$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
732 reviews
Loved, loved, loved the Wyndam Baronne Hotel!

I absolutely loved this hotel! It's on Baronne street. A bit tricky to get to the destination... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jul 10, 2014
You can't beat it

The Wyndham is phenomenal. It's literally one block away from the French Quarter, so you get all of... See full review

  • The Knight Man
  • Apr 24, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (732)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 732
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MamaWendy
San Antonio, TX
Nov 28, 2013

Comfy but over priced

The Wyndham does not offer shuttle service to/from any of the major travel hubs, so our room ended out costing us an extra $30 for the taxi rides to and from the train station which is less then 10 blocks away. Breakfast isn't included, either. Check-in was quick, as was check out, and the night staff did make arangments for a taxi to be there at 6:00 AM. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The shower took a VERY long time to get hot, the the sink suffered from a slow drain--the bowl was half full by the time I finished brushing my teeth! For the $130 ($160 if you include taxi!) for 8 hours, it was too pricy. Not a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stanley crew
Pluma Hidalgo, OAX
Sep 19, 2013

Loved it!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in New Oreans! The location was awesome, and the beds were super comfy! Only down side was the small and expensive parking garage, but I'm assuming that is the norm for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

24hr Diner on the ground floor of the hotel was excellent! They had awesome eggs Benedict and 22inch pancakes!

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MICABEE
Houston, TX
Mar 13, 2013

1st Time in NOLA

This was a good trip. The hotel was very nice and clean. Staff was nice and attentive. Clean linen was supplied. Room was upgraded to a suite, Nice! Love the bathroom. No microwave, but did have a fridge. Double TV's were very nice to have since more than one guest. Beds were sooo comfortable. OMG!! Jetted tub was even better after walking so much! No "free" breakfast, but there is a cafe and restaurant adjoined to the hotel. Also, walking distance to IHOP. We just hopped on in! Other dining options were close in the area as well. Parking garage ($20/nt). But cuz it was so close to everything, vehicle didn't come out. 1 blk from Bourbon St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1blk up to Canal St, lots of souvenir shops and stores. Also, 3 blks up there is a really, really nice shopping mall (expensive stores). Decatur St is 2 more blks and more shopping! The Harrah's Casino, Aquarium, Riverwalk, Jackson Square are all in walking distance.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom that loves New Orlean
Down south
Jan 22, 2013

Wonderful family weekend

Was very troubled on arrival due to packed lobby with people for biker conference that we didn't know about. However everything else was fine except that the lobby stayed packed with these people the entire time we were there. But we didn't spend much time in the lobby anyway so it wasn't a big deal. Front dest staff were very nice & helpful. The room was small, but very clean & updated. The bed was WONDERFUL!!! It was so soft that I just sunk into it every night and slept like a baby. The bed & bedding were equally fantastic. Would definitely stay here again but will ask if any conferences are going on next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cajuns rule
Lafayette, La
Dec 25, 2012

Good location but scary parking attendant

I am at front desk for check in & they were very nice & helpful but before I could finish signing for room, Parking attendant rushes in lobby yelling at me to come & park car now! I had to leave desk , follow him to underground parking garage where he continues to yell at me & insult me because he thinks I'm taking too long to move car. He had me shaking as I went back to lobby.....not a great first impression of hotel!!! The location was good... easy to get around but no restaurant close by. They do however provide coffee & tea in room. Just beware of parking attendant....he has bad attitude and anger issues...I recommend to self park which is $20 per day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You will have to leave hotel for eating....there are a few litlle restaurants close by.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soldiers
ft. benning, ga
Aug 13, 2012

nice

It was an wonderful little trip with family .. will return with friends next Summer..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time en new orleans
laredo, tx
Aug 7, 2012

family vacations

services was good...rooms were clean and pepole were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

souvenirs.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yogabootyballetfan
Louisville, KY, USA
Feb 4, 2012

one night stay

we stayed at the wyndham garden baronne plaza hotel for one night after debarking from a cruise. the hotel is one very short block from bourban street. so once we checked in we just walked over to the french quarter and watched a parade and ate dinner. we did not use any of the amenities so i did not rate them. i paid for valet parking but the valet made my husband park our vehicle and retrieve it (the parking garage is right next to the hotel)the parking was an additional $20. no one helped us unload our suitcases from our vehicle. the hotel room was very nice. it had a flat screen t.v. and was nicely appointed. the hotel lobby is also very attractive. i would stay here again just for the location and the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is a very short walk to bourban street and dining and nightlife.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverview, MI
Oct 14, 2011

Quiet Retreat from French Quarter

Just a block away from Bourbon Street, close enough to St. Charles and Canal Street trolleys, reasonable fare at $3.00 for day pass. Great location for Harrah's and Jackson Square too. Hotel staff were great!! They were pleasant and oh so helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the St. Charles street trolley to the Garden District and check out the beautiful homes and the cemetery/mausoleum.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maybe next time...
Shreveport, Louisiana
Oct 7, 2011

Not Clean at all....

Well let me start off with the only two good things about this Hotel experience, the first was the Front Desk Staff they were OUTSTANDING! The second the Location it is only a few blocks from Bourbon which was nice cause as much as parking is, it is nice to be able to walk there. Now the bad the Hotel doesnt look as nice as it does in the photos I was diappointed. The parking is a JOKE we decided to self park in the parking garage of the Hotel and it was AWEFUL there are big collums in the way and it is extremely difficult to park between that and another car. The room looked ok but it was obvious the sheets hadnt been changed and me and my mom kept feeling like we were getting bit by something. I hardly slept and could not wait to check out Im so glad it was only for one night. As someone who checks this site and others for reviews I felt I was mislead about the others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top