$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

3 stars
View map of 891 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02118-2607

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.2
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foot Travelers
Vancouver, WA, USA
Feb 16, 2012

Great stay!

We enjoyed everything about our stay at the Best Western Roundhouse. Having never been in Boston, we were looking for a place that had shuttle service to the airport and downtown, with breakfast, a microwave, and a refrig-at a good price. The Roundhouse fulfilled all of our wants. The room was very clean and comfortable with plenty of space and was cleaned every day, the breakfast was great, and the hotel staff and drivers were friendly and very helpful in assisting with planning our days, using the subways, and providing transportation. They were also willing to store our baggage after checkout so we could have another morning to explore Boston. We will certainly stay there again if we get back to Boston in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bison 42
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Nov 25, 2013

Great location for access to Boston and surrounding areas

I was looking for a hotel that was in a convenient location so I could move easily within Boston and the surrounding areas. This location was perfect for that. The T was within walking distance, the hotel shuttle was also available for rides to and from the city. Driving was also nice out of this location as it was easy to get to multiple places without having to worry about traffic. Free parking also was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hazelrah66
Business
Washington DC
Nov 7, 2013

Perfect for the conference

I needed an inexpensive (relatively speaking) place to stay for a 4-day conference held at the Boston Convention Center. I was able to take the hotel shuttle back and forth, which was great. When I did take a cab it was about $12 (with tip), which is good too. The breakfast was nice, staff was friendly and helpful (I ask a lot of questions....), the room was clean and comfortable. I visited my friend's room at the downtown Marriott, and my room was far bigger than his.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DonnaFS
Business
North Carolina
Nov 6, 2013

Good place to stay in Boston

This hotel is good for people who want a clean and safe place to stay in Boston that won't break the bank. While the hotel does offer a free shuttle to a few stops, we only took the shuttle once, since there was often a wait. We took taxis most of the time, and they were usually $10, which seems pretty reasonable. There was considerable noise from outside, which made sleeping not so ideal, but the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed touring the city on our own. A surprise was how beautiful the inside of the public library is, especially the top two floors of one of the towers. It was like a museum with all of the artwork and artifacts. Flour bakery was awesome and I highly recommend going there for a sweet treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Flour Bakery, 1595 Washington St.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GandL1
Business
Colorado
Oct 19, 2013

Great stay!

We stayed at the Roundhouse for 8 nights. Although not near all the downtown action, a $15.00 taxi ride got us there. Shuttle would have taken us to the subway but didn't care to do that until last day. Great little pizza/sandwich place across the street. Breakfast was adequate but sometimes crowded. Would definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza/Sandwich place directly across the street. Big portions, great taste.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Family
Business
Midwest
Aug 12, 2013

Family Vacation

Family of four summer vacation to Boston. Booked the hotel due to free parking, breakfast and shuttle services. Was not disappointed with the hotel or it's services(staff was friendly and the room was clean). Mannie the evening shuttle driver is the best! The only downside of this hotel is it's location(not the best part of town), plus you will hear police and fire sirens frequently. Worked well for us as we were gone all day and returned via car, cab, or shuttle each night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fenway Park, Freedom Trail, Prudential Center and USS Constitution are must see's. Sam Adams Brewery also very cool.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Mama Z
Business
Lancaster, PA
Aug 2, 2013

Enjoyed Our Stay

Loved the suite and the hotel building, very unique. The location is a little sketchy but this has no bearing on the hotel and staff. I am not a city girl but I really did not feel uncomfortable with the surroundings of the hotel. My family and I really utilized the shuttle service with much thanks to Pablo and Manny. Pablo and Manny were very personable, helpful, fun and answered questions. Front desk girls were also very helpful and friendly. When we first arrived at the hotel one of your housekeeping girls was actually the person who welcomed me and answered my questions because the front desk girl was on the phone with a customer. We enjoyed our stay at your hotel and would stay again if we were in Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do one of the trolley tours. This is a great way to get around the city and to learn history and fun facts.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joeduke
Business
Beaufort NC
Jul 30, 2013

Great location

Easy to find when driving. Has free parking. Shuttle service is great. It can get you to almost every place of interest. It even operates until 11:30 PM during Red Sox night games. Staff accommodating and courteous. Only drawback is noise outside of hotel - there is a lumber yard loading area nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MMshort
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jun 25, 2013

One Night Only in Boston

For non-Bostonians, someone from reservations should tell customers that 891 Massachusetts Avenue actually has an address in Cambridge as well as Boston, I lost an hour of my one night stay trying to locate by GPS. Staff were responsive and courteous upon arrival, the shuttle bus driver, Pablo, was excellent and reliable. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable; however; about 3 AM in the morning, a noise started that sounded like a factory was exploding until 6 am, it was unbelievable. I do not know if this was a once occurrence or if this is every night, but not knowing this, the extreme racket and disturbing noise would keep me from staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Atlantic Fish in Boston, it was fabulous but you need a reservation, no one told me that.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gourmet tourist
Business
Nottingham, UK
Jun 23, 2013

Decent hotel, location not fantastic

We selected this hotel as it was cheaper than staying centrally. The room was very nice, with a good complement of amenities e.g. safe, iron, hair dryer, microwave. Breakfast was very basic and rather disappointing. The main issue was that this hotel is around 15-20 minutes' walk from the nearest T (underground) stops. The hotel advertises its shuttle service, but we found this unsatisfactory: twice we were told that we'd just missed the shuttle and it would be a 45 minute wait for the next one. We didn't try requesting a pick-up from the T station on our way back. Overall, we had a nice stay, but forked out for a cab one morning and walked rather further than we'd intended on other occasions. Ultimately though, the bottom line is that we paid a lot less than if we'd stayed centrally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking to walk to a restaurant from the hotel, go three blocks down Mass Ave to Washington Street (10 or maybe 15 minutes) and look right. On the corner is Teranga (Senegalese and really good) and there are other places roughly opposite this (certainly a decent Japanese, and a Thai place that we didn't try). Don't settle for the Macdonalds next to the hotel!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Roundhouse Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Docman
Business
Manchester UK
Jun 22, 2013

Comfortable but with some drawbacks

Although there is a hotel shuttle service to local subway this can get busy and require a wait. That said, the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The let down mainly is the breakfast , basic but adequate but with disposibable plates and cheap nasty plastic cutlery , the knife virtually not strong enough to spread butter on toast. I appreciate there is an economic recession but such cost saving measures detract from what would otherwise have been a very comfortable stay in a city full of interest and things to see the Smthsonian Mall is wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic Senegalese and Japanese restaurants nearby. Head toward the hospital along Mass. Avenue and two blocks past it at Washington turn right at lights Japanese on left side ( next to Thai which we did not try) and good Senegalese restaurant on rt. side of the road.

Back to menu Return to top