!! [...]This is a 30% increase to my hotel stay. This was wrong!!! I've been traveling for almost 30 years and this has never happened. I will NEVER STAY at this hotel again. I also told the staff and they said we had a premium room... if it was a king bed it would not have cost us the extra money.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
How Many Stars?!?! Really?, No REALLY!!
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 27, 2010

Terrible Management

The worst experience I have ever had with a hotel. I arrived after midnight due to a flight delay, I had called 7 hours before to let them know and they confirmed my room would be available. It wasnt, they then gave me a short note stating they didn't have a room available, they'd rented it, and referred me to a flea bag hotel 10 miles away. When I arrived ($15.00 cab ride later) I was locked out - the "hotel" was closed, they sent me knowingly to aplace where I was standing on the street with my luggage, no sleep after a long flight, at 1:30 a.m. I called the Copley Square Hotel who then called the flea bag hotel and woke up the night manager. Then I tried to check in, they had no account for the Copley so I had to call again, finally at 2:00 in the morning I got into a room in a hotel that was a Youth Hostel in Europe (on a good day). Unforgiveable. They then tried to make it up to me the next day by giving me a corner room and three petit fours, woopdidoo. Save it, I had to attend an all day conference an present the next day a 8:00 am, the only reason for my three day stay, after the night they put me through. Hapless staff, terrrible place, don't trust them[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Markana
Business
New York City, N.Y.
Jun 23, 2014

Rockin' in Copley Square

I've been traveling half a century. Never before was I forced to wait two hours when my room was available, my credit card was good, my confirmation was accurate, I was ready to check in. BUT there was a problem with the booking organization's credit card (Hunh?). We went to lunch, got refused again by a junior desk clerk, and had to get someone senior to intervene and let us go to our room. Everything was fine until 2:20 a.m. when we were awakened by the pounding throb of rock music from the club domiciled in the hotel. This is a hotel for night owls. If you like to sleep at night, look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rjslatt
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 2, 2013

Noisy Nightclub in Basement Not Condusive For Sleeping

We stayed at the Copley Square Hotel for one night. The room was decorated nicely but the bathroom was tiny. It was the smallest bathroom I had ever seen in a hotel. That includes Paris. We booked a king room so they have rooms that are smaller. I can't imagine how cramped those rooms are. There's a nightclub in the basement that blares music and closes about 2 AM. If your room is above the nightclub, as ours was, sleeping between two and three AM isn't an option. If you do decide to stay there ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. Away from the nightclub and away from the grocery store loading docks across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UWSgal
Business
NY, NY
Aug 22, 2013

great location

Staff were very nice and willing to go out of their way to assist. Room was ok. Bathroom in dire need of counter space . Considering it's an old hotel that was revamped, they did a pretty good job. The bar attached to the hotel is geared towards 20's with dj, so it is not a place for a quiet drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim Lang
Business
Middletown, Ohio
Oct 26, 2013

Great service dubious value

I was in Boston alone on a business trip. The Copley is small but well situated to restaurants, schools and entertainment. Its desk and service staff made me feel appreciated and welcome. They are spectacular. The hotel decoration was a bit jumbled. Modern and trendy in the main lobby, with a nice complimentary wine service in the late afternoon, but elegant and Victorian in the floor lobbies and hallways. Not a comfort issue, just notable. I was not impressed with the room or its amenities. It was tiny. I am 6 feet tall and I could lay on the floor and almost touch opposite sides of the room with my toes and fingertips. It was a single queen room. Had I been with my spouse we would have been relegated to sit on the bed or the rolling office chair. It would have been insufficient for two, never mind the two kids. There was one towel rack in the bathroom. No hanging points in the shower stall and no door or wall hooks anywhere. There were ample hangers in the closet though. I would note that the tap water was great if you could locate the hidden glasses. Hint: other side of the bed on the lower shelf of the nightstand. To be clear, the room was tiny, but immaculate. Sadly, it was also lacking the most important feature of a room meant to be used for sleeping- a comfortable bed. That may be too harsh. The bed was not UNcomfortable, but it was no heavenly bed. The mattress was hard and didn't have a discernible pillow top. It was a most unsatisfying hotel bed. There are far better beds in other facilities. Finally, the toilet paper. I understand that plumbing may be an issue, but if it is, fix it! For the Boston rates, without a pillow top bed, or room to spread out, is it too much to ask for some quilted two ply toilet tissue? If asked, I would recommend this hotel in a list of possibles, but I would probably stay somewhere else on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
des f
Business
North London
Mar 25, 2014

Couples break

Very good location .Breakfast was limited at the hotel and would recommend going to prudential centre.We stayed in the queen boutique room which did the job but very small.Bathroom needs updating as plumbing was awful no water pressure and plug didn't close properly on bath but just minor complaints as overall the location made up for it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Atlantic fish restaurant .A bit pricy but worth it great tuna

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missouri Tightwad
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 16, 2014

It was okay.

The room was very small and the hotel is very dated. I've stayed in renovated older hotels before that were better. There was no coffee maker in the room. They did have a wine session in the late afternoon that I thought was nice and the staff was very accommodating, especially the front line representatives. The restaurant is over-priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would recommend not using the Beantown Trolley. While we waited for it to come by, four trolleys from the competitor, Old Town Trolley, came by. One of the drivers for Beantown complained that we were using the trolley like a cab. They should not advertise it as hop-on hop-off if they don't expect it to be used as such.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen W
Business
Cheshire, England
Jul 19, 2012

Great Customer Service

The welcome at the Copley Square was warm and welcoming and they helped me book some great trips, the Trolley Tours, a Duck Tour, the New England Aquarium and Whale Watching. The room was really clean and comfortable and dining in the restaurant and through room service was good. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, particularly if you want some guidance on what to do while you're in Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jennalee006
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 13, 2012

Long Weekend Trip

The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. This was our first time in Boston, and they provided maps along with walking routes to make it easier to get around the city. The location was pretty central between Fenway Park and some of the more historical sites, so it was really easy to get around. Very close to lots of restaurants and shopping. The rooms are smaller, but very comfortable and provide enough space. The hotel was beautiful and very modern. I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top