$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Boston Hotel Buckminster

3 stars
View map of 645 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Boston Hotel Buckminster

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M00ns
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Perfect for BU visit

My room was large and had a great view of Fenway. The hotel location is perfect for visiting my daughter at Boston University. It is in walking distance to shopping on Newbury St and close to the T station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are dining on a Friday night, consider walking to the restaurant. Taking a cab took way too long;walking would be faster. Boston is very walking friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
charvista
Business
Central Florida
Nov 6, 2011

Excellent choice for our girlfriends getaway

Great experience! Would definitely stay there again!! A long-time friend and I planned a trip to Boston as a reunion after many years living in different areas. We wanted a reasonably priced hotel, with complimentary breakfast, in a safe and convenient location. We found it in the Hotel Buckminister! The staff was exceedingly kind and attentive. They even loaned us an umbrella on a rainy day! The complimentary breakfast was more than satisfactory with bagels, English muffins, toast (w/butter, jellies, cream cheese, peanut butter, and honey),mini-muffins, pastries, variety of cereals, lots of fresh fruit, orange and grape juice, milk, coffee and tea. They even had flavored creams available for coffee!! Our room was very satisfactory and clean with lots of room - even had a microwave and frig. There was a charming old armoire holding the tv with built-in closets on both sides with full-length mirrors on the doors. Although it showed some bare wood from scuff marks on the bottom edges, you could tell it had been very impressive in earlier years - it was very practical and much appreciated by us. The tv was small - but it was more than ok for us to check weather reports, etc. - we didn't go to Boston to watch tv! We also had a small table with two chairs by large span of windows covered by attractive plantation shutters. We enjoyed sitting there and watching the busy sidewalk traffic below where there were many choices of restaurants and even a couple of convenience stores. We chose to use cabs, but the subway was only about a half block away - very convenient. We felt very safe in this neighborhood and at the hotel. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LB Biz
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Solid Location

Nice hotel conveniently located. Cant get any closer to Fenway Park !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PghBub
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 30, 2011

I don't think there is a greater value anywhere in Boston...

Overall this is a beautiful historic building with modern and clean rooms. The price was way below any other nice hotel close to downtown Boston. It was very simple to get from Logan int'l airport: a short bus shuttle to the T line, one transfer from the blue line to the green line (B, C or D), hop off at Kenmore, you're steps to the hotel - total time about 20-30 minutes. I could see Fenway Park from my room and beautiful Back Bay is a couple of blocks away! Cambridge is also within walking distance but it's also a short T ride. If I ever make it back to Boston, which I plan to, I'll be staying here again! I gave this hotel 2 stars for "Amenities" - there was no ice machine on my floor (I banged up my knee while sight seeing and a bag of ice would have been helpful, alas none to be found!) and while they advertise free high speed internet, there was actually a $9.99 fee per day to connect to their wireless network. There was a 100 minute free trial but I feel that if I can get free wireless in every McDonald's then it should be in every hotel. Otherwise, a wonderful stay in a beautiful part of Boston. The staff were courteous and professional as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Cask 'n Flagon - best sports bar in the country (according to ESPN) - it won't disappoint! Try the nachos!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Great location

The hotel was in the perfect spot for getting around the city. It is about a block from the "T", and we could see Fenway Park from our window. We rented the Jr. Suite, and had plenty of room. It had a seperate living room, and good size bedroom. It is all older style (hotel is over 100 years old), but it was clean. The only downfall with this location is that it is near some busy streets, so it gets a little loud early in the morning. It worked for us, since we are usually up early anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the public transportation system, it is fantastic, and will take you anywhere you need to go for $2 each way. Parking a car will cost you at least $40 per day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GetSushiDownstairs
Business
Bronx, NY, USA
Sep 27, 2011

great for red sox game

My fiance and I stayed here overnight for a Red Sox game - it was perfect for just that. Great location, about a three-minute walk to Fenway, and plenty of bars along the way to duck into before/after the game. Our room was on the small side - as they usually are in older hotels - and kind of awkwardly-shaped. But for a short visit, it was just fine. Only wish the room and the parking next door was less expensive, but it's probably just b/c the Yankees were in town.... Sushi place downstairs is AMAZING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ngoat
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Sep 17, 2011

For whatever you are doing in Boston

Location couldn't been any better. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Math Maven
Business
Ridgewood, NJ, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great Location!

The Buckminster is a good value hotel in a prime location. It is right next to Fenway Park (which can cause some traffic issues) and Boston University as well as the T. The king size bed was especially comfortable and the (included) continental breakfast was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dining in Boston's North End Italian restaurants was great despite the crowds. Not having a reservation was a problem so next time we will call ahead to reserve a table. We took the T to Government Center and walked the rest of the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Never comin' back
Business
california
Aug 24, 2011

Way overpriced

this hotel is old, creaky, noisy and just has no charm. It's only selling point is that it is near Boston University. Bathrooms small and cramped. Towels tiny and thin. They seem like they are saving pennies, and in doing so, destroy any convenience or amenities. Way overpriced for what is offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay elsewhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Jul 31, 2011

Buckminster

Was over priced. had to pay to park there too. Bathroom door would not close, door knob was broken...yet the desk knew about it. Stains on the carpet, small and old TV's, handle on mini fridge was broken. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Sox are right outside the back door, yes there is a back door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top