$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 18, 2015

Copley Square Hotel

4 stars
View map of 47 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02116

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
73 reviews
Great Getaway

Very clean and overall lovely experience! Would go back and stay here again, for sure! See full review

  • Busy Rambling Man
  • Jun 25, 2015
Perfect hotel!

Our visit to the Copley Square Hotel was perfect! The staff was SO friendly and super helpful. The... See full review

  • Stephanie D.
  • Apr 17, 2015

Since opening its doors in 1891, the Copley Square Hotel in Boston has offered upscale lodging that embodies true New England hospitality. Original extrusions of Greek columns around windows, and decorative arches above the entrance still stand. With a rich heritage and AAA 4-Diamond rating, this hotel lives up to some of the highest expectations in the lodging industry. Being pet-friendly, the Copley Square Hotel in Boston even offers its world-class accommodations for your pets.

Rooms

The Copley Square Hotel features 143 recently renovated guestrooms and suites. Units range in size from just over 200 square feet to approximately 540 square feet. Most guestrooms feature excellent views of Exeter Street or Huntington Avenue; all rooms are decorated in a relaxing color palette that includes cream, taupe, chocolate, and heather gray. All guestrooms and suites feature an LCD television; an MP3 player; a duel-line direct dial telephone with voicemail; complimentary wireless Internet access; and en suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. Room service and in-room spa services are available (fees apply). The Copley Square Hotel is 100% smoke-free in its accommodations and public spaces. It is a pet-friendly hotel (fees apply).

Highlights

Located in the heart of the historic Back Bay neighborhood of Boston, the Copley Square Hotel in Boston is only a few blocks away from the Boston Common, and the Skywalk Observatory at the Prudential Tower. You can also make arrangements for shuttle service that will drop you off in the North End and Financial District of downtown Boston. At XHALE, you can reserve a table and eat American cuisine for breakfast or dinner. If you want to enjoy some drinks in a hip lounge, just exit the hotel and walk across the street to Storyville. Once known as a speakeasy hotspot that attracted the likes of Louis Armstrong, this former Jazz club has been transformed into a modern venue where you can sip cocktails and socialize with friends. Offering appetizers and Cognac, the hotel's minibar will also satisfy your thirst for fine liquor.

Nearby attractions
  • Boston Public Garden (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fenway Park (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

  • Boston Common (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

  • Faneuil Hall (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

  • Boston Children's Museum (1.5 mi/2.4 km)

  • New England Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)

  • Boston Convention and Exhibition Center (1.7/2.7 km)

  • Paul Revere House (1.8 mi/2.9 km)

  • Franklin Park Zoo (2.8 mi/4.5 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copley Square Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Copley Square Hotel Rooms

Premier Double Double
Wine Down Hour and free Wifi included.
Boutique Queen
Wine Down Hour and free Wifi included.
Copley Square Suite
Suites provide urban views down Huntington Avenue. within approximately 500 total square feet.
Premier King
Premier King-Wine Down Hour/free Wifi included
Premier Family Suite
Family Suites feature 2 king bedrooms, 1 bathroom within approximately 540 total square ft.
Deluxe King
Wine Down Hour Free Wifi included
Premier EDGE King
An amazing 250 degree view down both Huntington Ave and Exeter St with approx. 340 square ft.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Night club
Jogging track
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.4 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.3 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.4 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.8 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.3 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.4 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.4 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.5 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.5 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.6 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.7 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.7 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.1 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.1 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.3 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.3 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.5 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.2 mi

Dining

XHALE
Type-Restaurant Cuisine- American Continental Hours of Operation: Breakfast 0600 to 1030 Monday-Friday 0700-1200 Saturday-Sunday Dinner 1730 to 2300 Daily Dress Code- Casual
minibar
Type- Full Service Lounge Cuisine- Light Appetizers Hours of Operation- 1700 to 2300 Dress Code- Smart Casual
In-Room Dining
Type-Room Service Cuisine- American Continental Hours of Operation: All-Day Dining 0600 to 2359 Daily Dress Code- Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Copley Square Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
greensboro, nc
Nov 19, 2009

Bad -they charged me an extra $50 !!!! B

they charged me an extra $50 because I wanted two beds!!!!!! this was at CHECKIN!!! [...]This is a 30% increase to my hotel stay. This was wrong!!! I've been traveling for almost 30 years and this has never happened. I will NEVER STAY at this hotel again. I also told the staff and they said we had a premium room... if it was a king bed it would not have cost us the extra money.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
How Many Stars?!?! Really?, No REALLY!!
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 27, 2010

Terrible Management

The worst experience I have ever had with a hotel. I arrived after midnight due to a flight delay, I had called 7 hours before to let them know and they confirmed my room would be available. It wasnt, they then gave me a short note stating they didn't have a room available, they'd rented it, and referred me to a flea bag hotel 10 miles away. When I arrived ($15.00 cab ride later) I was locked out - the "hotel" was closed, they sent me knowingly to aplace where I was standing on the street with my luggage, no sleep after a long flight, at 1:30 a.m. I called the Copley Square Hotel who then called the flea bag hotel and woke up the night manager. Then I tried to check in, they had no account for the Copley so I had to call again, finally at 2:00 in the morning I got into a room in a hotel that was a Youth Hostel in Europe (on a good day). Unforgiveable. They then tried to make it up to me the next day by giving me a corner room and three petit fours, woopdidoo. Save it, I had to attend an all day conference an present the next day a 8:00 am, the only reason for my three day stay, after the night they put me through. Hapless staff, terrrible place, don't trust them[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Markana
Business
New York City, N.Y.
Jun 23, 2014

