$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Wyndham Riverfront

3 stars
701 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
157 reviews
excellent

I couldn't have asked for a better room a better location and a better hotel. the staff was... See full review

  • ivyvvisitor
  • Jun 19, 2014
Cruise/Honeymoon

The staff was super nice and very helpful. We felt very welcome. The location was great couldnt get... See full review

  • WIFEY101
  • Apr 21, 2014
Renovated warehouse lends historic feel to modern New Orleans hotel
The Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans recently underwent a $9 million renovation. The converted rice mill now shows off original brickwork and plantation shutters. The modern hotel's fine art photographs of New Orleans in guest rooms and public spaces capture the past and present theme. The Wyndham Riverfront is situated in the old warehouse district and convenient to Mississippi river attractions and the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. The hotel offers amenities for business and pleasure.
Highlights
  • Historic look and feel of converted rice mill space
  • Convenient to Ernest N. Morial Convention Center
Rooms

The Wyndham Riverfront New Orleans's 202 rooms and suites cover six floors including some in the old rice mill and others in a new space. All rooms include down comforters and 100 percent cotton bedding, a coffee maker with Wolfgang Puck coffee and Numi teas, desk, ergonomic chair, free high-speed Internet and 27-inch cable television. Baths are outfitted with Tru-Blue spa products. Exposed brick, plantation shutters, 16-foot ceilings and slate floors highlight the Historic King rooms. Presidential suites provide living space that is separated from the bedroom. Loft suites offer bedroom lofts above the living area. 

Features

Guests can enjoy 24-hour room service, or choose the on-site 7 on Fulton restaurant where contemporary New Orleans cuisine is offered at breakfast, lunch and dinner and for cocktails.  Free Wi-Fi in the lobby is a bonus.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (15 miles)
Attractions
  • Ernest N. Morial Convention Center
  • Riverwalk
  • Cruise terminal
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Creole Queen and Cajun Queen riverboats
Business
  • Free business center
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Four meeting rooms for up to 120 people
  • 24-hour fax and copy service

Hotel Map

29.9459 -90.0648
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Riverfront also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Game room
Play ground
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.3 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.8 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.2 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Riverfront

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Riverfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Musik
Phoenix
Jan 7, 2013

Excelent and close to attractions

All location were in walking distance. No car is needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excelent dining in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Riverfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Suzy T.
Business
Biloxi, MS
Feb 22, 2010

Sex stains on the sheets, hair all over

The hotel had horrible service and staff, they could not find my confirmation number, there for I did not get a room at the original price, until the day of check out. They were rude about it too, I had fortunatly printed it out, but it didb't matter to them. Also the room had sheets with THREE sex stains on it, and hair allover the bath room floor like someone had shaved their privates and did not clean it up! The hotel would not compensate me any thing for that, we showed the manager the room too. She did not care. When you go to bed at night in a dark room your not going to notice the sheets until in the morning. You shouldn't have to in the first place! Very dirty room and un-friendly staff! Sincerly Susan Templin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Riverfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JBRI
Business
Michigan
Aug 4, 2012

A mistake

Poor staff consideration to problems and room was a closet. Location good only for those looking for a casino who were lucky enough to win.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Riverfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
shoes4ana
Business
California, US
Mar 23, 2010

a nightmare

This hotel is located close to the FRench Quarter and the rooms are quite nice. THis is when the good ends. The first 2 nights I have stayed on the 2nd floor and the noise was so loud it almost felt like the floor was vibrating. Turns out their laundry room is located at that floor and their machines might be 100 years old. The third day i was moved to a quiet room. When i tried to put the heat on at night it blew only cold air. I tried calling the front desk, the phone did not work. The next day I told the front desk who said they will look into it. When I came back to my room the vent was blowing hot air. I turned it off and when I returned from dinner I tried again to turn it on. After 30 min of waiting, the vent was still blowing cold air. So, i froze again for another night. (they have some extra blanket but is more like a sheet, not providing any warmth). My stay came with a free "continental breakfast". What that means is basically a coffee, fruit and a croissant. It also includes 20% tip for the restaurant. I had to ask for the voucher, because the front desk was not apparently aware of it. However, the first day, after 30 min of wait in the half empty restaurant i was brought an old croissant, frozen butter and fruit that was cut several days ago. The same old fruit was brought to me the next day, although this time faster. The third day was a charm, they were fast and the fruit was fresh. By that time I was so fed up i did not want to have it. So, if the breakfast is a motivation in choosing this hotel i would say do not bother. Also at the end they refused to give me a receipt because i booked through [...]. This is the first time this happens to me and I booked hotels with [...] many times before. Other minor unpleasant facts include the sink in the bathroom don't evacuating water and the fact they painted the hallway walls during the stay, so it was quite smelly. For a hotel rated 4 starts I think one expects more and for the same price in New Orleans you can do MUCH better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Riverfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lesson Learned
Business
Beaumont, TX
Oct 20, 2009

