$246 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Ames Boston Hotel

4 stars
1 Court Street, 506.756.7075, Boston, MA 02108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
51 reviews
Date Night in the City

Fantastic! Everyone from valet at checkng to valet at checkout was helpful! See full review

  • Amy Gildea
  • Mar 18, 2013
Boston night out

The Ames is a swanky little boutique. We had the room with the glass shower and per other reviews I... See full review

  • Ashley11
  • Aug 23, 2014
Historic architecture with a modern, minimalist spirit
History buffs appreciate both the location and original architecture of the AMES in the Byzantine-Romanesque Ames building. Built in 1893 as headquarters for the Ames farm equipment empire, the boutique hotel showcases mosaic tile ceilings, ornate staircases, carved marble fireplaces and dramatic arched windows. Designer David Rockwell added clean modern finishes and eye-catching decor. Now on the National Register of Historic Places, the hotel neighbors Faneuil Hall, Beacon Hill, Quincy Market, Boston Common and Boston Harbor.
Highlights

  • Hit the 24-hour fitness center or borrow bicycles to cruise the city
  • Minimalist guest rooms with soaring ceilings and a marble walk-in shower
  • Close to several subway lines and walking distance to famed neighborhoods
  • On the National Register of Historic Places

Rooms
Ten room categories offer a tailored experience in 114 rooms at AMES. Clean lines and an uncluttered minimalist environment mix with 12- to 14-foot ceilings, a flat-screen HDTV, iPod docking station and a mini bar. Enjoy Molton Brown bath products in the attractive glass-and-marble, walk-in shower with rain showerhead. Suites offer superior city views and more ornate historical details including original fireplaces.
Features
Find a courteous hotel staff the Ames and amenities that include a state-of-the-art fitness center open 24 hours, a business center, in-room spa services and valet parking (fees apply).
Transportation

  • Boston Logan International Airport (3.6 mi/11.4 km)
  • Manchester-Boston Regional Airport (53.2 mi/85.6 km)
  • T.F. Green Airport (59.9 mi/96.3 km)
  • Walking distance several subway stations

Attractions

  • New England Aquarium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Boston Public Gardens (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Boston Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Copley Square in the Back Bay (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Harvard Square (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fenway Park (3.3 mi/5.3 km)

Business

  • In-room Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Business center
  • Five meeting spaces that can accommodate up to 160 people

Hotel Map

42.359 -71.058
Area served
Boston, Cambridge
Nearby airports
Logan International Airport
Area description
Ames Hotel, located in the beautiful and historic Ames building, inspires both modern style and old world sophistication. An experience rich with elegant interpretations, complemented by innovative new design. Ames Hotel brings Boston and its visitors the dynamic experience for which it is known. Ideally located near historic Faneuil Hall and Beacon Hill, the 114-room Boston hotel offering an atmosphere that is at once refined and playful, a state-of-the art fitness center and suites accented by dramatic, Romanesque arched windows and original fireplaces. All guest rooms at Ames are non-smoking rooms. Ames Hotel 1 Court Street Boston, MA 02108

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ames Boston Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Ames Boston Hotel Rooms

Superior
Luxurious King Bed. Providing a contrast of history and innovation, the Ames guest rooms exhibit an elegantly minimal and sleek framework with details that pay homage to the original 19th century design of the building. The illumination and levity of each room is enhanced by light oak flooring and textiles, harmoniously balancing sophistication and comfort. Scattered details nod to the 19th century aesthetic of the original building such as the custom designed desk, a modern interpretation of Federal style, and the table lamp, while modern and sophisticated amenities give guests the utmost comfort, such as the white marble, walk-in shower with a luxurious rain showerhead and hand-held shower features. All guest rooms at Ames are non-smoking rooms. Other amenities include Malin + Goetz bath products, Flat Screen HDTV, Ipod docking station, wireless high speed internet and luxurious down bedding.
Deluxe
Luxurious King Bed. Providing a contrast of history and innovation, the Ames guest rooms exhibit an elegantly minimal and sleek framework with details that pay homage to the original 19th century design of the building. The illumination and levity of each room is enhanced by light oak flooring and textiles, harmoniously balancing sophistication and comfort. Scattered details nod to the 19th century aesthetic of the original building such as the custom designed desk, a modern interpretation of Federal style, and the table lamp, while modern and sophisticated amenities give guests the utmost comfort, such as the white marble, walk-in shower with a luxurious rain showerhead and hand-held shower features. All guest rooms at Ames are non-smoking rooms. Other amenities include Malin + Goetz bath products, Flat Screen HDTV, Ipod docking station, wireless high speed internet and luxurious down bedding.
Standard
Luxurious Queen Bed. Scattered details nod to the 19th century aesthetic of the original building such as the custom designed desk, a modern interpretation of Federal style, and the table lamp, while modern and sophisticated amenities give guests the utmost comfort, such as the white marble, walk-in shower with a luxurious rain showerhead and hand-held shower features. All guest rooms at Ames are non-smoking rooms. Other amenities include Malin + Goetz bath products, Flat Screen HDTV, Ipod docking station, wireless high speed internet and luxurious down bedding.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.1 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.1 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.4 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.4 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.5 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Copley Square: 1 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.1 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.1 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.1 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.4 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.4 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.5 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Copley Square: 1 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.1 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.1 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.2 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.5 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.6 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.8 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.2 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.3 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.8 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3.1 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 5.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
n/a

