$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2015 Check-out: Aug 11, 2015

Boston Hotel Buckminster

3 stars
View map of 645 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Boston Hotel Buckminster

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LB Biz
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Solid Location

Nice hotel conveniently located. Cant get any closer to Fenway Park !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LB Biz
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Solid Location

Nice hotel conveniently located. Cant get any closer to Fenway Park !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PghBub
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 30, 2011

I don't think there is a greater value anywhere in Boston...

Overall this is a beautiful historic building with modern and clean rooms. The price was way below any other nice hotel close to downtown Boston. It was very simple to get from Logan int'l airport: a short bus shuttle to the T line, one transfer from the blue line to the green line (B, C or D), hop off at Kenmore, you're steps to the hotel - total time about 20-30 minutes. I could see Fenway Park from my room and beautiful Back Bay is a couple of blocks away! Cambridge is also within walking distance but it's also a short T ride. If I ever make it back to Boston, which I plan to, I'll be staying here again! I gave this hotel 2 stars for "Amenities" - there was no ice machine on my floor (I banged up my knee while sight seeing and a bag of ice would have been helpful, alas none to be found!) and while they advertise free high speed internet, there was actually a $9.99 fee per day to connect to their wireless network. There was a 100 minute free trial but I feel that if I can get free wireless in every McDonald's then it should be in every hotel. Otherwise, a wonderful stay in a beautiful part of Boston. The staff were courteous and professional as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Cask 'n Flagon - best sports bar in the country (according to ESPN) - it won't disappoint! Try the nachos!!

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Great location

The hotel was in the perfect spot for getting around the city. It is about a block from the "T", and we could see Fenway Park from our window. We rented the Jr. Suite, and had plenty of room. It had a seperate living room, and good size bedroom. It is all older style (hotel is over 100 years old), but it was clean. The only downfall with this location is that it is near some busy streets, so it gets a little loud early in the morning. It worked for us, since we are usually up early anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the public transportation system, it is fantastic, and will take you anywhere you need to go for $2 each way. Parking a car will cost you at least $40 per day.

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GetSushiDownstairs
Business
Bronx, NY, USA
Sep 27, 2011

great for red sox game

My fiance and I stayed here overnight for a Red Sox game - it was perfect for just that. Great location, about a three-minute walk to Fenway, and plenty of bars along the way to duck into before/after the game. Our room was on the small side - as they usually are in older hotels - and kind of awkwardly-shaped. But for a short visit, it was just fine. Only wish the room and the parking next door was less expensive, but it's probably just b/c the Yankees were in town.... Sushi place downstairs is AMAZING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GetSushiDownstairs
Business
Bronx, NY, USA
Sep 27, 2011

great for red sox game

My fiance and I stayed here overnight for a Red Sox game - it was perfect for just that. Great location, about a three-minute walk to Fenway, and plenty of bars along the way to duck into before/after the game. Our room was on the small side - as they usually are in older hotels - and kind of awkwardly-shaped. But for a short visit, it was just fine. Only wish the room and the parking next door was less expensive, but it's probably just b/c the Yankees were in town.... Sushi place downstairs is AMAZING

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ngoat
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Sep 17, 2011

For whatever you are doing in Boston

Location couldn't been any better. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Math Maven
Business
Ridgewood, NJ, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Great Location!

The Buckminster is a good value hotel in a prime location. It is right next to Fenway Park (which can cause some traffic issues) and Boston University as well as the T. The king size bed was especially comfortable and the (included) continental breakfast was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dining in Boston's North End Italian restaurants was great despite the crowds. Not having a reservation was a problem so next time we will call ahead to reserve a table. We took the T to Government Center and walked the rest of the way.

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Never comin' back
Business
california
Aug 24, 2011

Way overpriced

this hotel is old, creaky, noisy and just has no charm. It's only selling point is that it is near Boston University. Bathrooms small and cramped. Towels tiny and thin. They seem like they are saving pennies, and in doing so, destroy any convenience or amenities. Way overpriced for what is offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay elsewhere.

Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Jul 31, 2011

Buckminster

Was over priced. had to pay to park there too. Bathroom door would not close, door knob was broken...yet the desk knew about it. Stains on the carpet, small and old TV's, handle on mini fridge was broken. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Sox are right outside the back door, yes there is a back door.

Back to menu Return to top