Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
423 reviews
Fantastic Stay at JazzFest

The staff was very helpful and the room was quiet at night. Very close to the Quarter but a few... See full review

  • Andrew C.
  • Jul 7, 2015
important appointment on Wed

My wife had an appointment the next day. We were within walking distance of the federal building.... See full review

  • J Alvin
  • Feb 20, 2015

An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.

Location

The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.

Highlights
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Fees

City Diner restaurant will be under construction until further notice.

Policies

A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.
Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 423
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2008

overpriced

THIS HOTEL WAS OVER PRICED, NO VALUE FOR YOUR DOLLAR. FIRST OF ALL THE ROOMS ARE ABOUT THE SIZE OF A OVER-SIZED BATH ROOM, DON'T LET THE PICTURES FOOL YOU THERE'S TINY. WHILE I WAS THERE THEY WERE RENOVATING AND THE WAS TRASH EVERY WHERE THE STAFF WASN'T HELPFUL AT ALL. THE SO CALLED EXERCISE ROOM IS A JOKE ABOUT 5 MACHINES IN A TINY ROOM. I WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN. EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maybe next time...
Business
Shreveport, Louisiana
Oct 7, 2011

Not Clean at all....

Well let me start off with the only two good things about this Hotel experience, the first was the Front Desk Staff they were OUTSTANDING! The second the Location it is only a few blocks from Bourbon which was nice cause as much as parking is, it is nice to be able to walk there. Now the bad the Hotel doesnt look as nice as it does in the photos I was diappointed. The parking is a JOKE we decided to self park in the parking garage of the Hotel and it was AWEFUL there are big collums in the way and it is extremely difficult to park between that and another car. The room looked ok but it was obvious the sheets hadnt been changed and me and my mom kept feeling like we were getting bit by something. I hardly slept and could not wait to check out Im so glad it was only for one night. As someone who checks this site and others for reviews I felt I was mislead about the others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shameless tourist
Business
Washington DC
Apr 19, 2010

Nice Hotel in New Orleans

We were planning a trip to visit Tulane University and needed a hotel. I'm price-conscious but also wanted a convenient location as we didn't have a car. Not having any direct knowledge, I was mildly concerned about what I would find at Hotel Barrone. It turned out to be quite satisfactory. There didn't seem to be much traffic in the lobby but the room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a great meal at Landry's Seafood House on 400 N Peters Street. Would highly recommend the blackened catfish Atchafalaya with crawdads and dirty rice.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Oct 18, 2010

not so great

no heat in the room no hot water, no cribs available even though i called ahead and was assured they had plenty and it would not be a problem when we arrived they said they only had one & it was unavailable maid services did not come till after 5pm which did not work for our sleeping child. found some garbage under the furniture when we checked into the room not cleaned very well, old wrappers soda caps ect....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Sep 23, 2010

Disappointing

We arrived after midnight. The only staff were a night manager and parking attendant/bellhop/other who had difficulty speaking and understanding English, and was far from a "people person." He appeared easily frustrated/ unfriendly, perhaps due to a language barrier. I asked for a cot, due to an unexpected traveler joing my daughter and me, and was REFUSED because the night-manager had no access and no housekeeping staff. Eventually I was "upgraded" to a room with two doubles and a couch for the third person. The room had a "musty" odor. The night manager was very polite and helpful, to the extent she could be, and the staff the following morning appeared adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maybe next time...
Business
Shreveport, Louisiana
Oct 7, 2011

Not Clean at all....

Well let me start off with the only two good things about this Hotel experience, the first was the Front Desk Staff they were OUTSTANDING! The second the Location it is only a few blocks from Bourbon which was nice cause as much as parking is, it is nice to be able to walk there. Now the bad the Hotel doesnt look as nice as it does in the photos I was diappointed. The parking is a JOKE we decided to self park in the parking garage of the Hotel and it was AWEFUL there are big collums in the way and it is extremely difficult to park between that and another car. The room looked ok but it was obvious the sheets hadnt been changed and me and my mom kept feeling like we were getting bit by something. I hardly slept and could not wait to check out Im so glad it was only for one night. As someone who checks this site and others for reviews I felt I was mislead about the others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MamaWendy
Business
San Antonio, TX
Nov 28, 2013

Comfy but over priced

The Wyndham does not offer shuttle service to/from any of the major travel hubs, so our room ended out costing us an extra $30 for the taxi rides to and from the train station which is less then 10 blocks away. Breakfast isn't included, either. Check-in was quick, as was check out, and the night staff did make arangments for a taxi to be there at 6:00 AM. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The shower took a VERY long time to get hot, the the sink suffered from a slow drain--the bowl was half full by the time I finished brushing my teeth! For the $130 ($160 if you include taxi!) for 8 hours, it was too pricy. Not a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 28, 2011

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

I am frequent visitor to New Orleans, but this is the first time I stayed in this hotel. The room was clean; bed was comfortable; and the location is convenient. My room was totally skipped in cleaning and when I came back in the evening I had to call the desk for service. The cleaning crew had gone home for the night; so the desk clerk brought up some clean towels and took the dirty towels out of the room. That was the only cleaning that was done to my room. Also there is no breakfast offered with the room. There is a small coffee shop which offers Jimmy Dean sausage sandwiches - YUK! You have to go out to breakfast. No eliptical in the fitness room; only one treadmill; bikes and a stepper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Picture Car Dennis
Business
Shreveport, LA
Jun 24, 2010

What should I say about this trip?

The hotel was located in a convenient location, however what they don't tell you is it costs $22.60 per night to park your vehicle, the room was small, the elevators were hot and smelled of hydraulic fluid. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you like Sushi, there is a great Sushi place in the lobby of the hotel.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time en new orleans
Business
laredo, tx
Aug 7, 2012

family vacations

services was good...rooms were clean and pepole were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

souvenirs.

Back to menu Return to top