$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Boston Hotel Buckminster

3 stars
View map of 645 Beacon Street, Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
133 reviews
Great location, clean rooms

Kenmore station was just 3 mins walk from the hotel. Room was spacious, and the toilet was clean too. See full review

  • Jeankim
  • Nov 25, 2014
Great hotel!

I had a great stay at the hotel. It was located near the T and right near Fenway! Lots of history... See full review

  • Travelin' Man82
  • Nov 24, 2014
Built in 1897, the historic Boston Hotel Buckminster was one of the first hotels built in the Boston area. The hotel was designed by renowned architect Stanford White, who also designed the Boston Public Library as well as many of the elegant Back Bay townhouses on Beacon Street. The hotel is located on the triangular intersection of Beacon Street and Brookline Avenue in Boston's Kenmore Square. Today the Boston Hotel Buckminster stands as the "Heart of Kenmore Square", offering 116 guest rooms and suites as Boston's only true Budget Hotel. The Boston Hotel Buckminster's location is second to none in the City of Boston, as it is the closest hotel to both Fenway Park and Boston University. The hotel serves visitors to the Back Bay and Downtown Boston areas year round and provides easy access to the Kenmore Station on Boston's Subway System and is within a short walk to the vast majority of Boston's attractions. Parking is available for a fee.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Boston Hotel Buckminster also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Boston Hotel Buckminster Rooms

Deluxe Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 1 Queen bed, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.
Deluxe Double Queen
These Standard Guest rooms include 2 Queen beds, a comfortable sitting area, marble bathroom,work desk, voicemail, microwave, and refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Copley Square: 1.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.7 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.8 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 2.2 mi
  • TD Garden: 2.2 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 2.2 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 2.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 2.3 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 2.3 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 2.5 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.5 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 2.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.7 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.7 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 4 mi
  • Castle Island: 4.5 mi

Dining

Fenway American Bistro
Featuring American dishes with regional New England cuisine, using use local crafted or farmed items to offer the freshest ingredients possible. Offering appetizers, sandwiches, the freshest fish and burgers, Maine lobster sliders, Boston cream pie, to a great steak " something for everyone. Our wines list features up and coming wines, and the beer list boasts some of the best New England brews and of course fan favorites. The atmosphere is both casual and relaxing for sport fans, after work get-togethers, and neighborhood dining. Located in historic part of Boston, across from Fenway Park, the restaurant is decorated in rich tones of amber and blue. Pictures of historic Boston abound with a nod to old time baseball. Kitchen open 6:30am " 11pm with the Bar opened until 12am. Breakfast is served 6:30am-10:30am Monday " Friday. Saturday and Sunday 6:30am " 12pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Boston Hotel Buckminster

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelling Steady
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 11, 2012

Perfect Stay

This gorgeous hotel has small rooms, yes BUT what a view! My hotel room faced FenWay Park: I couldn't have asked for more. The housekeeping team were polite, very tidy & they're willing to return to clean your room if you had the DND sign on your door for part of the day. Maintenance was very speedy. When I 1st checked in, I was having issues getting hot water to come through. I called down to the front desk & they were there in less than 10min. The breakfast is a continental but for that, it's kept well stocked by the staff while people are eating & it's laid out perfectly. I asked the front desk for some directions to a nice little diner close by. It was further than they had stated but still, the guys were very helpful. Every time I returned from being out they looked up, greeted you & were ready for talk: small or large. I loved this hotel, I loved my room & its view & should I find myself back in Boston this hotel will be where I return - hopefully I can request my same room again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sahmed
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Boston vacation

Staff were very friendly, and the hotel had everything we needed. It's a great bargain and would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris in November
Business
Michigan
Nov 26, 2014

Last minute stay

We missed our flight and had an emergency stay in Boston. After looking at a few other comparably priced hotels we came across Buckingham. We were very pleased with the accommodations. Staff were very willing to help and allowed us to get into the room even though they hadn't received the confirmation yet even after we went to dinner. Very clean and comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeankim
Business
New York
Nov 25, 2014

Great location, clean rooms

Kenmore station was just 3 mins walk from the hotel. Room was spacious, and the toilet was clean too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelin' Man82
Business
Washington
Nov 24, 2014

Great hotel!

I had a great stay at the hotel. It was located near the T and right near Fenway! Lots of history in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hydra
Business
shelton, ct
Nov 23, 2014

audition at berklee

my daughter had a 9am Saturday audition at berklee college of music. this hotel is within walking distance, thus avoiding the crazy boston traffic and parking. we ate in the hotel restaurant which was good and had gotten a $10 credit for the bill because we were staying there. we were delighted to read that our favorite singer , billie holiday and other great jazz musicians had performed there in the day!! the room was small but efficient and the great price made it a fine experience. there was metered parking directly in front of the hotel with a 2 hour limit. this worked for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

only wine and beer at the bar, but a stone's throw to uno for a shot to warm up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt N.
Business
Connecticut
Nov 20, 2014

Great Location for the Price

Walking distance to Fenway is a plus & great price for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzie2000014
Business
New York
Nov 20, 2014

Interview

Great for interviews in longwood area. Staff was very helpful. Room was clean and nicely renovated. Great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
izzylee
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 15, 2014

Pleasant Boston stay

Efficient check in & out, and a quiet room---very spacious. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eastern Standard has fantastic burgers and excellent drinks just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lorianne1111
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 11, 2014

Nice Staff - Not nice accomodations

I was very surprised to see the condition of my room considering the average user reviews when I booked was 3.7. I prepaid for my stay - upon check in I was online searching for another place to stay. I was looking to cut my losses and get out. Unfortunately, all hotels in the area were sold out. I should have known that there was a reason why there were still rooms available at the Buckminster. Since I visit Boston frequently, I will consider this stay a learning experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Hotel Buckminster

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Future BU Mom
Business
Lincoln, NE
Nov 1, 2014

Great location, great room

Our room was awesome and the staff were all very friendly and nice. The location could not be beat. Very close to the Subway (green line) which took us nearly everywhere we went. Also close to BU which was nice. We had a Jr Suite and it was spacious and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top