$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
456 reviews
important appointment on Wed

My wife had an appointment the next day. We were within walking distance of the federal building.... See full review

  • J Alvin
  • Feb 20, 2015
My safe Buckeye Sugar Bowl trip

From the minute I arrived by way of the airport shuttle to the drop-off at the airport to come home... See full review

  • Deborah J.
  • Jan 6, 2015
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (456)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 456
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2 Disappointed 2 Return
Business
Chicago, Il
Apr 20, 2013

A roof over your head

My visit to New Orleans was entirely self-researched, so I have no one to blame for the decision. However, I knew from the time I entered the room, with a non-working TV, that the trip was going to be less than memorable. Staff were friendly, but not enough staff were on duty to help you when you needed it. The hotel provided me with a roof over my head and a place to be when not sight-seeing. There are a lot of nice hotels and B&B's in New Orleans. I will try another place on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the super city tour on your first day in the city, and find the sights you would like to see. It wii save you some time an money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frugal Librarian
Business
Austin, Texas
Jun 30, 2011

No bugs, no breakfast, not so bad

Other than a clerk reserving an excessive amount for incidentals (quickly corrected when pointed out), not being able to provide change for large bills, having continuing nosiy construction, not offering a real restaurant for breakfast, it wasn't so bad. One block to Canal and the Quarter, two to the St. Charles street car line. Makes an OK base for exploring the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deanie's is perhaps not as well known as other New Orleans restaurants but it offers really excellent service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J. Wow
Business
New York, NY
Dec 14, 2010

New

With architecture modeled after one of the underground layers in Super Mario Bros. the Baronne Plaza Hotel provides a unique lodging experience for those visiting New Orleans. Located within walking distance of the far nicer Roosevelt Hotel, Ritz Plaza Hotel and yes...a nicer Wyndham Hotel. Everything else was standard fare except the auditory experience provided by the hi-fi plumbing system that turned out sound effects 24/7. The hotel staff was very nice except the one chambermaid who was yelling into her cellphone that "She wasn't playin'". This hotel is not a game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
May 10, 2011

Filthy Housekeeping

This was a beautiful hotel with terrible housekeeping. The first night I arrived, the sheets had not been changed from the previous occupant. It just got worse from there. The floor's were filthy...when put towels on the bathroom floor to mop up excess water, they turned black. My socks were filthy after walking on the carpet in my room. If you don't care about cleanliness, then this will be a fine hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rich likes to travel
Business
Cleveland, OH
May 28, 2013

Great Location

This is the 2nd year in a row that I stayed at the Wyndham Garden and enjoyed my stay. The location is perfect with only being a couple of blocks from Bourbon St and a couple of blocks from Poydas St. If you want to get away from the noise and crowd on Bourbon St. you will have many choices on this side of Canal St. The staff was very freindly and answered all questions that I had. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rawnie
Business
Newark, CA
Jun 11, 2013

Good location, no fridge or microwave

Good location, walking distance to French Quarter, St Charles streetcar, Mississippi River. The bedding with down-like comforter was very comfortable. Room was facing an inside walkway. There was no fridge or microwave in the room, however next door to the hotel is a 24 hour resturant. My friend stayed in a room on the third floor that smelled a bit musty, like humidity had gotten into the rug. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jun 9, 2010

Okay

Holiday weekend with lots of noise. Beds were very comfortable and room was clean. Might stay there again if it was during the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to french quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
niceguynsf
Business
San Francisco
Nov 15, 2010

New Orleans vacation

The hotel was located one block off Canal. Right behind the Roosevelt Hotel. Had a gym and small snack bar open in the morning. The rooms are nice; pillow top and nice linens and flat screen television. I have a feeling that Windham has recently taken over the hotel and they are still working out all the details. No complaints except the water pressure is the awful. Goes from full flow to a dribble every other minute. This at midnight every night. Explanation giving to me was they new new boilers and that they will have to no water for two days. Oh: most of the rooms ONLY have windows facing into the atrium with skylights.This takes some getting used to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Commanders Palace by far the bast. Eat there for brunch,dinner and breakfast. very reasonable prices and food and service over the top. Do the cemetery and garden district tour at 11:30. Its a two hour walk and will leave you just enough time to have lunch there.AND ON MONDAY-FRIDAY MARTINI'S ARE 25CENTS WITH LUNCH!!!! HUGH AND GOOD!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AgentK
Business
New York
Nov 18, 2010

OK hotel

It was an average hotel. The room I got was pretty cozy with NO window. The AC wasn't working, when I told front desk the next day, they did give me another room with AC which was spacious. Overall OK but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lovednawlins
Business
Baltimore, MD
Feb 26, 2011

Adequate but nothing special

I was there for a convention at the convention center which was about a 10min walk. Good location for that. Was dissapointed in this hotel being a wyndham. The lobby was beautiful and the location was convenient. The rooms were clean and mine was an inside room which was VERY quiet. There is limited access to food places in that immediate area. There is a chinese or sushi place attached but i didnt not use that. I walked down the street to a strange pizza/bar type place. It was good. typical for the area. But being a sunday evening it was a little scarey as not many other people on the street in that little area cause is a business district. The staff was always nice and helpful. Very friendly. The biggest drawback i think was the lack of food places. I thought on the website it said there was a cafe with breakfast, lunch, and dinner. But maybe i was wrong. There was a coffee shop that made starbucks coffee and about 20 tables but i never saw a cafe or menu for possible food. And NEVER saw anyone eating there. SO i was most dissapointed in that for convenience. But overall the hotel was a great price (109/night) one block off canal street and about 4-5 from the riverwalk. Not sure i would stay there again knowing more about the city now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top