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Ames Boston Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley11
Connecticut
Aug 23, 2014

Boston night out

The Ames is a swanky little boutique. We had the room with the glass shower and per other reviews I requested a higher floor to get away from the street noise. We enjoyed this hotel and would return! We did not eat at the hotel and parked at the public garage on beacon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeebsNYC
Business
New York
Jun 25, 2014

Awesome hotel

Great place for business travel. Comfortable rooms, elegant style, affordable and delicious breakfast...overall great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bostonian Claudia
Business
Vermont
Apr 17, 2014

Nice hotel for the price

This is well located, clean and friendly. Beds are very comfortable and the room was upscale and modern. The only downside is that there is no bar or restaurant. It would have been nice to have a drink at the end of a long day without having to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VTsarah
Vermont
Apr 14, 2014

Rough start, great finish.

My partner and I won tickets to a 12:30 Bruins game at the Garden. We decided to make a weekend out-of-it and stay overnight rather than return to Vermont the same day. When we booked the hotel, I am positive that parking was included because we were only looking at hotels with this amenity. I called the day before because we were concerned we would not be able to park the car there before the game as check in was not until 3. The man at the front desk told me that it would be fine for us to park at the hotel and that we could check our bags if we wanted. He did not mention that it was valet parking and that we would not have access to our car without fifteen minutes notice. When we arrived, we did not see any signs for hotel parking. So I called again. The woman at the front desk explained they did not have a parking garage and that it was valet parking--which would have been fine IF we'd known before. She also mentioned that parking was not included in our rate. We packed rather quickly and threw things in the car thinking that we would be able to leave our things in the car while we were at the game. Instead, we had to look like country bumpkins who couldn't afford the hotel. I had most of our items in a bag my mother made that is open on top for the world to see everything inside. I was extremely annoyed that I took the time to call the hotel to ask about the parking situation so I would be prepared and that I was not made aware of these details. Upon returning from the game, there had been a shift change and the annoying woman who "helped" us prior to the game was no longer working. She had been replaced by a delightful man who was very helpful and made the remainder of our stay quite nice! The room was very comfortable and spacious. The glass shower even with the curtain was odd, but fine for us. The view from the room was nice and the hotel is located right in the heart of everything. We very much enjoyed our stay overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sleeping Giant
Business
New York, New York
Feb 3, 2014

Very Satisfied

Room was fantastic and the location was convenient for downtown and Back Bay activities. The fitness center was a plus, clean, modern and wi-fi enabled. Just be aware that the hotel no longer has a bar/lounge. It was closed which was a disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to/from South Station Amtrak Terminal.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRworks
Business
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Jan 28, 2014

Neighborhood gem

Great staff, attentive. Lovely room. Needs restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ttbsuzi
Mystic,ct
May 20, 2013

