$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Boston Marriott Long Wharf

4 stars
296 State, Street, Boston, MA 02109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
75 reviews
Lovely Short Stay

We've been wanting to stay at the Marriott Long Wharf for years but had never gotten around to it.... See full review

  • Lindahh
  • May 26, 2014
Love this place!!!!!

Excellent hotel with always fabulous service. Everyone is always so helpful. The location is... See full review

  • Sicca
  • Mar 24, 2014
Though only built in 1982, Boston Marriott Long Wharf hotel sits within an integral part of Boston's history and the 17th century focal point of Boston's sea trade. Emulating the warehouse-feel of the old city, the diamond structure is matched inside with the geometric lighting and wall design of the Waterline Dining Room. Admire the interiors as you sample some traditional New England seafood platters, or drop by the neighboring bar for a Long Island Iced Tea. During the warmer months, make the most of the pool area, which opens to a sunny terrace with a great view of the harbor.
Key facts
  • 15 suites
  • 397 guestrooms
  • 17 conference/event spaces
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Gym
  • Restaurants: Waterline
  • Lounge and bar
  • Virtual concierge service
  • ATM and foreign exchange
Neighborhood
The Boston Marriott Long Wharf is right at the nucleus of downtown Boston, beside both historic sites and modern marvels, from the Bunker Hill Monument to the New England Aquarium on the adjacent pier. If you are traveling to Boston on business, the financial district is a brief walk from the hotel. Guests can enjoy Christopher Columbus Waterfront Park next door, or browse the peddlers' wares and street food carts at 250-year-old Quincy Market, just five minutes away.
Hints and tips
North End is a favorite local spot for a casual bite so if a long day's networking is nearly over, head to eateries like aptly-named Neptune Oyster.

More adventurous diners should check out the ever-popular Giacomo's, easily spotted by the long line of customers by the door.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Boston Marriott Long Wharf also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.3 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.7 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.9 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.9 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.3 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.7 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.9 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.9 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.1 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.6 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 2.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.5 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3.5 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 5.7 mi

Dining

Waterline
Serving classic New England fare, menus include small plates for sharing, sandwiches, salads and large plates for hearty appetites, all prepared with fresh, locally-sourced ingredients. An extensive drink menu features fine wines and creative cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.7

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vrbdiver
Business
Vero Beach, FL
Jul 17, 2009

Weekend family getway

After an afternoon of walking along the waterfront shops we decided to dine at the hotel restaurant. Our friendly waitress came and took the drink and food order and then proceeded to wait over 90 minutes for burgers and mac-n-cheese. Anyone dining with two small children knows that this is no simple feat. When our food arrived it was cold and dried out as if it was sitting under a heat lamp for the last hour. This was not an isolated incident, our entire dining area was experiencing the same wait. The waitress was very apologetic as she explained there was only one kitchen for the dining room, lounge and the entire hotel room service. Overall this is a great hotel in a excellent location but avoid the in-house food service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Given the location, take a shot walk to Quincy Market and sample one of the many excellent restaurants and avoid the hotel dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeannie B.
Business
W.P.B. Florida
Nov 4, 2009

Great location!

Old time trolly was the best way to start our Boston experience! From there ventured back to intrigueing sights. Had the best narrator. Excellant restaurants and shops!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask at the desk for information on restaurant prices and menus as they can be very pricy. The staff is wonderful for guiding in the right direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Giarhead
Business
Alexandria, VA
Feb 15, 2010

Great location

My husband and I just stayed one night. It is conveniently located to the T and is in a great location. The price we paid was right for this hotel. Usually it is too expensive for our budget, but because of the time of year (Feb), it was affordable. If we had paid more, we would have been a little disappointed as it appears to be an older hotel, although the rooms are nicely renovated. There are plenty of hotels near the wharf that aren't as overpriced. The bar hotel was nice and we were able to order room service late into the night. Friendly, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the T water taxi over to the Tavern on the Water in Charlestown. It offers great views and great food in a relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
POOPA
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Aug 19, 2011

PERFECT LOCATION

THE HOTEL WAS IN THE PERFECT LOCATION, THE STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL AND THE ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
May 19, 2011

Old friend, new look

We have stayed at the Long Wharf many times..wonderful location, good food, good bar...but it was under renovation. We wish we were told before we booked it! The restaurant/bar was at best a makeshift situation. We were quite disappointed. We WILL go back..our favorite hotel in our favorite city, but will definitely make sure the improvements are totally complete prior to our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Legal Seafood, across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bangor, Maine
Nov 28, 2010

Mostly Great

The location was great, close to the North End and Faneuil Hall. Right on the T for easy access to other areas of the city. The housekeeping and valet services were also excellent. At check in was disappointed that we did not get a king room as reserved. We were told it was not guaranteed - however, could have been told in a nicer manner. The room we had was very nice, but was clearly a room with a lesser view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything in the North End and don't miss The Modern Bakery

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Mar 8, 2011

Everything we needed

Great location, clean, staff very attentive. Breakfast buffet wonderful. Could not ask for anything more. Convenient to subway to get to all areas of Boston. Will stay there again and recommend hotel to anyone who wants to park their car and not drive again for their whole stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not try to drive your car around Boston. Great walking city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilbraham MA
Nov 16, 2009

Primed Hotel

We saw the show "Fiddler on the Roof" which was wonderful and checked out a few colleges for our H.S. junior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lititz pa
Jun 22, 2009

nice time

The room had an odor and felt very damp. One night there was a lot of hall noise, possibly because our room was next to the entrance from the outdoor deck. The location was fabulous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Jun 2, 2009

Marriott Long Warf

Great location for sight seeing historic places. The Conceige was very helpful and friendly. I can't say the same about the young man at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top