$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Boston Hotel Buckminster

3 stars
645 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02215
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
131 reviews
Great location, clean rooms

Kenmore station was just 3 mins walk from the hotel. Room was spacious, and the toilet was clean too. See full review

  • Jeankim
  • Nov 25, 2014
Great hotel!

I had a great stay at the hotel. It was located near the T and right near Fenway! Lots of history... See full review

  • Travelin' Man82
  • Nov 24, 2014
Built in 1897, the historic Boston Hotel Buckminster was one of the first hotels built in the Boston area. The hotel was designed by renowned architect Stanford White, who also designed the Boston Public Library as well as many of the elegant Back Bay townhouses on Beacon Street. The hotel is located on the triangular intersection of Beacon Street and Brookline Avenue in Boston's Kenmore Square. Today the Boston Hotel Buckminster stands as the "Heart of Kenmore Square", offering 116 guest rooms and suites as Boston's only true Budget Hotel. The Boston Hotel Buckminster's location is second to none in the City of Boston, as it is the closest hotel to both Fenway Park and Boston University. The hotel serves visitors to the Back Bay and Downtown Boston areas year round and provides easy access to the Kenmore Station on Boston's Subway System and is within a short walk to the vast majority of Boston's attractions. Parking is available for a fee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Boston Hotel Buckminster also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Boston Hotel Buckminster Rooms

Deluxe Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 1 Queen bed, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.
Deluxe Double Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 2 Queen beds, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.3 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.3 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 2.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.5 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 2.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 4 mi
  • Castle Island: 4.5 mi

Dining

Fenway American Bistro
Featuring American dishes with regional New England cuisine, using use local crafted or farmed items to offer the freshest ingredients possible. Offering appetizers, sandwiches, the freshest fish and burgers, Maine lobster sliders, Boston cream pie, to a great steak " something for everyone. Our wines list features up and coming wines, and the beer list boasts some of the best New England brews and of course fan favorites. The atmosphere is both casual and relaxing for sport fans, after work get-togethers, and neighborhood dining. Located in historic part of Boston, across from Fenway Park, the restaurant is decorated in rich tones of amber and blue. Pictures of historic Boston abound with a nod to old time baseball. Kitchen open 6:30am " 11pm with the Bar opened until 12am. Breakfast is served 6:30am-10:30am Monday " Friday. Saturday and Sunday 6:30am " 12pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Boston Hotel Buckminster

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Neesh2014
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 29, 2014

Awful

Rusty tub, cold draft coming through window all night, heat did not work, it was 8 degress outside and they had quilts on the beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
laukie01
Business
Oakdale, ct
Feb 11, 2014

Heartless and rude.

Was going to spend the day with my friend and her Daughter, who was in Boston to see her Dr.'s at The Children's Hospital, and stay overnight at this Hotel but on the morning of my visit I got a call from my friend that her Daughter was in the emergency room that she had some bad reaction during the night, so I cancelled because if I went we would not be able to spend the time together as we planned since they planned on keeping her daughter in the hospital, I asked to hotel to please reconsider the cancellation fee due to this emergency and they wouldn't, how rude and heartless, I told the woman that I would pick another hotel next time and her response was "okay". Good luck with your stay at this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappy fan
Business
mass
Apr 23, 2010

hotel buckminster

The location is great for Red Sox fans. The hotel even has a back door leading right to the park. The location however does not make up for the lack of ventilation in the room. There was no air conditioning & no screens on the windows so for air you have to have an open window with nothing to catch things(bugs...) from getting in.(also no vent in bathroom) I booked a suite with 2 Queen beds and a living area for 4 people. One bed for myself & husband, one for my mother or son and then the understood extra $20 for the roll out cot. They charged us for the cot at ck in but it wasnt there when we got in after the game. We had to wait for the hotel staff to retrieve the pass code from maintenance to get the bed. Then to top it off the fire alarm went off at 2:30am & everyone had to meet in the lobby for about 15 min. Not the hotels fault I'm sure but aggravating. Probably will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Cod, MA
Jun 16, 2010

Cheap cheap cheap

Right next to Fenway Park, Given a handicapped room only room left, Hotel doing some rennovation but definitely not in my room, No hot water in morning,,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fenway Park across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jan 24, 2011

awful place to stay

I was there 2 nights and after the first night, something in their system checked me out. I returned to the hotel that evening, to find that my key card didnt work, when i went to the desk, I was told that I mixed up the room number! They quickly realized their mistake, and told me that all my items had been taken to the basement lost and found! they offered me a meager 10% discount and told me that they'll have my stuff brought to my room. I found it lying in the hallway in front of the door-- in trashbags! I've nenver been so disrespected at a hotel! sometimes people leave a jacket or scarf, but I had ALL my stuff in there-- i was only halfway through my stay. Also, no one called me to ask why all my stuff would be there and no one asked me if all my items were indeed returned to me. Needless to say, i will never set foot in this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
millburymom
Business
Millbury, Ma
Jun 3, 2010

Very Disappointed

So hot! Not allowed to turn thermostat below 68 degrees! Very uncomfortable! Room was very tiny. We will not stay here again even though it was a convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lorianne1111
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 11, 2014

Nice Staff - Not nice accomodations

I was very surprised to see the condition of my room considering the average user reviews when I booked was 3.7. I prepaid for my stay - upon check in I was online searching for another place to stay. I was looking to cut my losses and get out. Unfortunately, all hotels in the area were sold out. I should have known that there was a reason why there were still rooms available at the Buckminster. Since I visit Boston frequently, I will consider this stay a learning experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Electron
Business
Mass
Oct 29, 2009

Spartan

Good location on Kenmore Square. The hotel is pretty basic with few amenities. The free internet connection lasted one hour as "free trial" and after that it was $10/day. Parking is $18. The walls let a lot of sound through. Breakfast was average. No counter space in the bathroom. It's a cool old building though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chrisg202
Business
Ohio
Jan 13, 2014

leaking tub

once i got into the room, the tub was leaking. I called the staff, they sent for someone to come and fix it instead of giving me another room. I took 45 min for me waiting to get it fixed and i was tired. At last i couldn't wait more and i asked again to switch rooms. uncooperative staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dont go to boston to drink
Business
Georgia
Mar 26, 2009

Not for the hotel snobby

If you are a hotel snob this is not the hotel for you. Its pretty basic with a friendly staff. The biggest down side is you have NO control over the temp in your room. Our room was so hot we were sweating. We finally got the window to open and then the room became bareable. If you are a ball fan, or need to go to BU this is a close hotel. The location was great for fenway and the college and surround by decent bars. The rooms are wicked small. and the shower didnt drain. We were in town to see a concert so the hotel worked, I will stay there again just make sure i got a room with a window that opens and faces fenway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Who ever said Boston is a drinking town never tried to drink there. The bars close early at 1 a.m so you have to start the night off pretty early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top