Perfect location

I selected this hotel for its location and advertised Resturant option. Unfortunately the Resturant was not open. There was some renovation going on. I only encountered 2 staff members, the young woman at the desk was very friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. The door person, did not speak, greet or question if we needed assistance. We walked by the hotel twice bevause there was no signage. No awning with a name. And the door person did not make eye contact never mind ask if we were looking o the hotel. Once inside it was a pleasant experience. Simple comfortable atmosphere. Once in the room, we were very pleased with the accommodations. Comfortable bed and sofa. Great view from windows. Spacious bathroom as well. Really liked the room. I would definitely stay here again. My only request would be that you ask for a higher floor. Street noise was present and for light sleepers probably a problem. Great location! Can not stress this enough. Close proximaty to food, historical landmarks, parking and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy Gildea
Weymouth, ma
Mar 18, 2013

Date Night in the City

Fantastic! Everyone from valet at checkng to valet at checkout was helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mod business traveler
Business
DC
Nov 29, 2012

Business trip

Unexpected pleasant surprise in downtown Boston. Spent one night for business. Super friendly staff. Clean, modern, beautiful room. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amymuffy
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 30, 2012

That was a fantastic stay!

The hotel itself doesn't have a big sign of hotel name, So it might be a difficult to find the hotel first. It locates at the center of downtown in Boston, and there are many nice restaurants within walking distance. I got a room on 15th floor, which is highest in the hotel although I could not see view outside. The room was eally modern looking and got a impression of a designers hotel. There was bar/ club (with music) on the first floor so you can drink and dance there:) however, u gotta be aware that water bottle on the table is not free. I realize that bottle had a tinyass sign says $8 dollar after that I took a sip of that water. Lol Overall, the room was super nice and comfortable to stay over two nights. Especially their pillows were so comfy and I was so excited to laying down <3 I'll definitely come back to their hotel for next time if I come by Boston. Recommend!!!!:D

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceanaire seafood was fancy and delicious. Walking 2 min from the hotel. Looks sophisticated so nice for business dinner too.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hess
Business
Illinois, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Business trip

The hotel was very convenient for my business trip. The hotel was nice, clean, but over priced for what you got. It was nice to have a restaurant in the hotel but the menu was limited and it was over crowed for dinner. you had to make a reservation 2 hours in advance. I asked for a 6:30 wake up call because the clock in the room was not an alarm clock. Never got the wake up call. I'm going back to Boston on Monday and have made reservations at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chunkybro992
New Jersey
Dec 28, 2011

Quirky, fun and zingers

The room even with an upgrade was not very big. Having the shower close to the middle of the room is strange as well. I despise hotels that leave out a bottle of water then charge you $8 for it. Overall though the hotel experience was solid if unspectacular. Woodwards downstairs is an excellent place for lunch...the crab hash is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Boston Massacre Museum and gift shop right across the street.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLPM
Business
NYC
Nov 25, 2011

OK, Overall

The location is great, right in the middle of down town and very close to 2 subway stations. Staff was kind . I would reccoment it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

any italian restauirant on the northende area.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cjlee
New York, NY, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Girls Weekend

trendy, clean & comfortable rooms, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check your hotel parking rates if you are bringing your car. Some hotels do not tell you how much it is unless you ask. Parking in general is ridiculous, especially valet parking.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cenhe
Business
ny ny
Oct 13, 2011

excellent hotel

staff was great, room was great, food was great location is great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jbakes
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 10, 2011

Ames

Great place to stay. I lived the hotel. Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Neptune oyster!

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mrbrandon21ish
Poland
Sep 5, 2011

Excellent Place to Enjoy Boston

We had a wonderful experience for a three night stay in Boston. The location is great for seeing many of the great sites of downtown Boston. It is also located right next to a subway station that allows easy access to the outskirts of town. Great service and GREAT ROOM!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pasadena, CA
Jul 6, 2011

Beautiful decor, outstanding location

When I walked into this hotel I knew I had made a good choice. Beautiful decor and the staff was very attentive and friendly. The room was clean and well appointed, getting some ideas on how I might redecorate my own place ;) The bar menu is great, very tasty cocktails and a beautiful patio to sit and people watch. The location of the hotel is in walking distance to most everything and if something was a bit out of walking distance the public transportation was so close. The only thing I could have asked for was complimentary wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
BR, NC
Jun 21, 2011

Modern, efficient, wonderful location

So central. Easy walks to historic sites, north end, Boston Common. Two central metro stops within one block walk. Quiet room with great view. Loved the historic building and efficient interior. Staff was very helpful. Comfortable bed and tasteful uncluttered room but lacking in a place to put your clothes. Did not appreciate the room refrigerator filled with items for sale and accompanying snack tray. We would have liked a bureau instead. Wifi should be included for free, given the room rate, and not an extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat one night in the North End!

