$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

Boston Hotel Buckminster

3 stars
View map of 645 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
133 reviews
Great location, clean rooms

Kenmore station was just 3 mins walk from the hotel. Room was spacious, and the toilet was clean too. See full review

  • Jeankim
  • Nov 25, 2014
Great hotel!

I had a great stay at the hotel. It was located near the T and right near Fenway! Lots of history... See full review

  • Travelin' Man82
  • Nov 24, 2014
Built in 1897, the historic Boston Hotel Buckminster was one of the first hotels built in the Boston area. The hotel was designed by renowned architect Stanford White, who also designed the Boston Public Library as well as many of the elegant Back Bay townhouses on Beacon Street. The hotel is located on the triangular intersection of Beacon Street and Brookline Avenue in Boston's Kenmore Square. Today the Boston Hotel Buckminster stands as the "Heart of Kenmore Square", offering 116 guest rooms and suites as Boston's only true Budget Hotel. The Boston Hotel Buckminster's location is second to none in the City of Boston, as it is the closest hotel to both Fenway Park and Boston University. The hotel serves visitors to the Back Bay and Downtown Boston areas year round and provides easy access to the Kenmore Station on Boston's Subway System and is within a short walk to the vast majority of Boston's attractions. Parking is available for a fee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Boston Hotel Buckminster also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Boston Hotel Buckminster Rooms

Deluxe Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 1 Queen bed, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.
Deluxe Double Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 2 Queen beds, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.3 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.3 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 2.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.5 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 2.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 4 mi
  • Castle Island: 4.5 mi

Dining

Fenway American Bistro
Featuring American dishes with regional New England cuisine, using use local crafted or farmed items to offer the freshest ingredients possible. Offering appetizers, sandwiches, the freshest fish and burgers, Maine lobster sliders, Boston cream pie, to a great steak " something for everyone. Our wines list features up and coming wines, and the beer list boasts some of the best New England brews and of course fan favorites. The atmosphere is both casual and relaxing for sport fans, after work get-togethers, and neighborhood dining. Located in historic part of Boston, across from Fenway Park, the restaurant is decorated in rich tones of amber and blue. Pictures of historic Boston abound with a nod to old time baseball. Kitchen open 6:30am " 11pm with the Bar opened until 12am. Breakfast is served 6:30am-10:30am Monday " Friday. Saturday and Sunday 6:30am " 12pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Boston Hotel Buckminster

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VEBO
Business
Michigan
Dec 20, 2012

Good location

This hotel is in Kenmore Square, which is an excellent location for Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelor on a budget
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 17, 2012

Great location/Good Place to Stay

I've stayed at the Buckmister about 5 times and consider is a solid "good place to stay." I've always received a good rate, the location is perfect for me, and the rooms have everything you need. In my experience some rooms are nicer than other rooms (some have new TV's and furniture and some have older) but all the rooms are clean and comfortable. The one thing I think they could improve is making outlets easier to access to plug in a laptop or charge a phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk over to the other side of Fenway park to Kilmarnock Street & Peterborough and check out the food there. Thorton's Grill and El Pelón are great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rxleakem
Business
Vermont
Dec 12, 2012

Great value and location for Boston stay

Stayed here for the first time - impressed with the great value as well as easy access to all that Boston has to offer. Reminds me of the hotels I have stayed in on a recent trip to Europe. Included breakfast in the morning offered a great start to the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to the T and the whole city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Lemur
Business
NYC
Dec 10, 2012

Really cool old style hotel

Quiet, with great views and big, well-proportioned rooms, excellent bedding and super-nice staff (who gave me a free upgrade to a suite). Excellent value--I'd recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Glass Flowers at the Peabody Museum at Harvard and the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum are the two best things to see in Boston.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mayer
Business
Hangzhou, China
Dec 5, 2012

Convenient

It's close to bank, post office, subway, BU, and MIT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ultrasuede
Business
N. Carolina
Nov 19, 2012

Great location, nice hotel

I enjoyed my three-night stay at the Buckminster during my mini-vacation in Boston, and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay near the "T" subway line. My room (third floor, along Brookline Ave) was comfortable, clean, and not too big nor small. The bed was very comfortable, TV worked great, and it was nice to have a refrigerator (and microwave, although I didn't need it). The bathroom was clean and the shower worked very nicely. I was impressed with the thick and clean vinyl shower curtain. I'm not the heaviest of sleepers, so based on other reviews I've read of this hotel, I wore earplugs to help reduce the street noise or being awakened by doors closing down the hallway. The window for my room did a nice job of dampening the traffic and other noise, but rumbling trucks going by on Brookline Ave were still audible enough that I could hear them even while wearing earplugs. Still, I was able to sleep pretty well all three nights. The hotel is very close to the Kenmore stop on the subway's Green Line, so it was very easy to use the subway to get around Boston. And being near Fenway Park and some beautiful buildings along Beacon St and Commonwealth Ave was a nice bonus. I'd be glad to stay at the Buckminster the next time I visit Boston...I got a much lower price there than I could find for hotels closer into the heart of Boston, and it's a relatively quick ride on the subway to get to where you want to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Landsdowne (Irish pub) is a quick ten-minute walk from the hotel -- go down Brookline Ave and take a left on Landsdowne St, walk past Fenway Park and the House of Blues, and you'll see the Landsdowne on the left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OpFocus Road Warrior
Business
Nashville
Nov 9, 2012

Nice hotel in Kenmroe Sq

Nice place right below CITGO! Got free upgrade to suite. Whoo Hoo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hynes Convention Center has lots of restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashley B from NC
Business
Greenville, NC
Aug 28, 2012

Great trip to fenway

Hotel location perfect for going to red sox game. We could see the stadium from our room. Located very close to subway for travel around Boston. Hotel very clean and staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fenway park just around the corner. Perfect walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelling Steady
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 11, 2012

Perfect Stay

This gorgeous hotel has small rooms, yes BUT what a view! My hotel room faced FenWay Park: I couldn't have asked for more. The housekeeping team were polite, very tidy & they're willing to return to clean your room if you had the DND sign on your door for part of the day. Maintenance was very speedy. When I 1st checked in, I was having issues getting hot water to come through. I called down to the front desk & they were there in less than 10min. The breakfast is a continental but for that, it's kept well stocked by the staff while people are eating & it's laid out perfectly. I asked the front desk for some directions to a nice little diner close by. It was further than they had stated but still, the guys were very helpful. Every time I returned from being out they looked up, greeted you & were ready for talk: small or large. I loved this hotel, I loved my room & its view & should I find myself back in Boston this hotel will be where I return - hopefully I can request my same room again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
red sox fan 17
Business
morgantown, wv
Aug 8, 2012

great for fenway

hotel is fine location great staff is friendly very convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to fenway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top