$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Boston Marriott Long Wharf

4 stars
296 State, Street, Boston, MA 02109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
76 reviews
Upgrades worth it

Upon arrival, we were offered an upgrade to Concierge floor, I felt that for the extra amount, it... See full review

  • Nana32968
  • Nov 30, 2014
Lovely Short Stay

We've been wanting to stay at the Marriott Long Wharf for years but had never gotten around to it.... See full review

  • Lindahh
  • May 26, 2014
Though only built in 1982, Boston Marriott Long Wharf hotel sits within an integral part of Boston's history and the 17th century focal point of Boston's sea trade. Emulating the warehouse-feel of the old city, the diamond structure is matched inside with the geometric lighting and wall design of the Waterline Dining Room. Admire the interiors as you sample some traditional New England seafood platters, or drop by the neighboring bar for a Long Island Iced Tea. During the warmer months, make the most of the pool area, which opens to a sunny terrace with a great view of the harbor.
Key facts
  • 15 suites
  • 397 guestrooms
  • 17 conference/event spaces
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Gym
  • Restaurants: Waterline
  • Lounge and bar
  • Virtual concierge service
  • ATM and foreign exchange
Neighborhood
The Boston Marriott Long Wharf is right at the nucleus of downtown Boston, beside both historic sites and modern marvels, from the Bunker Hill Monument to the New England Aquarium on the adjacent pier. If you are traveling to Boston on business, the financial district is a brief walk from the hotel. Guests can enjoy Christopher Columbus Waterfront Park next door, or browse the peddlers' wares and street food carts at 250-year-old Quincy Market, just five minutes away.
Hints and tips
North End is a favorite local spot for a casual bite so if a long day's networking is nearly over, head to eateries like aptly-named Neptune Oyster.

More adventurous diners should check out the ever-popular Giacomo's, easily spotted by the long line of customers by the door.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Boston Marriott Long Wharf also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.3 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.7 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.9 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.9 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.3 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.3 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.6 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.7 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.7 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.9 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.9 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.1 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.4 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.6 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 2.1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.5 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3.5 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 5.7 mi

Dining

Waterline
Our signature restaurant boasts high ceilings, crisp modern décor, and oversized windows with pristine views of Long Wharf. Enjoy classic New England cuisine, with seasonal ingredients sourced from Boston and nearby, as well as an extensive drink list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.7

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nana32968
Business
Vero Beach, Florida
Nov 30, 2014

Upgrades worth it

Upon arrival, we were offered an upgrade to Concierge floor, I felt that for the extra amount, it was a good deal. We had a little more security, as you needed your room key to access the elevator. Each morning breakfast, during the day, snacks and in the evening bar service and munchies. After dinner desserts and a great view of the harbor. Our room was also changed to a suite, giving us room to move, have family over, without sitting on beds. Staff was very friendly, planning on staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ErockRPh
Business
Chepachet, RI
Nov 24, 2014

Great location and service, but had some issues

My family and I spent the night in Boston for a weekend getaway. The Marriott Long Wharf's location is perfect. It is right next door to the Aquarium and just across the street from Fanueil Hall/Quincy Market. The hotel looks great inside and the service is top notch - exactly what I'd expect from a Marriott. We did have some issues with our stay. The room above us was either a bachelor party or some college kids having a night out. After our son went to bed we started hearing loud music and banging coming from the room above. We called security, and things settled down a bit, but when they got back from their night out it started up again. We did get vouchers for 3 free beverages from Starbucks for our trouble. There was also an issue with room cleanliness. We found several black hairs in the bathtub that didn't belong to us. There was also a hairclip left on the floor that my wife stepped on. The service in the restaurant, and at the front desk was excellent. The food at the breakfast buffet was great as well. Despite the issues we had, I would consider coming back to the Marriott Long Wharf. The location was fantastic, and the price was good compared to other hotels of the same caliber in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium; Fanueil Hall & Quincy Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJBeachBum
Business
Jersey Shore
Sep 5, 2014

Great time for the family

Perfect location. Staff was super friendly and helpful all around, from the front desk to the restaurant/bar servers to the bellman...all were top notch. Room and view was very nice. Could have been a bit roomier as we had a larger than normal party and it was indicated at reservation and check-in, but it all worked out. Overall, it was a great stay and we plan on staying there again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

grab and read all the maps and brochures BEFORE venturing out as there are coupons for various restaurants and shops and attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SWCL
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Jul 13, 2014

Long weekend getaway

Very good experience all around. The only thing we found surprising was the lack of free internet service available in the room itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally dozens of fine Italian restaurants located in the North End only five minutes walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
peppy235
Business
NYC
Jul 9, 2014

Great location

If your looking to be a tourist in Boston, this is a great location. Seaport, Shopping, etc. Comfortable bed, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is close by- and walkable. Hotel parking is a little pricey here, but there is a garage down the street that is $14 cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kyndyll
Business
washington dc
Jun 8, 2014

Just what I expected

It delivered. This was the standard Marriott stay experience. I had a good room with a good view and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lindahh
Business
Upstate New York
May 26, 2014

Lovely Short Stay

We've been wanting to stay at the Marriott Long Wharf for years but had never gotten around to it. We only stayed for 1 night on our way to a basketball tournament and the only downside was that we couldn't stay longer. The location is perfect, the hotel itself is beautiful, rooms are nice, the outdoor deck off of the pool looks like it would be great if the weather is nice. We had a very good breakfast in the restaurant but it was a bit pricey. My only complaint would be no complimentary coffee in the a.m. but there is a Starbucks in the lobby. We can't wait to go back when the weather is a bit warmer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hogarth
Business
Boston, ma
Mar 31, 2014

Great location and atmosphere

This was a perfect location for a weekend getaway with easy access to the north end and fanuel hall. The hotel lobby is very lively and the staff is inviting. We brought desert back from the north end and decided to sit in the lobby and eat it. The staff offered to bring us silverware! There is an extensive collection of books in the lobby lounge as well and we enjoyed looking through many of them. Had breakfast at the waterline restaurant in the hotel and it was a little pricey but the quality and taste of the good was excellent. The room was quite average and a little dated but still comfortable. I would return again mainly to enjoy the ambiance and the great location and views. If the price were similar, though, I would seriously consider one of the newer waterfront hotels next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The north end is the place to eat. Get desert from modern pastry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sicca
Business
New Hampshire
Mar 24, 2014

Love this place!!!!!

Excellent hotel with always fabulous service. Everyone is always so helpful. The location is perfect as it is so close to everything. Love staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

quincy market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bora49
Business
St. Johnsbury, VT
Mar 10, 2014

Last Minute Family Fun

This was a last minute reservation for just one night with the family. We had a great time. Every part of our stay was wonderful and the staff was very accommodating. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is centrally located. Do the Freedom Trail. You will not be disappointed. Wear your walking shoes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top