$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay

4 stars
View map of 120 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02116

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
106 reviews
A+

Probably the best hotel experience I've ever had. Friendly staff, beautiful view, and a central... See full review

  • A Very Happy Camper
  • Feb 19, 2015
Family Trip

Good stay. I went with my mom and dad and we had a good time. Very close by Fenway park. See full review

  • MooOner
  • Feb 13, 2015
Modern and hip Back Bay boutique hotel near Boston attractions

Following a top-to-bottom $25 million makeover, the Colonnade sparkles with sleek design and pulsates with a hip vibe. The hotel's prime Back Bay location creates a sublime setting for any business or leisure traveler as it sits across from Hynes Convention Center and steps from shopping at Copley Place and Newberry Street. Sun-goers and foodies alike flock to Boston's only rooftop pool and the chic French bistro Brasserie Jo.

Highlights
  • Prime Back Bay location with recent $25 million dollar renovation
  • Boston's only hotel rooftop pool
  • Authentic French cuisine at Brasserie Jo
  • VIPet Program, including dog walking (fees apply), fluffy beds and treats
  • Complimentary hotel-wide Wi-Fi access
Rooms

Sleek, modern and chic with blond wood, chocolate accents and floor-to-ceiling windows that actually open, Colonnade's 285 rooms provide exceptional comfort. Each room features plush Sealy pillow-top mattresses with deluxe bedding, 37-inch flat-panel TV, free Wi-Fi access, Keurig gourmet coffee maker and Sharper Image Sound Soother alarm clock with iPod dock. In lieu of a traditional desk, rooms feature a dining-style table. Bathrooms comprise marble vanities, rain showers and Gilchrist and Soames bath products. And don't forget the rubber duck, a Colonnade trademark.

At least one adult 21 years or older must be registered at each room.

Features

Centrally located in the Back Bay, the modern and exquisitely decorated Colonnade truly welcomes the most discerning travelers. The sleek lobby acts as a welcome respite from the bustling city with warm hues and pleasant energy. Brasserie Jo, a contemporary French bistro from acclaimed chef Jean Joho, dismisses the stodgy hotel restaurant reputation, while the Roof Top Pool hops both day and night (in season). Guests can work up a sweat in the 1,000 square-foot, state-of-the-art fitness center with expansive views of Boston's South End. Feel free to bring your pets--the hotel has one of the most welcoming pet policies around.

Transportation
  • Hynes Convention Center (across street)
  • Nearest Subway: Green Line Prudential Center stop (across street)
  • Logan International Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Attractions
  • Newberry Street (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Boston Common (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Chinatown (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Harvard Square (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms
  • 13,000 square feet of functional meeting space
  • 24-hour full-service business center
Policies and fees
  • Parking is available at $42.00 per night.
  • At least one adult 21 years or older must be registered at each room.
  • The roof top pool is open to hotel guests on Saturdays and Sundays, 8 AM to 10 PM, and to the public from 5 PM to 10 PM. On Mondays to Fridays, the roof top pool is open from 8 AM to 5 PM ($40 USD per person).
  • The pool may be closed to the public and to hotel guests when rented for private use. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay Rooms

