$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Boston Marriott Long Wharf

4 stars
View map of 296 State, Street, Boston, MA 02109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.8

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James G
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Great for work and play

The renovations and location make this Marriott a great value overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North End is right around the bloc.

Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mac5
Business
fairfield ct
Nov 28, 2011

Boston Marriott Long Wharf Review

We loved our weekend at this hotel. We found the location very central and loved the breakfast package we opted for. Room and hallway cleanliness was so-so but everything else met or exceeded our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sonsie on Newbury Street had some of the best mussels we've ever eaten, and bread to dip in them. Not inexpensive but fab location streetside. A very pleasant surprise.

Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Walking Fools
Business
Fair Oaks, California
Oct 23, 2011

Boston Getaway

Excellent location! Boston is a "walking" city and this hotel was within easy walking distance of the aquarium, Charles river, major historical sites, restaurants, shopping, public transportation - "T" stop located outside - but if you don't want to walk, all the tours started right next to the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Amenities include a complete workout room, Starbucks on site, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, real creamer, flat screen TV, great bathroom extras. Unfortunately, the room smelled of mildew and it was close to the center, floor to ceiling open atrium. This center opening was beautiful but very noisy with piped in music played loudly until fairly late. Ask for a room far from the elevator and away from any outdoor drains and you'll enjoy your stay immensely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a city tour first then decide what to do. You can hop on and off the bus for two days at a variety of places throughout the city. Take public transportation to the JFK Library.

Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diana1
Business
New york city
Oct 23, 2011

Amazing location

Hotel was in the perfect location , right next to the salem ferry, quincy market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The salem ferry takes u from boston to salem and is a 1 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dabears51
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Great location, but you pay for it

First time in Boston so location was important and this hotel is right in the middle of everything+easy access, so great in this regard. Room was very nice, but should be at this price. Extra charge for use of wireless network; some computers available free for guest use but most were broken. Elevators super slow. Tiny gift shop and small dark restaurant. Bell staff excellent, but Concierge was ignorant. Room had a "cooler" rather than a real refrigerator. Maybe I have an unrealistic notion of value for price at hotels these days? Bottom line: Worth it if location is your top priority.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Excellent guided tours of Freedom Trail by costumed guides for only $15 (90 mins.). Plenty of Hop On/Off trolley tours available, with good narration. Didn't find any real exciting shopping although Filene's is always good. Fenuiel (sp?) Hall is more of a dining/entertainment venue than real shopping. Nice mall at Prudential, but mainly same old mall stores. All in all, Boston is a great walking town with a lot of really great historic buildings, graveyards, churches, etc. Tons of great restaurants, especially Italian in the North End.

Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thompson
Business
St Augustine, FL, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Was not what we epected for what we paid.

The renavations made things difficult. The room was small and cramped for a superior room. The sixth floor was noisey and voices carried like in an echo chamber.Would not stay there again, nor reccomend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 24, 2011

Break from law school

We had a very nice stay. Can't wait until all the construction is finished. Only complaint is that no one on the staff apologized for the construction mess and/or offered maybe a discount coupon for our next stay because of the construction noise. That would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the "T" to the Sam Adams brewery (on the Orange Line). Well worth a few hours.

Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
POOPA
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Aug 19, 2011

PERFECT LOCATION

THE HOTEL WAS IN THE PERFECT LOCATION, THE STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL AND THE ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savvy Business Traveller
Business
New York, NY
Jul 14, 2011

Good Location

I would have given this another star but the hotel was under renovation, which was not advertised. Otherwise, the room was nice, comfy beds. Hotel had restaurant, which was nice, food ok. The location was great, convenient to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Marriott Long Wharf

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Fl
Jun 14, 2011

Great location but noisy renovations

The hotel is in an excellent location, and allows you walking access to most types of transportation. The room was clean, and very nicely decorated. The only problem I had was that the hotel is currently being renovated so we were woken up early to the sounds of drills, and hammers. Also, the restaurant is in a temporary location, which means that it is limited. It would have been nice to know that before booking, and I don't think we should have had to pay full price. If not for the renovations currently taking place, I would have given the hotel four stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Legal Seafood is a bit pricey, but the seafood is excellent. I recommend the lobster roll and the clam chowder.

Back to menu Return to top