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WGCinMSP
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 3, 2011

Great for business/couples/single

Excellent room with a view. True city style with business people in the building next door looking at us/us looking at them. Clean and modern decor. Free bicycles and helmets for a few hours for us to explore the city even more. Very friendly desk staff, concierge and door staff. Very small work out room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steinlabs
Allen, TX
May 24, 2011

Not for a light sleeper-but great place!

There is a subway that runs right by the hotel (all night). If you are a light sleeper this may be a problem. Otherwise, this is a great place to be in the center of all of the history of Boston. Half a block from Quincy Market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
May 24, 2011

highly recommended!

The Ames hotel is really great. The location is perfectly located near Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market. It is also very close to the North End. The rooms are very modern. The bed was comfortable. Good shower, clean rooms, limited noise. All of the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The building is historical too...it's the first skyscraper in Boston. There is no big sign announcing that it is a hotel, but above the entry way is "Ames Building" etched into the stone. We plan on returning to Boston for another fun visit and we will stay at the Ames hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston ,TX
May 24, 2011

Great location!

The Ames hotel is in a great location, walking distance to all the attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to attractions,dining and shopping

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Great time in Boston
Phila., PA
May 16, 2011

Wonderful!!!

Wonderful location. Steps from the freedom trail. Easy walking to Boston Harbor, Little Italy restaurants, Beacon Hill. Hotel is estremely upbeat in design, very clean and well appointed. Staff could not be nicer or more helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrs. fishy
nyc, ny
May 15, 2011

Sleek but Souless

we were there for a fun couples weekend. while the room is generally fine (high ceilings, modern amenities, etc.), overall we didn't feel like we got the same kind of personal care and attention that we generally expect. for example, we rolled into town thursday around 8 and had to lug our bags up the steps ourselves. Granted there were only 4 steps, but still, it would have been nice to see a doorman instead of loud music coming out of the restaurant. in terms of positives, the hotel is close to many subway lines and the staff is responsive when you call them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

check out this New Asian restaurant in the South End called Meyers + Chang.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
colombia
May 14, 2011

Excellent hotel

It is well located near t station. Rooms are comfortable and nice the same as bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 9, 2011

Cool hotel, cool neighborhood

Friends and I came into Beantown for Opening Day at Fenway Park, but decided to stay downtown. The hotel itself is unique and genuinely boutique. Cool, mod decor within what is apparently one of the oldest skyscrapers in Boston. The staff was excellent. Near government center, Faneiul Hall & Quincy Market are very close as are multiple T lines. Bar scene was ok, but the breakfast is really good. (Try the hash) The only complaint is that the (very large) windows have little to no sound insulation, so when some one started jack hammering at 7:30 on Saturday morning, it was as if they were in the next room on the 8th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Guilford, CT
Mar 6, 2011

Ames Hotel

This place is fantastic: modern, hip, clean, great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruins#1
Canada
Dec 31, 2010

Hip place, comfortable stay

Great location - easy walking to all the key shopping, entertainment and restaurants. Simple tidy clean room, modern and sleek.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North end restaurants bustling at night so get there early... worth the wait.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nbfitz
Business
Vermont
Nov 16, 2010

Great Location, price and hotel!

This was a clean and quiet hotel. The staff was super nice and very helpful. Bathrooms are a bit dark, but there is a great makeup light that helped. Centrally located next to the subway stops and bus transportation. Shopping and restaurants all with in walking distance. I would stay there again in a heart beat! Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bricco's Italian restaurant on Hamilton was fantastic. Short walk to some long walk for others, just follow the freedom trail to the north end.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oklahoma okc
Nov 10, 2010

Ames

Overall a pretty good experience. Close to the downtown attractions but also a lot of noise. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North End Italian restaurant called Pomodoro.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Del Mar, CA
Nov 10, 2010

Excellent stay for downtown Boston

Old charm meets modern decor at this hotel. totally rennovated, stylish rooms. Great for business traveler wanting access to downtown boston. Attention to detail and customer service were superb. VERY helpful staff, very professional. Reminds me of the 'W' but the staff is superior. It is a bit tricky to find at first - but if you tell the cab driver is is across from the old city hall you're there! Would definately come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ebi
Chicago, IL and Zurich, CH
Nov 9, 2010

