$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Boston Hotel Buckminster

3 stars
View map of 645 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Boston Hotel Buckminster

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GetSushiDownstairs
Business
Bronx, NY, USA
Sep 27, 2011

great for red sox game

My fiance and I stayed here overnight for a Red Sox game - it was perfect for just that. Great location, about a three-minute walk to Fenway, and plenty of bars along the way to duck into before/after the game. Our room was on the small side - as they usually are in older hotels - and kind of awkwardly-shaped. But for a short visit, it was just fine. Only wish the room and the parking next door was less expensive, but it's probably just b/c the Yankees were in town.... Sushi place downstairs is AMAZING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ngoat
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Sep 17, 2011

For whatever you are doing in Boston

Location couldn't been any better. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Math Maven
Business
Ridgewood, NJ, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great Location!

The Buckminster is a good value hotel in a prime location. It is right next to Fenway Park (which can cause some traffic issues) and Boston University as well as the T. The king size bed was especially comfortable and the (included) continental breakfast was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dining in Boston's North End Italian restaurants was great despite the crowds. Not having a reservation was a problem so next time we will call ahead to reserve a table. We took the T to Government Center and walked the rest of the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Never comin' back
Business
california
Aug 24, 2011

Way overpriced

this hotel is old, creaky, noisy and just has no charm. It's only selling point is that it is near Boston University. Bathrooms small and cramped. Towels tiny and thin. They seem like they are saving pennies, and in doing so, destroy any convenience or amenities. Way overpriced for what is offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay elsewhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Jul 31, 2011

Buckminster

Was over priced. had to pay to park there too. Bathroom door would not close, door knob was broken...yet the desk knew about it. Stains on the carpet, small and old TV's, handle on mini fridge was broken. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Sox are right outside the back door, yes there is a back door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Myers
Jul 12, 2011

Great location next to Fenway

We went for a Sox game and to visit with friends. Super close to Fenway and lots of good food. We did not want to rent a car so proximity to both was crucial. Travel from the airport was tricky on the train but it saved us a fortune in cabs. The first night the hotel lost power. The third day the elevator was out of order. The rooms are small but clean. Overall it was a great place to stay if youre on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix AZ
Jun 29, 2011

Rustic Charm in Fantastic Location

I was there for one night in transit to join family at a wedding in Worcester. Then, I returned to explore Boston, mostly on my own. The location was great for exploring all of Boston (it's 2 blocks from Fenway Park but the Red Sox were out of town! Next time!). The "T" station was a block away, which can take you just about anywhere in Boston in a few minutes for only two bucks! The staff was very polite and helpful. The continental breakfast was so-so (I'm not big on food give-aways to begin with). They really need to install FREE Wi-Fi. I used a cable I brought with me but it was cumbersome. Also, I was unable to connect with my iPod Touch. I liked the rustic charm. The rooms were clean. The hot water was ok for a shower but not quite hot enough to shave. I believe it was a good value and have already recommended it to my brother (lives in Florida), who has two daughters in two different Boston colleges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

North End. Incredible Italian restaurants! Take the "T" and a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 28, 2011

Baseball trip

Very close to Fenway which was very convent and the UNO's was right there after the game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brewer Buddy
Business
Virginia
Jun 21, 2011

A Good Choice

I stayed at the Buckminster because it is walking distance from Fenway Park. But the location was ideal in other ways, too. There were several decent restaurants and a subway terminal in the area. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful and the price was affordable. It was a good choice for all of those reasons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brewer Buddy
Business
Virginia
Jun 21, 2011

A Good Choice

I stayed at the Buckminster because it is walking distance from Fenway Park. But the location was ideal in other ways, too. There were several decent restaurants and a subway terminal in the area. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful and the price was affordable. It was a good choice for all of those reasons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top