$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Boston Hotel Buckminster

3 stars
645 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02215
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
125 reviews
One night on the town

Check in was a breeze,, everyone one helpful. Bit confusing on hallway maze,,,, There for one show... See full review

  • Gary McCarthy
  • Apr 11, 2014
Wonderful, old school hotel

What a lovely hotel! There is a beautiful, european-style lobby, all the original architecture. The... See full review

  • Mother105
  • Dec 15, 2013
Built in 1897, the historic Boston Hotel Buckminster was one of the first hotels built in the Boston area. The hotel was designed by renowned architect Stanford White, who also designed the Boston Public Library as well as many of the elegant Back Bay townhouses on Beacon Street. The hotel is located on the triangular intersection of Beacon Street and Brookline Avenue in Boston's Kenmore Square. Today the Boston Hotel Buckminster stands as the "Heart of Kenmore Square", offering 116 guest rooms and suites as Boston's only true Budget Hotel. The Boston Hotel Buckminster's location is second to none in the City of Boston, as it is the closest hotel to both Fenway Park and Boston University. The hotel serves visitors to the Back Bay and Downtown Boston areas year round and provides easy access to the Kenmore Station on Boston's Subway System and is within a short walk to the vast majority of Boston's attractions. Parking is available for a fee.

Hotel Map

42.3483 -71.0979
Area served
Boston, Fenway, Brookline
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport (BOS).
Area description
Heart of Kenmore Square next to Fenway Park and Boston University.Boston Hotel Buckminster is conveniently located within walking distance (or a short 'T' ride) of all the city's major sites and attractions, and only a two minute walk to the Kenmore T Station on the Green Line.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Boston Hotel Buckminster also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Boston Hotel Buckminster Rooms

Deluxe Double Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 2 Queen beds, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.
Deluxe Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 1 Queen bed, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.3 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.3 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 2.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.5 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 2.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 4 mi
  • Castle Island: 4.5 mi

Dining

Fenway American Bistro
Featuring American dishes with regional New England cuisine, using use local crafted or farmed items to offer the freshest ingredients possible. Offering appetizers, sandwiches, the freshest fish and burgers, Maine lobster sliders, Boston cream pie, to a great steak " something for everyone. Our wines list features up and coming wines, and the beer list boasts some of the best New England brews and of course fan favorites. The atmosphere is both casual and relaxing for sport fans, after work get-togethers, and neighborhood dining. Located in historic part of Boston, across from Fenway Park, the restaurant is decorated in rich tones of amber and blue. Pictures of historic Boston abound with a nod to old time baseball. Kitchen open 6:30am " 11pm with the Bar opened until 12am. Breakfast is served 6:30am-10:30am Monday " Friday. Saturday and Sunday 6:30am " 12pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Boston Hotel Buckminster

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Feb 21, 2011

A comfortable Place to stay

An excellent location for using Boston's public transportation. The staff was very helpful, friendly and professional. A good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BU visitor
los angeles, ca
Jan 30, 2011

Buckminster guest

I stayed at the Buckminster hotel when visiting Boston University. The hotel is very conveniently located to BU as well as to Fenway and the T. It is easy to get around from here (no cab needed) including to and from the airport. The hotel has all the basic amenities that you can expect for the price, and is good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Westbank Traveler
Business
Louisiana
Jan 28, 2011

Nice Staff and Location

The hotel staff were very friendly and informative about the area. The hotel is placed at a good location where the subway station and bus stop is about 3 minutes away. I found that very convenient because I used the transit system to get around while I was there and I didn't run into trouble. There are also a bunch of shops and restaurants near the hotel so you won't have to go out of your way. You can walk and get whatever you need. The room was also very clean and equipped with everything you'd need for a comfortable stay. My negatives are that the internet was not free and the room was cramped and stuffy like there was no ventilation. I have bad sinus problems so I felt a bit miserable. I did crack the window open which was a little help, but that put me at risk considering how freezing cold it gets at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budget-minded
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Jan 25, 2011

Mixed review

Budget Hotel Buckminster has great character for those who like a cozy, historical, non-glitzy environment. The staff was uniformly pleasant, the continental breakfast more than adequate, and it is a convenient and accessible location for visiting any part of Boston via the T, or walking around Back Bay or over the bridge to Cambridge. We even liked the fact that one could easily walk upstairs to the rooms, because the stairway was open as opposed to hidden at the end of some long corridor. The room was clean, with adequate space (except for the lack of bathroom counter space.) Our room had a great view of the city. However, the bed was so hard we had to ask for an extra blanket to sleep on, just to soften it. Most significantly, the thermostat clearly wasn't working, and the room remained well over 80 degrees even after we asked the staff to turn it down. We literally had to open a window and let in the near- zero outside air! These factors would make us think about returning there, despite all the positives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Having two restaurants right at the hotel, one Italian, one Japanese, was a big plus.

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salem, New Hampshire
Jan 25, 2011

Buckminster Hotel

The hotel was nice, clean, the bathroom was big and the room was warm, which was nice seeing as it was below freezing outside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cask n' Flagon is an amazing pub/ restaurant. Great in the spring for baseball season, great in the winter, or anytime for that matter. Reasonable prices and great beer.

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NTS
Buffalo, NY
Jan 24, 2011

Excellent service

The hotel was clean and charming, but what really stood out to us was the service. At check-in, we were greeted at the front desk by name and the crib that we requested was set up in our room. Throughout the weekend the front desk personnel were very friendly and professional. Also, the location was super convenient to the Kenmore Square T station and a number of restaurants and convenience stores. Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jan 24, 2011

awful place to stay

I was there 2 nights and after the first night, something in their system checked me out. I returned to the hotel that evening, to find that my key card didnt work, when i went to the desk, I was told that I mixed up the room number! They quickly realized their mistake, and told me that all my items had been taken to the basement lost and found! they offered me a meager 10% discount and told me that they'll have my stuff brought to my room. I found it lying in the hallway in front of the door-- in trashbags! I've nenver been so disrespected at a hotel! sometimes people leave a jacket or scarf, but I had ALL my stuff in there-- i was only halfway through my stay. Also, no one called me to ask why all my stuff would be there and no one asked me if all my items were indeed returned to me. Needless to say, i will never set foot in this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Lansing, MI
Nov 30, 2010

Boston Hotel Buckminster

I live in 6th Floor, a non-smoking room. It's clean! it's great regarding this price. And the most important is the subway is so near!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BU visitor
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 10, 2010

Good stay for the price

The hotel is very conveniently located to Boston University which I was visiting. Since I selected the hotel based on its location, this was instrumental to my opinion of the stay. It is also close to a T stop that will easily get you around the city. The continental breakfast was sufficient, the staff was nice and helpful and the room seemed clean, it even had a mini fridge and a microwave which I thought was nice for a budget traveler. The only thing was that the temperature seemed to be set at 78 so it was pretty hot in the room at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Green Line directly to Park Street to begin the tour of the Freedom Trail, but be careful of getting on the right train on the way back as the Green Line splits along the way.

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston newbie
Iowa
Nov 1, 2010

Everything I needed

First of all,I'm sure my experience was different than if the Red Sox had still been in season because the hotel provided a quiet, safe-haven for my trip. I found the hotel room to be on the small-side but it was clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful as well. (+) the location was 1 block from the Kenmore T stop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk almost anywhere in Boston! From Fenway, to the shore, to the North End for some cannolis!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search