Superior Room
Our Superior rooms have either King or 2 Double beds and are approximately 350 SQF, and feature floor-to-ceiling windows that open. The residential view affords a glimpse of Bostons historic South End. Contemporary furnishings with warm earth tones, exemplify a sophisticated, residential design. For a great nights sleep , each room offers plush pillow top mattresses, luxurious down comforters and linens. In addition, 37 LCD High Definition TV's, DVD players, I-Pod and mp3 player alarm clocks, 100% true digital HD ETVi programming, in-room safe, 2 line cordless and hands free telephones, available high speed wired and wireless internet access, are available in every guestroom. Also, Thymes eucalyptus bath products, plush bathrobes, full-size hair dryers and shaving mirrors, Keurig gourmet coffee & tea brewers and mini-bar are some of the exceptional amenities we provide for your comfort.
Preferred Rooms
Our Preferred rooms have either King or 2 Double beds and are beautiful and spacious, with 350 SQF and floor-to-ceiling windows that open. The views afford a glimpse of Bostons historic South End Brownstones, or a city view along Huntington Avenue. Contemporary furnishings with warm earth tones, exemplify a sophisticated, residential design. For a great nights sleep , each room offers plush pillow top mattresses, luxurious down comforters and linens. In addition, 37 LCD High Definition TV's, DVD players, I-Pod and mp3 player alarm clocks, 100% true digital HD ETVi programming, in-room safe, 2 line cordless and hands free telephones, available high speed wired and wireless internet access, are available in every guestroom. Also, Thymes eucalyptus bath products, plush bathrobes, full-size hair dryers and shaving mirrors, Keurig gourmet coffee & tea brewers and mini-bar are some of the exceptional amenities we provide for your comfort.
Luxe Rooms
Most Luxe rooms are located on higher floors, with 350 SQF and floor-to-ceiling windows that open. The views furnish beautiful sites of Bostons historic South End or overlook Huntington Avenue. Contemporary furnishings with warm earth tones, exemplify a sophisticated, residential design. A plush pillow top mattress, especially designed for The Colonnade Hotel, supported by luxurious down comforters and linens ,invites you to a great nights sleep. In addition, 37 LCD High Definition TV's, DVD players, I-Pod and mp3 player alarm clocks, 100% true digital HD ETVi programming, in-room safe, 2 line cordless and hands free telephones, available high speed wired and wireless internet access, are available in every guestroom. Also, Thymes eucalyptus bath products, plush bathrobes, full-size hair dryers and shaving mirrors, Keurig gourmet coffee & tea brewers and mini-bar are some of the exceptional amenities we provide for your comfort.
Premier Luxe Rooms
Premier Luxe rooms have either King or 2 Double beds and are located on higher floors, with 370 SQF and floor-to-ceiling windows that open. A beautiful and unobstructed view of Bostons Skyline is another amenity these rooms provide. Contemporary furnishings, with warm earth tones, exemplify a sophisticated, residential design. A plush pillow top mattress, especially designed for The Colonnade Hotel, supported by luxurious down comforters and linens, invites you to a great nights sleep. In addition, 37 LCD High Definition TV's, DVD players, I-Pod and mp3 player alarm clocks, 100% true digital HD ETVi programming, in-room safe, 2 line cordless and hands free telephones, available high speed wired and wireless internet access, are available in every guestroom. Also, Thymes eucalyptus bath products, plush bathrobes, full-size hair dryers and shaving mirrors, Keurig gourmet coffee & tea brewers and mini-bar are some of the exceptional amenities we provide for your comfort.
Parlor Suites
Our Parlor Suites have either King or 2 Double beds and are approximately 700 SQF with a separate living room and dining area that provides privacy for entertaining or business meetings along with a separate full size bathroom. Contemporary furnishings with warm earth tones add to the Boston sophisticated residential feel. With floor to ceiling windows that open, each living area features expansive city views. The bedroom offers a king size bed with plush pillow top mattress, luxurious down comforters and linens while each room features 37" LCD High Definition TV's, DVD players, i-Pod and mp3 player alarm clocks, 100% true digital HD ETVi programming, in-room safe, mini-bar, plush robes, 2 line cordless and hands free telephones, available high speed wired and wireless internet access, Thymes eucalyptus bath products, Keurig gourmet coffee & tea makers, full size hair dryers and shaving mirrors. This parlor area has a full size sofa bed.
Luxury Suites
Chic Luxury Suites with either King or 2 Double beds featuring expansive floor to ceiling views of Boston. 9 Here you'll discover a master bedroom with king size bed, an inviting separate living and dining area with media system including a 42 HDTV and DVD along with a wet bar. Contemporary furnishings with bold colors exemplify a sophisticated residential design. The bedroom offers plush pillow top mattresses and luxurious down comforters and linens along with a 37" LCD HDTV and DVD player while each room features floor to ceiling windows that open, i-Pod and mp3 player alarm clocks, 100% true digital HD ETVi programming, in-room safe, mini-bar, plush robes, 2 line cordless and hands free telephones, available high speed wired and wireless internet access, Thymes eucalyptus bath products, Keurig gourmet coffee & tea maker, full size hair dryers and shaving mirrors. This parlor area has a full size sofa bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.4 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 1 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.2 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.3 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.5 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.1 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.4 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 1 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.2 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.3 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.5 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.6 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.6 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.7 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.7 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.8 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.9 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Old North Church: 2 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.4 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.4 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.6 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Featurning 13,000 square feet of function space, from our Executive Board Room to our new Grand Ballroom, accommodating up to 700 people.

