$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Boston Common Hotel

3 stars
40 Trinity Place, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
61 reviews
Good place for overnight!

This hotel is in a great location, with friendly staff and a nice looking interior. We only wanted... See full review

  • JC Softball Mom
  • Aug 22, 2014
Good Value, Good Location

This is an old hotel. It gives you an nostalgic feeling. Overall, the room is comfortable. It is... See full review

  • Cter
  • Aug 11, 2014
Welcome to a quiet corner of Copley Square, where you will enjoy accommodations with European flair. With a celebrated location and long tradition of exemplary service, the Boston Common Hotelis an exceptional value in this prestigious neighborhood. In addition to attractive non-smoking guest rooms, the hotel features full-service meeting capabilities and venues for special events. The hotel invites you to experience this convenient and charming hotel when in Boston for business or leisure.

Hotel Map

42.3485 -71.0754
Area served
Boston
Nearby airports
Boston Logan International Airport.
Area description
Around the corner from Back Bay Station. On the corner of Stuart Street and Trinity Place.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Boston Common Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Boston Common Hotel Rooms

Standard room
Standard room with queen size bed, includes continental breakfast daily.

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Boston Common Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Boston Common Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
motrealer
Business
montreal, qc
May 23, 2010

boston getaway

good location, friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Common Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coppr
Business
Chicago
Jul 14, 2014

Clean, Quiet, Basic

Boston Common Hotel was everything I wanted from a hotel for my trip, but I didn't want much. Mainly it had to be inexpensive, in a location close to the train, and reasonably clean and quiet. The staff are very nice, and the price was right; I really liked the location, not directly ON Copley Square but only a block away. There is NO in-room internet, but my room was close enough to the "common areas" (where there is wifi) that I could pick up internet from the room. The room was small, but clean and suited my needs. Very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, decent desk and television. The breakfast in the mornings was basic but edible, bakery goods, cereal, and fruit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Common Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cter
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 11, 2014

Good Value, Good Location

This is an old hotel. It gives you an nostalgic feeling. Overall, the room is comfortable. It is clean for an old hotel. The location is perfect. I would recommend this hotel for a business trip. For leisure travel, the room is a little bit too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Common Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JC Softball Mom
Business
Kempton, Pennsylvania
Aug 22, 2014

Good place for overnight!

This hotel is in a great location, with friendly staff and a nice looking interior. We only wanted a clean, comfy place to sleep overnight, and that's what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

While there are many great places to eat in Boston along the Freedom Trail, the best value is a little sandwich shop across the street from the Old North Church. It's called Caffe Lil Italy. There is a nice selection of food, reasonable prices, and a vey friendly server.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Common Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Bostonian
Business
Boston
Jan 13, 2014

Great location, ordinary hotel

The hotel is in the heart of Boston making it very easy to get anywhere in the city via public transport. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are fairly plain. All in all a decent and bargain place to stay in Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Common Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Searching for a Job
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 1, 2014

Great location, suits needs

The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was warm and cozy. Overall my floor was quiet and helped me prepare for my interviews. The continental breakfast was also very nice. It doesn't have many amenities, but it was an excellent price especially given its perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Common Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TutorX
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 5, 2014

small room but wonderful location

Our room was very small, but perfectly clean. The front desk is not always covered (on two occasions I had to call a second time to get a human being to answer the phone), but when we were there the staff was very friendly. Breakfast is what you'd expect for free. The location is terrific: the hotel is next to Boston's Back Bay train station (Amtrak, commuter rail, subway, as well as Avis and Zip rental cars) and 3-minute walk from Copley Square and and the center of the Back Bay area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Common Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
powertone
Business
Charlotte, NC
Oct 29, 2009

Convenient and comfortable

Needs a restaurant. Dining away requires either a brisk walk or a cab. For the price, Continental Breakfast was Continental. Staff was friendlhy, not always knowledgeable about the transport system (T). {This was not entirely their fault as some request for directions took me beyond the areas with which they were most familiar}

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Newbury Street, a short distance away, has wonderful shops and restaurants of all varieties and costs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Common Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JohnRN
Business
Elsah, IL, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Excellent Back Bay location

The hotel is friendly and clean, but no frills. It's just fine for most purposes, without spending a bundle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Boston Common Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dirtloaf
Business
Conshohocken, PA
May 29, 2012

Good location

Very close to Newbury Street and an Orange Line station. The room could use some cosmetic work and modernizing, but everything was functional and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

El Pelon Taqueria is fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top