$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Boston Hotel Buckminster

3 stars
View map of 645 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
139 reviews
It was great expreince

Its great hotel in great location that all i can say. definitely 5* See full review

  • Tahar A.
  • Mar 17, 2015
Awesome

place was great, excellent location, way to get to. See full review

  • h.c.09
  • Mar 10, 2015
Built in 1897, the historic Boston Hotel Buckminster was one of the first hotels built in the Boston area. The hotel was designed by renowned architect Stanford White, who also designed the Boston Public Library as well as many of the elegant Back Bay townhouses on Beacon Street. The hotel is located on the triangular intersection of Beacon Street and Brookline Avenue in Boston's Kenmore Square. Today the Boston Hotel Buckminster stands as the "Heart of Kenmore Square", offering 116 guest rooms and suites as Boston's only true Budget Hotel. The Boston Hotel Buckminster's location is second to none in the City of Boston, as it is the closest hotel to both Fenway Park and Boston University. The hotel serves visitors to the Back Bay and Downtown Boston areas year round and provides easy access to the Kenmore Station on Boston's Subway System and is within a short walk to the vast majority of Boston's attractions. Parking is available for a fee.

Top hotels

Boston Hotel Buckminster Rooms

Deluxe Double Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 2 Queen beds, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.
Deluxe Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 1 Queen bed, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.3 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.3 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 2.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.5 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 2.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 4 mi
  • Castle Island: 4.5 mi

Dining

Fenway American Bistro
Featuring American dishes with regional New England cuisine, using use local crafted or farmed items to offer the freshest ingredients possible. Offering appetizers, sandwiches, the freshest fish and burgers, Maine lobster sliders, Boston cream pie, to a great steak " something for everyone. Our wines list features up and coming wines, and the beer list boasts some of the best New England brews and of course fan favorites. The atmosphere is both casual and relaxing for sport fans, after work get-togethers, and neighborhood dining. Located in historic part of Boston, across from Fenway Park, the restaurant is decorated in rich tones of amber and blue. Pictures of historic Boston abound with a nod to old time baseball. Kitchen open 6:30am " 11pm with the Bar opened until 12am. Breakfast is served 6:30am-10:30am Monday " Friday. Saturday and Sunday 6:30am " 12pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Boston Hotel Buckminster

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 139
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K.D.
Business
N/A
Mar 18, 2015

Great location

I stayed to attend a conference. Chose hotel for distance from site and cost. This was a super value. When I arrived, learned that it is not only close to Boston University, but right in the heart of Kenmore square and right behind Fenway Park. There was not much foot traffic at the time I went. I later learned that it was spring break. The room was great for my needs - very comfortable and clean, however many may not like the very small television. The only put off was there was a dry sink and cabinet in the room for the refrigerator that was badly damaged. It should either be repaired or removed as it makes the room look bad. It is a great spot for parents visiting students in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelin' Man82
Business
Washington
Nov 24, 2014

Great hotel!

I had a great stay at the hotel. It was located near the T and right near Fenway! Lots of history in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzie2000014
Business
New York
Nov 20, 2014

Interview

Great for interviews in longwood area. Staff was very helpful. Room was clean and nicely renovated. Great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
izzylee
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 15, 2014

Pleasant Boston stay

Efficient check in & out, and a quiet room---very spacious. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eastern Standard has fantastic burgers and excellent drinks just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lorianne1111
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 11, 2014

Nice Staff - Not nice accomodations

I was very surprised to see the condition of my room considering the average user reviews when I booked was 3.7. I prepaid for my stay - upon check in I was online searching for another place to stay. I was looking to cut my losses and get out. Unfortunately, all hotels in the area were sold out. I should have known that there was a reason why there were still rooms available at the Buckminster. Since I visit Boston frequently, I will consider this stay a learning experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg business travelor
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 11, 2014

Good stay!

Good stay, room is a little old feeling. TV was very small, but for the price, was a good deal. I like the vouchers for dinner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Gave vouchers!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJoe
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 9, 2014

Wonderful Stay

I went into this trip expecting an average 3 star hotel, but the hotel was clean, the staff was courteous and the location was exceptional. Right on the corner near fenway park and only steps from the Kenmore T station and the best oysters in Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sydney Aussie
Business
Novi, MI
Sep 25, 2014

Close to Fenway

The outside of the building is beautiful. The floor plan was a bit confusing and there were ceiling panels that were missing outside of my door. The in house dining was very good. You get a $10 voucher for the restaurant too upon check in. The couch in the main room wasn't very comfortable, but the view of Fenway from my window was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
u Professor
Business
Champaign, Illinois
Sep 18, 2014

good value hotel

Good location near Boston University and a very pleasant walk across the bridge to MIT. Clean room with comfortable bed. Wish there were a chair and desk too. But price was very good compared to larger hotels around Cambridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catarina gogo
Business
Baltimore
Feb 9, 2014

Clean and nice location

The hotel seems a little bit old, but the room and rest room were so clean. And they gave restaurant credit coupon which locates hotel lobby. Food were good and staffs were friendly. The amenities need more things such as refrige and tea kettle. But overall, I satisfied this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top