$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Boston Harbor Hotel

5 stars
View map of 70 Rowes Wharf, Boston, MA 02110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Boston Harbor Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
briguy
Business
Tinton Falls, NJ, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Save your money for something special!

I was looking for that special hotel out of town to bring my new wife, to make the weekend memorable. I spent twice as much as I wanted to, but I saw the reviews, and knew someone from Boston who advised that this was the place to be. Maybe it was the fact that I showed up to check in dressed in my shorts, t-shirt and flip-flops right off the plane, but excuse me, I was on vacation. I flew, knowing a hurricane was coming, and that I would get stuck, but I was going. The girl at the counter treated me as if my money was no good for booking through a 3rd party. She told me no room changes or "anything special" can be done because of that reason. They would not hold my luggage until checkin either. Day 2, $7 of change was stolen out of the closet, clearly not left as tip. The front desk told me I must be mistanking, that doesn't happen there.....I went to my room to triple check, to no avail. Upon my return he had a certificate for breakfast good for 1 person....gee thanks. When I told them I was stranded for another day and asked for another nights stay they advised me that booking directly with them would be "very expensive". I was so insulted, after threating to make problems about hte theft, they only then started to treat me like I had money. I grew up traveling around the world in 5 star resorts, being quite well raised, and my pocket is quite fine with $, but here they apparently judged this book by the cover. I booked my last night at the Boston Park Plaza Hotel, and absolutely loved it, at 1/3 the price. Wish I was there all 3 days, would have saved me a lot of money. I have been very succesful booking all my trips throug Orbitz, but this was not their fault. Fancy names and great atmosphere do not make up for rude peolpe. I have since booked another trip back at the Plaza, and can't wait. Sorry folks, leave this one alone, better just go in and maybe watch the free outdoor movie on Fridays. Never, in my life did I stay somewhere where they would not compensate me somehow for something as wrong as all of these things....I expected way tooo much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat out every meal......walk to little Italy, or Beacon st., or anywhere on the harbor. The food is excellent

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAPB
Business
City of London, UK
Aug 27, 2011

Central location with great sea views

Mature couple, first time in Boston, so the hotel is excellently positioned for the harbour and the city. Trolley bus tour starting point 5 minutes on foot, Whale watching and harbour cruises all within 10 minutes on foot. We did an "Odyssey" cruise on Sunday lunchtime, which although pricey was an excellent experience. Overall, it felt expensive by European standards, particularly the food and drinks, but you pay for what you get and the quality was very high. The hotel itself is airy, spacious and very comfortable. Harbour view rooms are worth the investment - don't go lower than 8th floor. Mixed feelings about the staff - most were friendly, helpful and absolutely first rate but our overall experience was severely diminished in the restaurant by two instances where being a guest in the hotel did not appear to be relevant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAPB
Business
City of London, UK
Aug 27, 2011

Central location with great sea views

Mature couple, first time in Boston, so the hotel is excellently positioned for the harbour and the city. Trolley bus tour starting point 5 minutes on foot, Whale watching and harbour cruises all within 10 minutes on foot. We did an "Odyssey" cruise on Sunday lunchtime, which although pricey was an excellent experience. Overall, it felt expensive by European standards, particularly the food and drinks, but you pay for what you get and the quality was very high. The hotel itself is airy, spacious and very comfortable. Harbour view rooms are worth the investment - don't go lower than 8th floor. Mixed feelings about the staff - most were friendly, helpful and absolutely first rate but our overall experience was severely diminished in the restaurant by two instances where being a guest in the hotel did not appear to be relevant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet breakfast at weekends is worth the money, don't have breakfast in the hotel on weekdays - everything is individually priced (and over priced!). Everything is walkable from this hotel.

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FLA
Aug 9, 2011

Location is excellent

Great for walking Boston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North End

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los gatos california
Aug 2, 2011

boston harbor hotel

They put us next to a service elevator and from ll p.m. until around 2 a.m. on our last night they were going in and out. I called and it stopped for a short while, but started up again. I can't understand why they needed to go in and out so many times during the night. We paid a lot of money for a water view room. And we have stayed there many times over the years. VERY UNHAPPY. [...] We had very good rooms in previous stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 20, 2011

Beautiful, convenient setting

Staff really friendly and accommodating. Would have liked to have a small coffee maker in room for convenience, and there was no where to sit outside and order a drink on its patio. Had to order a meal to sit outside in the chairs to listen to the music or enjoy the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
love Boston
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 15, 2011

Beautiful Harbor View

Spent Fourth of July week in Boston, nothing could be better. This hotel has it all. Beautiful harbor view, free newspapers, fantastic turn down service, most comfortable bed in any hotel ever, within walking distance to everything historic and Chinatown; inside and outside dining, friendly and efficient staff. Thick walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Whale watching cruise through the acquarium. Terrific.

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm bay, Fl
Jun 20, 2011

Boston weekend

Great service. Excellent view of the harbor. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy has more restaurants than we thought.

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 7, 2010

GORGEOUS WATERFRONT VIEW

Pros: Super clean, waterfront rooms have spectacular view, staff helpful, professional and cheerful, great location. Cons: For the huge price (about twice what others in area charge) the bathroom was very small with outdated tub, and the overall room decor, while not worn at all, could use an update. No coffee in the room, though you could order "a pot of coffee" from room service $$$$ Also, ridiculous parking charge BEWARE--sign says "Daily Rate $XXX, then in TINY letters "out by 5am" Who's going to be out by 5am??? So they charge you double the day rate after 5am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MANY great restaurants right there at the hotel and within a short walk.

Review of Boston Harbor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Haverhill, Massachuttes
Feb 28, 2010

Romantic Night in the City

Boston harbor hotel is a wonderful place to take that special someone for a romantic night in the city. The only thing missing was a jacuzzi tub in the room, that would have made it perfect. The staff at this hotel makes you feel like a 1st class traveler. Very luxurious hotel, five stars all the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Capital Grille on Newbury St

Back to menu Return to top