Dining

Brasserie Jo
The Colonnade Hotel is home to Boston's most authentic brasserie, Brasserie Jo. Under the culinary direction of world-renowned Chef Jean Joho, owner of the acclaimed Everest and Brasserie Jo restaurants in Chicago and the Eiffel Tower Restaurant in Las Vegas, Brasserie Jo has the style and cuisine of classic brasseries throughout France. Chef Joho's menu offers a variety of light snacks and full meals, with highlights including Uncle Hansi's Onion Tast, Hanger Steak, Pomme Frites, Coq au Vin, Croque Monsieur, and classic desserts like Profiteroles covered in Homemade Chocolate Sauce and Creme Brulee. Along with its extensive wine and beer lists, Brasserie Jo pulls in an eclectic crowd of Bostonians at cocktail time with an extensive selection of martinis and the restauarant's signature beer, Hopla, an authentic Alsace-style draft beer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matteo 2
Business
Boston
Jun 17, 2013

Weekend

Great Stay, allowed for early check-in. The hotel was clean and meet our expectations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OliviaAJ
Business
New Jersey
Jun 12, 2013

Disappointed; did not meet expectations; would not recommend

This was a sub-par hotel experience for me. I don't usually expect too much but this hotel did not meet my expectations. The bathroom was not fully stocked on check-in (no shower gel, conditioner, shower cap, etc.). We only received these items after our room was made up the next morning. Every time a door closed out in the hall, our door shook back and forth... very irritating, especially when trying to sleep! The morning that we were checking out, there was a power outage in the Back Bay. I understand of course that this was not the hotel's fault, but it didn't help my experience that I had to take an ice cold shower in the dark before checking out. I was disappointed to learn at checkout that hotel parking was $42/night (no one told us this when we checked in). The one positive thing I can say is that after I complained, the parking fee was waived due to the inconvenience of the power outage. The only thing I liked about this hotel was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonJulie99
Business
Rhode Island
Jun 10, 2013

Great Stay

Very clean and nicely decorated room. Room was ready at 3PM for check-in. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thundering
Business
Hangzhou, China
May 22, 2013

Nice hotel

Overall it was a nice stay at the hotel. The room is clean and comfortable. Compared with the rates at other similar hotels closeby, that I got is good enough. But maybe because of it, our room is smaller. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beano Boston
Business
Detroit, MI
May 21, 2013

Colonnade Best Parking lot

If you need a car in Boston, I highly recommend this hotel. Parking is $42 which sounds high but is about right in town. The highlight is the easy in-and out, it was like having our own apartment with a garage in the heart of the Back Bay. I travel constantly. the Colonnade is very good in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kirstenpetra
Business
Austin, TX
May 20, 2013

Location Gem, Service Needs a Little Bit More

I have stayed at the colonnade once before - and on that first stay realized that its a hidden gem ... Lovely rooms that are modern and renovated ... A super cute rooftop pool area ... And twenty feet from a T Stop and the Pru. If you can't find a room at the Sheraton or Westin, this is your next must stay. On This visit I just had one pretty lame staff experiences ... We stored luggage as our room wasn't ready ... When we came back after dinner - say 10:30pm, there was no bellman to be found. I went searching and found home smoking and talking on his phone about three doors down ... After waving my luggage ticket he cut his convo short and helped us ... But suffice it to say he didn't get a tip. That's likely a little laxness on mgmt, but overall - still one of the best values in the Copley/Pru areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Yellow
Business
Boston
May 20, 2013

weekend in the city

Enjoyed a slowpaced weekend in the heart of the city. Excellent location for shoppping and dining. Very quiet, comfortable room. Pricing is a bit high, and the pay for parking was unexpected. With enough advanced planning (saving up) I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dagger
Business
Connecticut
Feb 27, 2013

nice hotel, good location

Biggest gripe I had was the $42/night parking rate and was not discounted for hotel guests. Hotel itself was comfortable and the staff very accommodating. It's not the easiest hotel to drive to from Logan airport if you're not familiar with the city (hope your gps is working!) but once you get there it's a convenient location with a T station nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad of student visiting
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 18, 2013

Practical, not shabby

I needed a hotel that gives two beds for one person price. Colonade was the only place that gives you that. Room, bedding and bath room were clean and satisfactory. Only thing that concerned me was the strength of suction power of the toilet. It did its job when I was there but I can see that its weakness might cause discomfort and inconvenience. I noted some other guests complained about it, too. The proximity to Green Line T and Pru Center is hugely attractive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Colonnade Boston Copley Square Back Bay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
acarr
Business
New Jersey
Jan 3, 2013

weekend getaway

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Colonnade for a weekend getaway in November and had a great stay. The location is great, the hotel is clean and the staff was very friendly. We also enjoyed drinks at the bar. We would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top