Modern extravaganza

Super modern, clean , friendly all for a good price !! WOuld NOT recomend it for people who prefer old fashioned style or eldery people as the crowd is pretty young. Amazing restaurant and Bar. Great location- all of downtown is within reach on foot. Loved the bed covers and the shower- you can see your partner shower while you lie in bed ! ( theres a curtain though if you want more privacy)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sinead
Not Provided
Nov 8, 2010

Absolutely brilliant hotel. Friendly

Absolutely brilliant hotel. Friendly staff, very clean, very good location to all T Stations and shops and Quincy Market etc just around the corner. Can't fault this hotel at all ! Very Helpful and made my husband and I feel very comfortable and special on our anniversary and being a young couple we don't experience that in many hotels so this was a refreshing change. Definitely recommend this hotel for a top stay in Boston !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveller Plus
Hertfordshire
Nov 7, 2010

Stay here before it becomes too popular!

Boutique Hotel, very modern with minimalistic features. Staff execellent and bar/restaurant very buzzy and not over-priced by Boston standards. Be aware, however, that the building's solid granite construction means that the Metro reverberates in the bedrooms - ours was on the 4th floor - and is felt throughout the hotel. If you are a light sleeper this and the traffic noise may be a factor. But we would return - fantastic location for the Freedom Trail, North End and business centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eugene,OR
Nov 1, 2010

Great hotel in a great city

I spent a lot of time picking this hotel. The location is central, new hotel in an old historic building, the bed was great, love the room layout. We didn't care about in-house restaurant as we had plans to dine in the North End. I was a bit concerned about noise based on some reviews but stayed on 6th floor and it was great. Friendly service at the front desk. I have stayed at several hotels in Boston and this was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are in Boston and staying at this hotel make sure you eat at least one night in the North End.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisburg, PA
Oct 27, 2010

Fantastic place to stay

The location of the hotel could not have been better. It was centrally located and close to everything we wanted to do, the Freedom Trail, Salem Ferry, Quincy Market,places to eat etc. We also had Bruins tickets and were able to walk to the TD Garden easily. The hotel was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful in answering our many questions. The room was neat, clean and very tasteful as was the modern bathroom and amenities. We could not have been more pleased with our stay there. It was the best place I have ever stayed.I would recommend the Ames and definitely would return there myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City
Oct 24, 2010

Nice, but can be noisy from time to time

The Ames is nice, with a great central location. Hard to tell you're walking into a hotel lobby, however, with no signs on the outside. Even our cab driver drove past the door. Yes, it is near a Veteran's Homeless center, but it was never a problem, not even a hint of one. There were homeless people on every other corner in Boston, but we never saw anyone near our hotel. The walls are a little thin when someone has their TV on in the next room. The doors are loud in the hallway, but that may have been the kids next door constantly opening and closing their door while playing. The decor is nice, and it was really new, clean and modern in the room. The big screen HDTV was great since the NLCS was on while we were there. Hotel staff was good, quick check-in, easy to ask for an early morning cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizzeria Regina was a fantastic pizza place on the north end. Should be an ok walk across flat streets for anyone in decent shape. Just have to know where you're going. The streets change names a lot, glad I have GPS on my phone.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susan, Traveling Grandma
Alta Loma, Ca
Oct 20, 2010

Unbeatable location

The location of the hotel was great! It was close to mass transit, great restaurants, pubs, shopping, and historic attractions. The only thing missing was a coffee maker in the room. Even though there was a restaurant on the first floor, it would have been nice to have a hot cup of tea or coffee in my room while watching the news in the morning or after a long day of sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Freedom Trail was a block from the hotel.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mississippi
Oct 18, 2010

Wonderful

First trip to Boston, and the Ames Hotel was perfect. Hotel is great, and Woodward restaurant/bar a definite bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Oleana

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, Fl.
Oct 12, 2010

Good location, but needs tweaking

Staff was friendly but the beds were very hard and the Housekeeping staff would not remove and bring clean glasses daily even when we left a note asking them to remove the soiled glasses and bring clean ones. The rooms were very small with only 1 drawer to put clothes in and a closet with only enough room for 6 hangers. The bathroom was very large, I didn't understand why the hotel didn't use the wasted space to put, at least, a shelf for guests for their toiletries. There was not even a chair to be able to sit to read a paper or watch the wonderful flat screen tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The T was just around the corner and very easy to use.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Utah
Oct 1, 2010

Terrific place to stay!!

