$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Boston Hotel Buckminster

3 stars
View map of 645 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
137 reviews
It was great expreince

Its great hotel in great location that all i can say. definitely 5* See full review

  • Tahar A.
  • Mar 17, 2015
Awesome

place was great, excellent location, way to get to. See full review

  • h.c.09
  • Mar 10, 2015
Built in 1897, the historic Boston Hotel Buckminster was one of the first hotels built in the Boston area. The hotel was designed by renowned architect Stanford White, who also designed the Boston Public Library as well as many of the elegant Back Bay townhouses on Beacon Street. The hotel is located on the triangular intersection of Beacon Street and Brookline Avenue in Boston's Kenmore Square. Today the Boston Hotel Buckminster stands as the "Heart of Kenmore Square", offering 116 guest rooms and suites as Boston's only true Budget Hotel. The Boston Hotel Buckminster's location is second to none in the City of Boston, as it is the closest hotel to both Fenway Park and Boston University. The hotel serves visitors to the Back Bay and Downtown Boston areas year round and provides easy access to the Kenmore Station on Boston's Subway System and is within a short walk to the vast majority of Boston's attractions. Parking is available for a fee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Boston Hotel Buckminster also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Boston Hotel Buckminster Rooms

Deluxe Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 1 Queen bed, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.
Deluxe Double Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 2 Queen beds, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.3 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.3 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 2.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.5 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 2.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 4 mi
  • Castle Island: 4.5 mi

Dining

Fenway American Bistro
Featuring American dishes with regional New England cuisine, using use local crafted or farmed items to offer the freshest ingredients possible. Offering appetizers, sandwiches, the freshest fish and burgers, Maine lobster sliders, Boston cream pie, to a great steak " something for everyone. Our wines list features up and coming wines, and the beer list boasts some of the best New England brews and of course fan favorites. The atmosphere is both casual and relaxing for sport fans, after work get-togethers, and neighborhood dining. Located in historic part of Boston, across from Fenway Park, the restaurant is decorated in rich tones of amber and blue. Pictures of historic Boston abound with a nod to old time baseball. Kitchen open 6:30am " 11pm with the Bar opened until 12am. Breakfast is served 6:30am-10:30am Monday " Friday. Saturday and Sunday 6:30am " 12pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Boston Hotel Buckminster

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 137
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sharon c.
Business
N/A
Mar 16, 2015

Great location

My fiance and I just needed a place to stay for one night before catching out fight the next morning. We wanted something that was in walking distance to restaurants and bars and this was the perfect spot. Not to mention the room was spacious and just what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sahmed
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Boston vacation

Staff were very friendly, and the hotel had everything we needed. It's a great bargain and would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris in November
Business
Michigan
Nov 26, 2014

Last minute stay

We missed our flight and had an emergency stay in Boston. After looking at a few other comparably priced hotels we came across Buckingham. We were very pleased with the accommodations. Staff were very willing to help and allowed us to get into the room even though they hadn't received the confirmation yet even after we went to dinner. Very clean and comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hydra
Business
shelton, ct
Nov 23, 2014

audition at berklee

my daughter had a 9am Saturday audition at berklee college of music. this hotel is within walking distance, thus avoiding the crazy boston traffic and parking. we ate in the hotel restaurant which was good and had gotten a $10 credit for the bill because we were staying there. we were delighted to read that our favorite singer , billie holiday and other great jazz musicians had performed there in the day!! the room was small but efficient and the great price made it a fine experience. there was metered parking directly in front of the hotel with a 2 hour limit. this worked for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

only wine and beer at the bar, but a stone's throw to uno for a shot to warm up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt N.
Business
Connecticut
Nov 20, 2014

Great Location for the Price

Walking distance to Fenway is a plus & great price for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clarkyankee07
Business
Boston
Mar 4, 2014

Not much to complain about

Wasn't much to complain about other than my small outdated room. I expected something bigger but when I walked two feet in I was already at me bed. The tv was from the 90s. And mabey due to the fact that I'm young the staff seemed more concerned with me smoking in my room than continuing on with his story on how to get your refund back and how not to get kicked out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Traveler Teacher
Business
Providence, RI
Feb 18, 2014

Last minute One night stay

Friendly, helpful staff. We got a good price for a room at the last minute. Very comfy accommodations and all the amenities we needed. Would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derwerd
Business
New York, NY
Nov 13, 2013

Very nice.

We liked the location near the subway. The hotel is very nicely appointed for an older property, everything worked well and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was nice and efficient, and we especially liked the service and food in the restaurant. Will definitely return as guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway access is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard Bate
Business
Penzance, UK
Oct 7, 2013

Expensive city, lovely people

Everything in Boston is expensive. Hotel is quaint but helped by its great staff and central location. Room layout is quirky, but a feature of an old building. They could do with a bit more in the way of in- room amenities like tea and coffee making facilities. But otherwise a great base whilst in Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check for Red Sox game timings, it is bang next door to Fenway Park!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leggs74
Business
Wayne, Michigan
Sep 24, 2013

BaseBall Weekend

Came from Tiger Town to watch the Tigers play the Red Sox. The view from here is Fenway. It is about a 10 min walk to the park. The hotel is nothig fancy. You are close to places to eat. The subway is about a block away. Had a great time with the front desk staff, being from Michigan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had the best dinner at Atlantic Fish Co. You could cut the steak with a butter knife. 2 stops away by subway and a 10 min walk. Call ahead!! To kill time while you are waiting go across the street to Prudential Building and walk through all the shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top