Beware of the Keeper of the Keys

Everything went well until housekeeping began knocking on doors and yelling "housekeeping" at 9:00 on a Saturday morning. Check out is at noon. I felt rushed to leave the hotel. I placed a 'do not disturb' sign on the door and took a shower. Would you believe housekeeping entered the room anyway (verified)? I checked out of the hotel and found all of my cash missing from my purse. Housekeeping? You betcha but the hotel will never admit to it. Nor were they willing to say sorry or please stay with us again. Unless you are willing to take your money with you into the shower, don't stay here. Watch out for the mouse traps under the beds also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't bring any. The staff may steal it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Riverfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jenlee
Business
Lafayette, LA
May 11, 2009

Windham

We had to switch rooms at midnight. Our service was not good. We thought it was on the water and it wasn't I feel like we were lied too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

They should have free shuttles. For everyone!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Riverfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Sep 1, 2009

Horrible

I spent time in the popular tourist locations in new Orleans. They hotel did not really offer anything spectacular. It is mostly just a room to sleep in, cable was VERY limited, site said internet was available for a small fee but its outrageously over priced and there is ONLY valet parking that is 32.00 dollars a day. I spent a weekend in the Platinum Hotel in Las Vegas and it was time and money well spent. I especially did not like that the rooms had bed bugs, we had bites all over by the time of check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Red Fish Grill and make sure your order the double chocolate pudding, its to die for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Riverfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Saver Mom Summer
Business
Pensacola, Florida
Jun 1, 2010

Not all it was supposed to be

I was very disappointed. For the price I paid, I expected more. Ammenities offered refrigerator, and continental breakfast--it did not state there was a charge for these. It took almost an hour to have the valet retrieve our car. Upon checking in, the hotel did not even have our information in the computer. Overall, very disappointed. I paid a higher price to be riverfront to have a nice hotel but I could have paid half the price, had free breakfast and free parking and taken the train in to the Aquarium/Riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Riverfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
raddatz
Business
Pensacola FL
Mar 5, 2012

Girls week away for Bday.

Very rude at front deak when we arrived. then we took elevator up to 3rd floor where we had alot of heavy luggage(4 girls gone for a week)and walk till we reached a flight of stairs (about 5) then walked down a long hallway and turned agin just to find another flight of stairs to walk down and went down two more hallways to reach our room. No elevators but the ones at the one end.Only hope there was no fire! I' m stage 4 breast cancer patient doing chemo on top of every thing. Would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Riverfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling Gals
Business
Raleigh,NC
Mar 25, 2012

Disappointed

This hotel was listed as a four star hotel. I would have to disagree with that rating. I would say it was a three max. There was no concierge, the bellman was rarely out front to hail a cab or get your car and the restaurant was poor at best. The package we booked included breakfast each morning at the hotel restaurant. What we were not informed of was that the vouchers only covered a very select few items which seemed to change daily. This was uncomfortable and took all the pleasure out if eating breakfast there. One day we were told we could order an entree but no drink the next day nothing on the menu was available except cereal or bacon and eggs. The final day we went with the weekend only buffet and the food was awful. From the over cooked eggs to the sausage that appeared microwaved. There are better deals for the money out there. I would look past this Wyndham hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Riverfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RickS51
Business
Newnan, GA
Jan 2, 2013

Money Stolen From Room

The room was clean and comfortable, but definatly not a 4 star hotel as advertised, 3 star at the most. Parking is a premium not an amenity, I used the valet service once during my stay, the rest of the time the car stayed parked. Over 35 dollars per night just to park. My biggest issue however was, I would empty my pockets each evening on the night stand, having a pocket full of change each night, I left it on the night stand. The 4th evening when I came back to my room, the change was missing (about 5 to 6 dollars) not a lot of money, but if house keeping will steal your change, they will steal anything. Luckily I didn't find anything else missing, yet. I reported it to the manager, his response was "if I liked, he would give me 5 dollars to cover my loss." It was like he was disappointed that I was accusing his staff of stealing, not that HIS STAFF WAS STEALING. I didn't take his money, I just took the lesson learned. the room did not have a safe, luckily I didn't leave real valuables laying around for them to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All of our dining experiances were good. Cafe DuMont is a long wait, but well worth it for their Beinets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top