$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

3 stars
124 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
85 reviews
Great getaway place

Excellent service and friendly staff. Room will spacy and quiet with good temperature control See full review

  • Brendan traveller
  • Jun 25, 2014
Best location!

We really enjoyed out location! The hotel was clean and everybody was so friendly and helpful. We... See full review

  • Mrs Zee
  • Jun 25, 2014
The Wyndham New Orleans, French Quarter boasts the unique honor of being the hotel in the Quarter to offer a heated indoor pool. Famed regional Louisiana cuisine can be sampled in Deuce McAllister's Ole Saint Kitchen & Tap, the on-site restaurant, where guests can enjoy oyster stew or Mississippi rabbit pot pie before watching sports on the flat-screen televisions with a local craft beer. Accommodations reflect the history-rich ambience of the surrounding neighborhood, and businesspeople can book Deluxe Double or Deluxe King rooms to benefit from high-speed Wi-Fi internet and work desks.
Key facts
  • 374 guestrooms
  • Heated pool
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • On-site parking
  • Laundry and dry cleaning services
  • Fitness center
  • Restaurant: Deuce McAllister's Ole Saint Kitchen & Tap
Neighborhood

The hotel's prime location on Royal Street means that an array of shops, museums, restaurants and entertainment are just a few steps away. Take to the streets of the historic French Quarter on foot, or rent a cruiser bicycle to get around in retro style. Check out the beauty of the rose garden and flowing fountains in nearby Louis Armstrong Park, or purchase tickets to a performance at the Marigny Opera House just a few doors down.

Hints and tips
Complimentary newspapers are available in the lobby, and front desk staff is happy to assist guests with booking tours in and around New Orleans, or directing them to the best bars and clubs in town.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9535 -90.0688
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Molly1121
Business
Knoxville, TN
Dec 17, 2013

Okay

Staff want not helpful at. All. Rooms were clean no alarm clock

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mr B's is awesome! !! A must!!

Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Molly1121
Business
Knoxville, TN
Dec 14, 2013

average

Room was very dated with old stained tubs etc. but clean. Staff was not very helpful. I was surprised by this. I was offered no help in where to park, unload, or anything. I had been driving for 8 hours and had a very nice tip prepared for any help, as I was exhausted, but had no offer. Oh well, the tip paid for two meals for me. There was no clock in the room, you couldn't see out the windows because the seal was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mr.B's is awesome and the service is fabulous!

Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jiu Jitsu Guy
Houma, LA
Dec 3, 2013

Great location, a little old, but clean rooms

Looking for a place in the French Quarter can be tricky, so I am not really holding any hotels there in this price range to the standard outside of New Orleans. The French Quarter is run down, which is part of its appeal, and so it this hotel. Not terribly run down, but it is outdated and clearly not recently renovated. It was recently purchased and will someday be renovated. Anyway, I wanted a clean room in a great location, and that is what I got. The hotel staff were actually pleasant for the most part, which was a bonus for me. The location is just perfect for exploring the French Quarter and stumbling home drunk. Parking is expensive anywhere in the Quarter, so be prepared for that expense or to spend about 30 - 45 minutes driving around to find a street parking spot and then LEAVE IT for the weekend and enjoy walking from your hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mena Palace is literally around the corner from the hotel and has excellent breakfast at non-tourist prices!

Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
willie2005
Alabama
Nov 30, 2013

Great Location!

I have stayed at this hotel twice. If you just want to be close to Bourbon this is definitely the place to stay. Really have no complaints, the only thing is that parking is $22 at the hotel. Other than that the room was comfortable, clean, and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the Harrah's casino. 24 hour parking for every 30 minutes you play at the casino. So just play the cent slots and get a almost free parking.

Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ party girl
nebraska
Nov 20, 2013

friends birthday

The hotel is getting old and needs some updating but the staff was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal oyster house was awesome

Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MtnLaurel
Business
San Antonio, TX
Nov 11, 2013

It's...okay

For the cost of the room, I expected a lot nicer space. The room was small and the decor would have been outdated in the late '80's. There was no easy chair, just a couple dining chairs. The bathroom was dinky and had no ventilation. The elevators were very slow and the doors tended to either close abruptly or not close for some time. And get ready to pay $30/night for parking in the garage(Sadly, that's a deal for the French Quarter). The staff, OTOH, were fantastic. Friendly, courteous and helpful. No complaints at all there. The location is also excellent, if one is looking for a hotel in the FQ.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

It might be less expensive to get a room away from the French Quarter and either take public transportation or park in one of the garages. Take a good pair of walking shoes, too, because you will do a lot of walking.

Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ohio cowboys
Ohio
Nov 5, 2013

French Quarter let down

Upon checking in .. we were informed of the parking fees.. Tho we had two motorcycles which take up one spot 78 dollars was a lil over the top. Seems how our 3 night stay was exspensive enough. a parking pass wasnt mentioned. Maybe you should give a card instead of me having to show a ragged receipt upon entering and leaving every single time. I had to inform them we needed new towels, toilet paper, we had no tissues, needed more coffee, and even asked for a man razor that we didnt receive. Upon exit the lady working the front counter did an amazing job multi tasking even though I had to wait quite sometime as she had groups of people checking in and she had no help. No breakfast accommodations were mentioned . As it wasnt worth the price we paid for my first trip to New Orleans.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Do all your research for hidden fees and map out your own tour guide so u wont be let down.

Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Decadently Entertained
Tucson, Az.
Sep 6, 2013

Pretty good for the value

Was staying through Labor Day weekend. Location is great--just one block from Bourbon St./ off Canal St. Staff was friendly. The only thing bad was on last day of check-out the hotel had to shut down the water from 7 am-5 pm. So couldn't take showers or flush the toilet before we checked out. Other than that we had a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dexter1
COS
Sep 3, 2013

Dated and not so clean option in the FQ.

Tired hotel in a good location one street off Bourbon. Front desk staff are friendly enough however this is where is stops. Dirty and outdated rooms, especially the bathrooms. Forget about maid service if you are not out of your room by 9:30 am and the maid staff do not come back later in the day for you late sleepers. There are better deals in great locations nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Potterfield11
Houston, Tx
Aug 26, 2013

Wyndham New Orleans

This hotel was just o.k., nothing special. The location is an especially seedy section of the French quarter as well. They also charge you $30 extra per day for parking, on top of the room rate, which is not mentioned until you're at the front desk checking in. It takes forever to get to your room via the elevators also, they are always packed and all of the rooms are on high floors, because the first 7 floors are parking garage. The staff was nice, the room seemed to be clean and was comfortable enough. The rooms are also very, very small. I'll pick a different place next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat lunch at KPauls only a short walk and lunch is a highly discounted price compared to dinner.

Back to menu Return to top