$385 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Boston Harbor Hotel

5 stars
View map of 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Boston Harbor Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1111111
Business
New Jersey, USA
Sep 27, 2011

CLASSIC

This hotel is classic so if your looking for modern, this is not your hotel. The good points? It was my husbands birthday and after calling ahead they placed a dish of chocolates in the room with happy birthday written in chocolate. The view was excellent. The staff was very respectful. Bad points? Our room key did not work multiple times and we had to keep going downstairs to the front desk. You had to pay for parking 30 per day which is ridiculous considering how much they already charge to stay there. I wish they had more choices for breakfast-it would be good if they actually had breakfast on the outside patio. This hotel missed out by not having balconies for such an awesome view. It would have been nice to be upgraded and maybe have 2 glasses of champagne waiting in the room The bathroom is anything but luxurious. The biggest thing of all was that the doors are like paper..you can here EVERYTHING and they slam shut so every time your neighbor goes in or out....yep! your waking up whether you want to or not. And if your looking for free internet..this hotel does not have it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NORTH END IS NEAR BY WITH GREAT RESTAURANTS

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
briguy
Business
Tinton Falls, NJ, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Save your money for something special!

I was looking for that special hotel out of town to bring my new wife, to make the weekend memorable. I spent twice as much as I wanted to, but I saw the reviews, and knew someone from Boston who advised that this was the place to be. Maybe it was the fact that I showed up to check in dressed in my shorts, t-shirt and flip-flops right off the plane, but excuse me, I was on vacation. I flew, knowing a hurricane was coming, and that I would get stuck, but I was going. The girl at the counter treated me as if my money was no good for booking through a 3rd party. She told me no room changes or "anything special" can be done because of that reason. They would not hold my luggage until checkin either. Day 2, $7 of change was stolen out of the closet, clearly not left as tip. The front desk told me I must be mistanking, that doesn't happen there.....I went to my room to triple check, to no avail. Upon my return he had a certificate for breakfast good for 1 person....gee thanks. When I told them I was stranded for another day and asked for another nights stay they advised me that booking directly with them would be "very expensive". I was so insulted, after threating to make problems about hte theft, they only then started to treat me like I had money. I grew up traveling around the world in 5 star resorts, being quite well raised, and my pocket is quite fine with $, but here they apparently judged this book by the cover. I booked my last night at the Boston Park Plaza Hotel, and absolutely loved it, at 1/3 the price. Wish I was there all 3 days, would have saved me a lot of money. I have been very succesful booking all my trips throug Orbitz, but this was not their fault. Fancy names and great atmosphere do not make up for rude peolpe. I have since booked another trip back at the Plaza, and can't wait. Sorry folks, leave this one alone, better just go in and maybe watch the free outdoor movie on Fridays. Never, in my life did I stay somewhere where they would not compensate me somehow for something as wrong as all of these things....I expected way tooo much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat out every meal......walk to little Italy, or Beacon st., or anywhere on the harbor. The food is excellent

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAPB
Business
City of London, UK
Aug 27, 2011

Central location with great sea views

Mature couple, first time in Boston, so the hotel is excellently positioned for the harbour and the city. Trolley bus tour starting point 5 minutes on foot, Whale watching and harbour cruises all within 10 minutes on foot. We did an "Odyssey" cruise on Sunday lunchtime, which although pricey was an excellent experience. Overall, it felt expensive by European standards, particularly the food and drinks, but you pay for what you get and the quality was very high. The hotel itself is airy, spacious and very comfortable. Harbour view rooms are worth the investment - don't go lower than 8th floor. Mixed feelings about the staff - most were friendly, helpful and absolutely first rate but our overall experience was severely diminished in the restaurant by two instances where being a guest in the hotel did not appear to be relevant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAPB
Business
City of London, UK
Aug 27, 2011

Central location with great sea views

Mature couple, first time in Boston, so the hotel is excellently positioned for the harbour and the city. Trolley bus tour starting point 5 minutes on foot, Whale watching and harbour cruises all within 10 minutes on foot. We did an "Odyssey" cruise on Sunday lunchtime, which although pricey was an excellent experience. Overall, it felt expensive by European standards, particularly the food and drinks, but you pay for what you get and the quality was very high. The hotel itself is airy, spacious and very comfortable. Harbour view rooms are worth the investment - don't go lower than 8th floor. Mixed feelings about the staff - most were friendly, helpful and absolutely first rate but our overall experience was severely diminished in the restaurant by two instances where being a guest in the hotel did not appear to be relevant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet breakfast at weekends is worth the money, don't have breakfast in the hotel on weekdays - everything is individually priced (and over priced!). Everything is walkable from this hotel.

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gottagetseafood
Business
Northeast Ohio
Aug 22, 2011

Grandma's getaway

The cleaning lady for our room was amazing! Couldn't beat the location, pillows or the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gottagetseafood
Business
Northeast Ohio
Aug 22, 2011

Grandma's getaway

The cleaning lady for our room was amazing! Couldn't beat the location, pillows or the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FLA
Aug 9, 2011

Location is excellent

Great for walking Boston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North End

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los gatos california
Aug 2, 2011

boston harbor hotel

They put us next to a service elevator and from ll p.m. until around 2 a.m. on our last night they were going in and out. I called and it stopped for a short while, but started up again. I can't understand why they needed to go in and out so many times during the night. We paid a lot of money for a water view room. And we have stayed there many times over the years. VERY UNHAPPY. [...] We had very good rooms in previous stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 20, 2011

Beautiful, convenient setting

Staff really friendly and accommodating. Would have liked to have a small coffee maker in room for convenience, and there was no where to sit outside and order a drink on its patio. Had to order a meal to sit outside in the chairs to listen to the music or enjoy the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
love Boston
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 15, 2011

Beautiful Harbor View

Spent Fourth of July week in Boston, nothing could be better. This hotel has it all. Beautiful harbor view, free newspapers, fantastic turn down service, most comfortable bed in any hotel ever, within walking distance to everything historic and Chinatown; inside and outside dining, friendly and efficient staff. Thick walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Whale watching cruise through the acquarium. Terrific.

Back to menu Return to top