$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

3 stars
124 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
86 reviews
Great getaway place

Excellent service and friendly staff. Room will spacy and quiet with good temperature control See full review

  • Brendan traveller
  • Jun 25, 2014
Best location!

We really enjoyed out location! The hotel was clean and everybody was so friendly and helpful. We... See full review

  • Mrs Zee
  • Jun 25, 2014
The Wyndham New Orleans, French Quarter boasts the unique honor of being the hotel in the Quarter to offer a heated indoor pool. Famed regional Louisiana cuisine can be sampled in Deuce McAllister's Ole Saint Kitchen & Tap, the on-site restaurant, where guests can enjoy oyster stew or Mississippi rabbit pot pie before watching sports on the flat-screen televisions with a local craft beer. Accommodations reflect the history-rich ambience of the surrounding neighborhood, and businesspeople can book Deluxe Double or Deluxe King rooms to benefit from high-speed Wi-Fi internet and work desks.
Key facts
  • 374 guestrooms
  • Heated pool
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • On-site parking
  • Laundry and dry cleaning services
  • Fitness center
  • Restaurant: Deuce McAllister's Ole Saint Kitchen & Tap
Neighborhood

The hotel's prime location on Royal Street means that an array of shops, museums, restaurants and entertainment are just a few steps away. Take to the streets of the historic French Quarter on foot, or rent a cruiser bicycle to get around in retro style. Check out the beauty of the rose garden and flowing fountains in nearby Louis Armstrong Park, or purchase tickets to a performance at the Marigny Opera House just a few doors down.

Hints and tips
Complimentary newspapers are available in the lobby, and front desk staff is happy to assist guests with booking tours in and around New Orleans, or directing them to the best bars and clubs in town.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0688
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelMUCH2
Cincinnati , OH
May 7, 2013

Location is the only thing good about this place

I ended up booking a room last minute in New Orleans. The staff was very friendly, but when I got up to the floor my room was on it looks like a prison. The room itself was not clean and the bathroom even had mold in the shower. The location of this hotel is the only thing that is saving it. For a few bucks more I could have stayed in a cleaner hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance there is a great art district. Local artists with some really great handmade artwork. They are always looking to haggle a price. Was able to get some really great stuff!

Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mikkiela
New Orleans, LA
Mar 18, 2013

Worste Hotel EVER!!!

The Wyndham Hotel in The French Quarters, New Orleans, LA: the moment I got there it was aweful, I had just spent 10 hrs in a car driving to find out that the King size room I PAID for and RESERVED a head of time was given to someone else and they gave me a very SMALL room with a full size bed (even though I'm still paying for king). Then I went swimming in the indoor pool and it was FREEZING ice cold. To top off the trip, the elevator was broken and I had to walk up and down a flight of stairs...not easy with luggage! I will NEVER stay there again! I am so disappointed...definitely not worth the over $600 I spent at that hotel for three nights...there are nicer 1 star hotels than this supposed "three star".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Hurricane at Pat O'briens

Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Looking to Travel More
Mason City, Iowa
Jul 30, 2013

Not a good experience

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. I wasn't expecting perfection but I did expect a better experience than what we had. First, our door would not close. We had to slam it to stay shut. Our shower head leaked and sprayed at the ceiling and onto the floor. Then the staff did not provide more towels after they had been to our room, so we requested them to bring some up for us. They told us they didn't have any more towels for us; however, after dinner they did provide us with some more towels. Next our remote broke. We thought it was just needing the batteries replaced. A VERY NICE AND HELPFUL maintenance guy came up and helped us out and as soon as he saw the door wouldn't close very well he grabbed a screw driver to see what he could do to fix the door. It did help the door close easier and he got the remote fixed. The staff never refilled our coffee after they had been in the room. We asked once for them to put some more coffee in the room and they said they would send up coffee for us. We never got our coffee. The elevator wait times were very long. At one point we waited in a line of at least 40 people with the 3 elevators. It took almost 30 minutes to get to our room. When we were in the elevator there were a lot of other guests that had complaints about the elevator and wait times. Lastly our toilet stopped flushing. We called right away to have someone come take a look. Shortly after we left for dinner so we stopped on the floor with the pool to use that restroom. When we came back hours later the toilet still was not fixed and the pool was closed so we couldn't use that restroom. In the middle of the night I went across the street to the minimart to use the restroom. I was so angry at that point with everything that had happened that I didn't want to stop and ask AGAIN for someone to come look at the toilet. I had just decided to wait until I wrote this review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are shops to buy souvenirs everywhere. Go to the places that state everything is 50% off. They have all the same shirts and souvenirs as the rest of the shops that charge more.

Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DJThomas
Atlanta, GA
Feb 24, 2014

Awful housekeeping

Shower had hair on the walls upon checking in. Finger nail clippings on floor. What appeared to be sticky spots on the night stand from a soda spill. I've had cleaner rooms at the motel 6. I wouldn' let my pet stay in this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Big Let Down
Texas
Jul 24, 2013

Don't walk barefoot on carpet

nobody cleaned room during our stay, room smelled of heavy cig. smoke, no free parking, cost $30.00 a day to park in hotel garage with no security provided, no carts available to carry luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

NOLA French Quarter not as Entertaining as it used to be.

Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lj...done
Business
San Diego
Apr 21, 2014

Not Recommended at all

The very moment we got in the hotel as you walk down the elevator you can smell it was so unpleasant until we OPEN the room! I checked the bed sheets it did not seem right the wrinkles and bedding so I opened the sheets , ALAS!....it was not changed, hair on it, stain of blood....I called the front desk and told them I was very upset as I have asthma it made it worse...and told them, right away I need it change! I did not leave the room until the cleaning lady finished it...she was saying, the wrinkle of the sheets was normal...I said, I have been in hundreds of hotels but it did not look right....the housekeeping must be in a rush and lazy to change and vacuum as we have seen some dirty on the carpet, I told the lady I do not need anyone to clean and come in my place until we leave after 2 days...I bought a room spray, and put used towels under the bottom of the front door so the smells from the hallways will not get into my room....very upset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street...the party place happens

Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DanielBKNY
New york
Jan 3, 2014

Wyndham should know someones running their name into the ground.

The worse experience in hotel stay i ever experienced, Want dirty disgusting rooms with no sanitary, no hot water? No garbage removal? Want someone who does not clean your room while your out all day, and try to wake you up at 8am on your vacation day? How about rude people at the counters that dont give you wake up calls, and when confronted acted like you never asked. HORRRIBLE!!! I WILL NEVER STAY AT A WYNDHAM HOTEL BECAUSE OF THIS BAD SPOT! By the way i have traveled all around the world in real poor places and I got 10X the service. I wish i can give them a 0 for taking my 1500 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Capin
Gulfport, MS, USA
Mar 17, 2013

Terrible experience, hope this is not the norm.

Would like to be contacted by someone personally. The hotel employees were extremely rude and unhelpful. They charged parking without permission to a card number given, they charged a $50 incidentals fee to a card and we were not told this fee would be put on the card causing an overdraft. The rooms were not as shown in the pictures or as represented. I surely hope this is not the standards that you go by. I sent my daughter on this trip and I have been highly disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gottkell
Chicago, IL
Apr 1, 2013

Awful Experience

Yikes! We had an awful experience with the Holiday Inn French Quarter. For starters 90% of the staff members we interacted with were unhelpful and rude. I'm sure they deal with a lot of drunk fools (being so close to Bourbon Street) but I find it unacceptable for someone to be rude, when you are being very kind to them. Secondly, the minute we entered our room, the toilet flooded (like wouldn't not shut off and flooded the entire bathroom and part of the room)! When we asked for another room, they said no and sent up a maintenance worker. He stopped the flooding and brought in some fans! I'm sorry but when you are on vacation, you want to relax and enjoy yourself, NOT watch around your soggy room that smells. Since the maintenance worker used all of our towels to sop up some of the water, we requested new towels in the morning. When I called down to the front desk, a woman answered the phone. I very nicely explained that our room was the one that flooded and our towels needed to be replaced and she said "ugh, fine!" and hung up!!! Last, when we were trying to arrange for a taxi to take us to the airport, the concierge was terrible. She yelled at us and told us to speak with the bell boy. When we couldn't find him, she said we could just call a cab ourselves! Isn't that a concierges job?!? Overall, I would NEVER stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MicheleFloTown76
Florence, MS
Apr 15, 2013

Overpriced, Good Location

I could have stayed in a much nicer place for 250 a night! Upon getting to our room, i open the door and the security lock was on! Scared me to death, I thought someone was in the room! Turns out it was broke, and i had to stand in the hallway forever waiting on the janitor. I got in easily on my own by just sliding my room key in between the lock/door... IT WAS BUSTED! Looked like someone had broken in to that room. SCARY! THe water takes FOREVER to get hot in the shower. the restaurant sucked and food took FOREVER! I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

MR. B's jazz brunch around the corner. BBQ shrimp. AMAZING!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search