Very impressed with the room and staff, location was great. Enjoyed our stay very much!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
Sep 28, 2010

Good Location for the Walking Tourist

We chose this hotel, as part of a vacation package, because of the reviews already given, the price, and the location relative to what we were planning on doing. Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and our room was ready for an early check-in about an hour or so after (we had flown in on a red-eye flight). The room was small, but neat and simple; however, the bathroom had a weird set-up. A curtain separated the glass wall of the bathroom from the sleeping area. Turning on the light made it a bit translucent. Otherwise, as stated previously, the location was fantastic - everything was about 1.5 miles walking and the price paid was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take one of the trolley tours (not to be confused by the Duck Tours). You can hop on and off at any point during the tour, and the buses come by every 15 minutes throughout the day. It helps with the walking and takes you to a bunch of different locations throughout Boston such as TD Garden, Boston Common, and the USS Constitution.

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phila, Pa
Jun 25, 2010

Refreshingly superb service!

The hotel was AMAZING! From the moment you see the awesome building you are transfixed! The staff could not be any more polite, courteous, and friendly. The doors are opened for you as you approach. Spotless is the only words I would use to describe the rooms. The decor is chic and super stylish! Loved every minute of our stay and would go back time after time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The North End. HIGHLY recommend The Daily Catch and Mike's Pastries!

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 4, 2010

Ames is Good.

Room was comfortable and very clean. Nicely layed out, efficient. Comfortable bed! Staff was reasonably committed and friendly, except in the Restaurant where we found breakfast service slow and indifferent. Wish the internet was free, but it was of a good speed and not too expensive at $10 for 24 hours. Good quality bath products but not many of them, soap was worth taking on the rest of my vacation! Might go back, but would always check out what else is new or competitively priced... found the lowest price on [...], by $10 per night (my internet cost!!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto
May 23, 2010

A classic with a modern feel

Quiet, great service, beautiful room in a classic building and in the heart of downtown Boston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything

Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Apr 21, 2010

Great stay

The location was great - near both State and Government Center T stations and a short walk to the Faneuil Hall area. We loved the extra large flat screen tv and choice of channels, including HBO and Showtime. Comfy bed, quality sheets and fittings. Nice large desk and chair. We didn't like that wireless cost $10/day and there was no coffee maker in the room, but it was a very short walk to Starbucks, and we knew this before we booked. We did move rooms from the 4th floor to the 15th as we could hear / feel the subway on our first night. We recommend asking for the highest floor possible. We had no problems once we moved and the staff were accommodating. We'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daddy Broke Now
Chicago IL
Mar 30, 2010

Upscale Chic

Friendly and helpful staff. Great walk-to location. Room smallish but comfortable, even for four adults. Modern, spartan, but amenity-full rooms. Great bar and restaurant, but a little pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 27, 2010

Excellent Stay! Fantastic Location!

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We requested extra towels right away when we got to the room and housekeeping showed up almost immediately, which doesn't usually happen. The location was great for Boston. The hotel puts you almost right in the middle of anything and everything you would want to see there. The doormen and bellboys were always friendly and helpful whether it was helping with bags when we arrived, opening the door everytime we left or came back or hailing taxis. The only real complaint was that the bed wasn't very comfortable. However, everything else was above and beyond my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling for business and pleasure
ND
Mar 22, 2010

Nice Hotel

Nice hotel, good location, (but what isn't in downtown boston) walking distance to everything. Lobby bar and resturant are overrated, don't waste your time or money, drinks and apps start in the $15 range. No free internet access in the hotel, I was expecting free internet when you pay for a hotel that is supposed to be of this caliber, then when you go to print your airline bording pass, they charge you for that too. If you look around you could probably find a better place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ames Boston Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
linderlinder
Southeastern MA
Dec 20, 2009

Historic exterior, ultra modern interior

I loved our king sized corner room (Delux King) ay up on the 12th floor. The design of the room was very nice and the staff was very considerate and informative. Right next to the T, and the North Market, Black Rose, The Aquarium...I love this new hotel. I thought the price was a little high, but still decided to go for it. I will definitely come back to this hotel for another Boston Weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search