$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Boston Hotel Buckminster

3 stars
View map of 645 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
149 reviews
Great Weekend Getaway

Charming, historic hotel within walking distance of many great bars, restaurants and venues. See full review

  • Jennifer A.
  • Jun 4, 2015
It was great expreince

Its great hotel in great location that all i can say. definitely 5* See full review

  • Tahar A.
  • Mar 17, 2015
Built in 1897, the historic Boston Hotel Buckminster was one of the first hotels built in the Boston area. The hotel was designed by renowned architect Stanford White, who also designed the Boston Public Library as well as many of the elegant Back Bay townhouses on Beacon Street. The hotel is located on the triangular intersection of Beacon Street and Brookline Avenue in Boston's Kenmore Square. Today the Boston Hotel Buckminster stands as the "Heart of Kenmore Square", offering 116 guest rooms and suites as Boston's only true Budget Hotel. The Boston Hotel Buckminster's location is second to none in the City of Boston, as it is the closest hotel to both Fenway Park and Boston University. The hotel serves visitors to the Back Bay and Downtown Boston areas year round and provides easy access to the Kenmore Station on Boston's Subway System and is within a short walk to the vast majority of Boston's attractions. Parking is available for a fee.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Boston Hotel Buckminster also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Boston Hotel Buckminster Rooms

Deluxe Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 1 Queen bed, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.
Deluxe Double Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 2 Queen beds, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.3 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.3 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 2.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.5 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 2.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 4 mi
  • Castle Island: 4.5 mi

Dining

Fenway American Bistro
Featuring American dishes with regional New England cuisine, using use local crafted or farmed items to offer the freshest ingredients possible. Offering appetizers, sandwiches, the freshest fish and burgers, Maine lobster sliders, Boston cream pie, to a great steak " something for everyone. Our wines list features up and coming wines, and the beer list boasts some of the best New England brews and of course fan favorites. The atmosphere is both casual and relaxing for sport fans, after work get-togethers, and neighborhood dining. Located in historic part of Boston, across from Fenway Park, the restaurant is decorated in rich tones of amber and blue. Pictures of historic Boston abound with a nod to old time baseball. Kitchen open 6:30am " 11pm with the Bar opened until 12am. Breakfast is served 6:30am-10:30am Monday " Friday. Saturday and Sunday 6:30am " 12pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Boston Hotel Buckminster

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 149
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tahar A.
Business
Burlington
Mar 17, 2015

It was great expreince

Its great hotel in great location that all i can say. definitely 5*

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
h.c.09
Business
Dudley
Mar 10, 2015

Awesome

place was great, excellent location, way to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeankim
Business
New York
Nov 25, 2014

Great location, clean rooms

Kenmore station was just 3 mins walk from the hotel. Room was spacious, and the toilet was clean too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
laukie01
Business
Oakdale, ct
Feb 11, 2014

Heartless and rude.

Was going to spend the day with my friend and her Daughter, who was in Boston to see her Dr.'s at The Children's Hospital, and stay overnight at this Hotel but on the morning of my visit I got a call from my friend that her Daughter was in the emergency room that she had some bad reaction during the night, so I cancelled because if I went we would not be able to spend the time together as we planned since they planned on keeping her daughter in the hospital, I asked to hotel to please reconsider the cancellation fee due to this emergency and they wouldn't, how rude and heartless, I told the woman that I would pick another hotel next time and her response was "okay". Good luck with your stay at this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Concert Goer 234
Business
Rhode Island
Mar 4, 2013

Stayed for a concert

Great location, easy to get to. Would recommend to other people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VEBO
Business
Michigan
Dec 20, 2012

Good location

This hotel is in Kenmore Square, which is an excellent location for Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Textin' Gipp
Business
Roanoke, VA
May 9, 2012

Great Starting Point For First Trip to Boston

Not only was the hotel right across from historic Fenway Park, it was also one block away from the subway. There was a McDonald's and a Dunkin' Donuts across the street as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't go to Boston Common at night. It was very sketchy regarding the individuals hanging around there and the lighting was not good. We did not feel safe at all.

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kirsten M
Business
Rhode Island
Mar 5, 2012

Great location!

I read some of the bad reviews about this place on here and I expected a lot worse than it was. You cannot beat the location for the price. Yeah, it could use some serious updating, the room was bland and could use artwork, there was exposed plywood by the sink; its not a hotel you would spend a honeymoon. But it really just isnt that bad. Staff was great, bed was comfortable, couch was comfortable. Right next to Fenway, lots of restraunts, lots of bars, House of Blues, tons to do. I would definitly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
charvista
Business
Central Florida
Nov 6, 2011

Excellent choice for our girlfriends getaway

Great experience! Would definitely stay there again!! A long-time friend and I planned a trip to Boston as a reunion after many years living in different areas. We wanted a reasonably priced hotel, with complimentary breakfast, in a safe and convenient location. We found it in the Hotel Buckminister! The staff was exceedingly kind and attentive. They even loaned us an umbrella on a rainy day! The complimentary breakfast was more than satisfactory with bagels, English muffins, toast (w/butter, jellies, cream cheese, peanut butter, and honey),mini-muffins, pastries, variety of cereals, lots of fresh fruit, orange and grape juice, milk, coffee and tea. They even had flavored creams available for coffee!! Our room was very satisfactory and clean with lots of room - even had a microwave and frig. There was a charming old armoire holding the tv with built-in closets on both sides with full-length mirrors on the doors. Although it showed some bare wood from scuff marks on the bottom edges, you could tell it had been very impressive in earlier years - it was very practical and much appreciated by us. The tv was small - but it was more than ok for us to check weather reports, etc. - we didn't go to Boston to watch tv! We also had a small table with two chairs by large span of windows covered by attractive plantation shutters. We enjoyed sitting there and watching the busy sidewalk traffic below where there were many choices of restaurants and even a couple of convenience stores. We chose to use cabs, but the subway was only about a half block away - very convenient. We felt very safe in this neighborhood and at the hotel. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
burlington vermont
Apr 12, 2011

great location

I went to a red sox game

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

several bars and restuarants within a very short walk...dont need to go far for anything

Back to menu Return to top