Rockin' in Copley Square

I've been traveling half a century. Never before was I forced to wait two hours when my room was available, my credit card was good, my confirmation was accurate, I was ready to check in. BUT there was a problem with the booking organization's credit card (Hunh?). We went to lunch, got refused again by a junior desk clerk, and had to get someone senior to intervene and let us go to our room. Everything was fine until 2:20 a.m. when we were awakened by the pounding throb of rock music from the club domiciled in the hotel. This is a hotel for night owls. If you like to sleep at night, look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sunny0130 NE
Business
Maynard
Jan 15, 2015

New Year's Stay

We were in town for New Years. Watched the fireworks and had a late dinner. We came back to our room ready to call it a night. Our room was on the second floor right above the bar downstairs so we were unable to sleep until the bar music was shut off. We asked if there was another room to stay in. Since it was new years the hotel was understandably 100 booked. We were instructed to just wait it out. Truthfully, the hotel is nice, but I wouldn't recommend staying on the second floor, unless you plan on staying up or out until 3. Since there is nothing anyone can do about the rooms above the bar the hotel should be upfront about the noise. You should be offered earplugs or free drinks in accommodation. The bed was comfortable, but the bathroom is freezing. Definitely bring slippers and if you plan on showering let the hot water run for a few minutes to warm everything up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If you love staying out late, this location is perfect for you.

Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
des f
Business
North London
Mar 25, 2014

Couples break

Very good location .Breakfast was limited at the hotel and would recommend going to prudential centre.We stayed in the queen boutique room which did the job but very small.Bathroom needs updating as plumbing was awful no water pressure and plug didn't close properly on bath but just minor complaints as overall the location made up for it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Atlantic fish restaurant .A bit pricy but worth it great tuna

Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rjslatt
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 2, 2013

Noisy Nightclub in Basement Not Condusive For Sleeping

We stayed at the Copley Square Hotel for one night. The room was decorated nicely but the bathroom was tiny. It was the smallest bathroom I had ever seen in a hotel. That includes Paris. We booked a king room so they have rooms that are smaller. I can't imagine how cramped those rooms are. There's a nightclub in the basement that blares music and closes about 2 AM. If your room is above the nightclub, as ours was, sleeping between two and three AM isn't an option. If you do decide to stay there ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. Away from the nightclub and away from the grocery store loading docks across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UWSgal
Business
NY, NY
Aug 22, 2013

great location

Staff were very nice and willing to go out of their way to assist. Room was ok. Bathroom in dire need of counter space . Considering it's an old hotel that was revamped, they did a pretty good job. The bar attached to the hotel is geared towards 20's with dj, so it is not a place for a quiet drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim Lang
Business
Middletown, Ohio
Oct 26, 2013

Great service dubious value

I was in Boston alone on a business trip. The Copley is small but well situated to restaurants, schools and entertainment. Its desk and service staff made me feel appreciated and welcome. They are spectacular. The hotel decoration was a bit jumbled. Modern and trendy in the main lobby, with a nice complimentary wine service in the late afternoon, but elegant and Victorian in the floor lobbies and hallways. Not a comfort issue, just notable. I was not impressed with the room or its amenities. It was tiny. I am 6 feet tall and I could lay on the floor and almost touch opposite sides of the room with my toes and fingertips. It was a single queen room. Had I been with my spouse we would have been relegated to sit on the bed or the rolling office chair. It would have been insufficient for two, never mind the two kids. There was one towel rack in the bathroom. No hanging points in the shower stall and no door or wall hooks anywhere. There were ample hangers in the closet though. I would note that the tap water was great if you could locate the hidden glasses. Hint: other side of the bed on the lower shelf of the nightstand. To be clear, the room was tiny, but immaculate. Sadly, it was also lacking the most important feature of a room meant to be used for sleeping- a comfortable bed. That may be too harsh. The bed was not UNcomfortable, but it was no heavenly bed. The mattress was hard and didn't have a discernible pillow top. It was a most unsatisfying hotel bed. There are far better beds in other facilities. Finally, the toilet paper. I understand that plumbing may be an issue, but if it is, fix it! For the Boston rates, without a pillow top bed, or room to spread out, is it too much to ask for some quilted two ply toilet tissue? If asked, I would recommend this hotel in a list of possibles, but I would probably stay somewhere else on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missouri Tightwad
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 16, 2014

It was okay.

The room was very small and the hotel is very dated. I've stayed in renovated older hotels before that were better. There was no coffee maker in the room. They did have a wine session in the late afternoon that I thought was nice and the staff was very accommodating, especially the front line representatives. The restaurant is over-priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would recommend not using the Beantown Trolley. While we waited for it to come by, four trolleys from the competitor, Old Town Trolley, came by. One of the drivers for Beantown complained that we were using the trolley like a cab. They should not advertise it as hop-on hop-off if they don't expect it to be used as such.

Review of Copley Square Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big JP
Business
Potomac, Md.
May 6, 2014

Great weekend

Excellent staff; all were so helpful, particularly valet park person, Fedal. Location is very convenient for many sites. We would definitely return to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top