$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Boston Hotel Buckminster

3 stars
View map of 645 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
132 reviews
Great Weekend Getaway

Charming, historic hotel within walking distance of many great bars, restaurants and venues. See full review

  • Jennifer A.
  • Jun 4, 2015
It was great expreince

Its great hotel in great location that all i can say. definitely 5* See full review

  • Tahar A.
  • Mar 17, 2015
Built in 1897, the historic Boston Hotel Buckminster was one of the first hotels built in the Boston area. The hotel was designed by renowned architect Stanford White, who also designed the Boston Public Library as well as many of the elegant Back Bay townhouses on Beacon Street. The hotel is located on the triangular intersection of Beacon Street and Brookline Avenue in Boston's Kenmore Square. Today the Boston Hotel Buckminster stands as the "Heart of Kenmore Square", offering 116 guest rooms and suites as Boston's only true Budget Hotel. The Boston Hotel Buckminster's location is second to none in the City of Boston, as it is the closest hotel to both Fenway Park and Boston University. The hotel serves visitors to the Back Bay and Downtown Boston areas year round and provides easy access to the Kenmore Station on Boston's Subway System and is within a short walk to the vast majority of Boston's attractions. Parking is available for a fee.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Boston Hotel Buckminster also booked these hotels.

★★★
$246
4.6 / 5 14 reviews
★★★
$190
3.4 / 5 106 reviews
★★★
$254
4.8 / 5 8 reviews
★★★★
$323
4.6 / 5 77 reviews
★★★
$299
3.4 / 5 36 reviews
★★★★
$275
4.5 / 5 52 reviews
★★★
$199
3.9 / 5 34 reviews

Boston Hotel Buckminster Rooms

Deluxe Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 1 Queen bed, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.
Deluxe Double Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 2 Queen beds, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.3 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.3 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 2.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.5 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 2.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 4 mi
  • Castle Island: 4.5 mi

Dining

Fenway American Bistro
Featuring American dishes with regional New England cuisine, using use local crafted or farmed items to offer the freshest ingredients possible. Offering appetizers, sandwiches, the freshest fish and burgers, Maine lobster sliders, Boston cream pie, to a great steak " something for everyone. Our wines list features up and coming wines, and the beer list boasts some of the best New England brews and of course fan favorites. The atmosphere is both casual and relaxing for sport fans, after work get-togethers, and neighborhood dining. Located in historic part of Boston, across from Fenway Park, the restaurant is decorated in rich tones of amber and blue. Pictures of historic Boston abound with a nod to old time baseball. Kitchen open 6:30am " 11pm with the Bar opened until 12am. Breakfast is served 6:30am-10:30am Monday " Friday. Saturday and Sunday 6:30am " 12pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Boston Hotel Buckminster

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelling Steady
Single
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 11, 2012

Perfect Stay

This gorgeous hotel has small rooms, yes BUT what a view! My hotel room faced FenWay Park: I couldn't have asked for more. The housekeeping team were polite, very tidy & they're willing to return to clean your room if you had the DND sign on your door for part of the day. Maintenance was very speedy. When I 1st checked in, I was having issues getting hot water to come through. I called down to the front desk & they were there in less than 10min. The breakfast is a continental but for that, it's kept well stocked by the staff while people are eating & it's laid out perfectly. I asked the front desk for some directions to a nice little diner close by. It was further than they had stated but still, the guys were very helpful. Every time I returned from being out they looked up, greeted you & were ready for talk: small or large. I loved this hotel, I loved my room & its view & should I find myself back in Boston this hotel will be where I return - hopefully I can request my same room again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Lemur
Couples
NYC
Dec 10, 2012

Really cool old style hotel

Quiet, with great views and big, well-proportioned rooms, excellent bedding and super-nice staff (who gave me a free upgrade to a suite). Excellent value--I'd recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Glass Flowers at the Peabody Museum at Harvard and the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum are the two best things to see in Boston.

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Southern Maxwell
Business
Jackson, MS
Mar 11, 2013

Warm Hospitality

I had a wonderful time. The room was a good value for the price but I found it too warm. I like a cool (66 F) room and this one was too warm, so I kept the window open. The continental breakfast was great, with lots of variety and real cream and honey for my hot tea. The hotel was half a block from the subway and was very convenient for trips to the Hynes Convention Center. Overall, I enjoyed the hotel and the staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kryals20
Business
Nashville
Mar 11, 2013

Visiting for College Interview

I recently stayed at the Buckminster this weekend for a Grad program interview. The staff was super friendly and I was upgraded to a suite upon my arrival due to a lack of queen rooms. So I can't speak for the regular rooms, but the suite was very nice and comfortable and had a great view of Kenmore square. Location was great - about a 15 minute walk to the Fenway and tons of food options very close by. Definitely worth the money for a short stay for something like an interview and if you are staying longer, the suite was quite comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Graduation Gift Recipient
Single
Greenville, North Carolina
Jul 22, 2013

Great overall value!!

It was great. I was there to see the Red Sox play ball. The hotel was within walking distance to the park and I could actually see the park from the window in my room. I enjoyed my stay very much and would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great sportsbar!

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olivia K2
Business
Denver, Colorado
Aug 19, 2013

Work Trip Accomodations

I came to Boston last week for a convention for work and decided to book a hotel away from the convention and came across Buckminster. I really enjoyed my stay here! The room was incredibly clean, spacious and had everything I needed. The staff was awesome and the location could not have been better. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Giacomo's in Boston's "Little Italy" neighborhood was such a gem and an amazing dining experience!

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Yankee's Fan
Couples
South Carolina
Aug 20, 2013

Right across the street from Fenway!!!

Can't believe this hotel is only rated as 2-stars. The location cannot be beat if you are going to Fenway. There's not a lot in the immediate area, but it is a short trip on the "T" to get into downtown Boston. This hotel is historic but also modernized. Staff was great at the front desk as well as in the hotel restaurant. A short walk up the street and you are at Fenway Park! We could see Fenway from our room - Room 411.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Uno's Chicago Grill is right down stairs on the corner from the hotel. Good deal on two pizza's to go - take them back to your room! Or dine in.

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mother105
Family
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 15, 2013

Wonderful, old school hotel

What a lovely hotel! There is a beautiful, european-style lobby, all the original architecture. The in-house restaurant is quite good. Rooms have high ceilings, huge windows that actually open! However, its the front desk staff that nails it. They are so friendly, so helpful! Where else can you stay in Boston for about 100$ a night. I love this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Recently, a 10$ food coupon has been free with a reservation. Use it!

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
East Lansing, MI
Nov 30, 2010

Boston Hotel Buckminster

I live in 6th Floor, a non-smoking room. It's clean! it's great regarding this price. And the most important is the subway is so near!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
curls99
Family
Syracuse, NY
Apr 30, 2011

GREAT WEEKEND

We were in Boston for a Red Sox game. The location of the Hotel Buckminster is PERFECT for a Red Sox fan- the ballpark is SO close. You can actually see the lights of Fenway Park from the hotel. The cleanliness of the rooms was very impressive, and the suite are quite spacious- definitely enough room for a family of 4 or 5. We loved the continental breakfast- it a great way to start the day- everything you need- coffee, muffins, croissants, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, juice, bagels..... We did not eat at the restaurant (Japanese, sushi) but it looked great and was PACKED full on Friday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fenway Park is a 3 minute walk

Back to menu Return to top