$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Boston Hotel Buckminster

3 stars
View map of 645 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Boston Hotel Buckminster

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Lemur
Business
NYC
Dec 10, 2012

Really cool old style hotel

Quiet, with great views and big, well-proportioned rooms, excellent bedding and super-nice staff (who gave me a free upgrade to a suite). Excellent value--I'd recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Glass Flowers at the Peabody Museum at Harvard and the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum are the two best things to see in Boston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mayer
Business
Hangzhou, China
Dec 5, 2012

Convenient

It's close to bank, post office, subway, BU, and MIT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ultrasuede
Business
N. Carolina
Nov 19, 2012

Great location, nice hotel

I enjoyed my three-night stay at the Buckminster during my mini-vacation in Boston, and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay near the "T" subway line. My room (third floor, along Brookline Ave) was comfortable, clean, and not too big nor small. The bed was very comfortable, TV worked great, and it was nice to have a refrigerator (and microwave, although I didn't need it). The bathroom was clean and the shower worked very nicely. I was impressed with the thick and clean vinyl shower curtain. I'm not the heaviest of sleepers, so based on other reviews I've read of this hotel, I wore earplugs to help reduce the street noise or being awakened by doors closing down the hallway. The window for my room did a nice job of dampening the traffic and other noise, but rumbling trucks going by on Brookline Ave were still audible enough that I could hear them even while wearing earplugs. Still, I was able to sleep pretty well all three nights. The hotel is very close to the Kenmore stop on the subway's Green Line, so it was very easy to use the subway to get around Boston. And being near Fenway Park and some beautiful buildings along Beacon St and Commonwealth Ave was a nice bonus. I'd be glad to stay at the Buckminster the next time I visit Boston...I got a much lower price there than I could find for hotels closer into the heart of Boston, and it's a relatively quick ride on the subway to get to where you want to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Landsdowne (Irish pub) is a quick ten-minute walk from the hotel -- go down Brookline Ave and take a left on Landsdowne St, walk past Fenway Park and the House of Blues, and you'll see the Landsdowne on the left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OpFocus Road Warrior
Business
Nashville
Nov 9, 2012

Nice hotel in Kenmroe Sq

Nice place right below CITGO! Got free upgrade to suite. Whoo Hoo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hynes Convention Center has lots of restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashley B from NC
Business
Greenville, NC
Aug 28, 2012

Great trip to fenway

Hotel location perfect for going to red sox game. We could see the stadium from our room. Located very close to subway for travel around Boston. Hotel very clean and staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fenway park just around the corner. Perfect walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelling Steady
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 11, 2012

Perfect Stay

This gorgeous hotel has small rooms, yes BUT what a view! My hotel room faced FenWay Park: I couldn't have asked for more. The housekeeping team were polite, very tidy & they're willing to return to clean your room if you had the DND sign on your door for part of the day. Maintenance was very speedy. When I 1st checked in, I was having issues getting hot water to come through. I called down to the front desk & they were there in less than 10min. The breakfast is a continental but for that, it's kept well stocked by the staff while people are eating & it's laid out perfectly. I asked the front desk for some directions to a nice little diner close by. It was further than they had stated but still, the guys were very helpful. Every time I returned from being out they looked up, greeted you & were ready for talk: small or large. I loved this hotel, I loved my room & its view & should I find myself back in Boston this hotel will be where I return - hopefully I can request my same room again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
red sox fan 17
Business
morgantown, wv
Aug 8, 2012

great for fenway

hotel is fine location great staff is friendly very convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to fenway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelling Steady
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 14, 2012

No problems, great place!

Checked in early (around noon) because my flight was in early & they were so graceful in assisting me. The hot water wouldn't immediately kick on & maintanance responded immediately to assist. Housekeeping was extremely friendly, kept the room well maintained... truly enjoyed the stay here & would definitely advise staying here! Right up the street from Fenway Park, amazing view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Textin' Gipp
Business
Roanoke, VA
May 9, 2012

Great Starting Point For First Trip to Boston

Not only was the hotel right across from historic Fenway Park, it was also one block away from the subway. There was a McDonald's and a Dunkin' Donuts across the street as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't go to Boston Common at night. It was very sketchy regarding the individuals hanging around there and the lighting was not good. We did not feel safe at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kirsten M
Business
Rhode Island
Mar 5, 2012

Great location!

I read some of the bad reviews about this place on here and I expected a lot worse than it was. You cannot beat the location for the price. Yeah, it could use some serious updating, the room was bland and could use artwork, there was exposed plywood by the sink; its not a hotel you would spend a honeymoon. But it really just isnt that bad. Staff was great, bed was comfortable, couch was comfortable. Right next to Fenway, lots of restraunts, lots of bars, House of Blues, tons to do. I would definitly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top