$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
457 reviews
important appointment on Wed

My wife had an appointment the next day. We were within walking distance of the federal building.... See full review

  • J Alvin
  • Feb 20, 2015
My safe Buckeye Sugar Bowl trip

From the minute I arrived by way of the airport shuttle to the drop-off at the airport to come home... See full review

  • Deborah J.
  • Jan 6, 2015
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 457
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling Grifter
Business
TN
Jul 30, 2010

The Bad and the Ugly

The first thing you learn when checking into this hotel is that they do not have any street level parking--none. They do however have a parking garage that is the size of a sardine can that the hotel will graciously allow you to use for the small sum of $25.00 per day. When I say small I mean small. It was full when we checked in and had to park at a public parking garage a block and a half away. Imagine the fun of toting your belongings that distance in 95+ degree heat with about 80% humidity. We were able to park in the garage the next day but our bill for parking for 5 days was almost $150.00. That was a blow to the vacation fund. Check In was a lengthy process. There was only one person checking people in and we had to stand in line for about 30 minutes. The room itself was not bad but was cramped. The bed took up about 85% of the room. We also noticed that there seemed to be a problem with hot water. During your shower the water would mysteriously disappear for about 20-30 seconds and then come back on and we had to take several showers with luke warm water at best. One thing that would have made the room better would have been a small fridge. We like to carry soda's and snacks on our trips and had no way to keep them cool. We stayed on the top floor of the hotel and staying cool was not an issue in the room but the public hallways were a different story. The public areas on our floor were uncomfortably warm. This hotel was rated at 3 stars but I don't think we will be recommending this hotel to anyone. The one advantage of this hotel is that it is only 1 block from the French Quarter and within easy walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ben Russo
Business
Portland Maine
Oct 16, 2013

New Orleans

The hotel was very nice. Unfortunately for us, LSU and Florida state had a football game and all the college kids stayed in our hotel. Our check in time was pushed out until 5:30 because they were trying to get all the kids settled. The first two nights we got no sleep because the kids partied until 4am. The hotel did nothing to stop them even after our countless calls to the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
May 9, 2009

...or a building site

We were not informed prior to our trip that the hotel was being renovated and that the restaurant would be closed. In this respect we were misled by Orbitz (see above description). Therefore we are not in a position to give any more feedback than that the room was fine and the staff helpful but that the 'elegant lobby' was a building site. We have filled in the required fields only because they are required, most did not apply at the time of our stay. A strong fog of cement dust filled the air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Sep 28, 2009

Don't Make The Mistake We Made

I should have listened to all that I had read in previous reviews. I thought that some construction in the lobby area was something I could overlook, and I was right. However, this hotel has too many other problems which affect hotel guests. After checking in, we discovered that the King room we had requested was not what we got. We had to go back downstairs, turn in the old keys, and go to a different room. When we went to this room, we found that it was not the exterior room we had been told we had when we called to confirm our reservation. We chose to overlook this and stay in the room. We quickly learned that the cold water faucet in the bathroom was really the hot, and the hot was really the cold. This didn't matter much since we had only luke warm water in the sink and shower. We had to have both of these fixed. Everything seemed okay until their wireless Internet access went down. Then of course there was the LOUD party in a room down the hall in the middle of the night. Despite calling the front desk and being told that it would be handled, it was not. The second night saw more of the same when we were awaken at 3:55am with the lould carrying on from another party in the same room. We called the front desk again and were told it would be handled. It of course was not. The noise continued up until 6:30am. From the appearance of things at this hotel, it looked more like a frat house based on the guests and the partying that was apparently allowed. The air conditioning vent points straight at the bed, blowing directly on you. We tried to move the vent slats, doing the best we could (not easy to do), and found they were filthy, as if they have never been cleaned. We also had to laugh at the $20 they charge to your card for "incidentals". What incidentals? There is no mini-bar...no pay per view. And we certainly weren't going to steal the small thin towels they give you for the shower. With the rooms supposedly being refurbished, I didn't expect to see cracks in the bathroom ceiling, and lumps under the carpet that you can easily trip on. When we called to confirm our reservation, my fiancee asked if there was a gym. She was told there was and given the hours. What they failed to tell her was that at least 3 machines had "out of order" signs on them. We should have listened to all the "don't stay here" reviews. We know better now, and will not be staying there on our next New Orleans trip. Maybe they will eventually get their act together, but it appears that is a long way off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Courtz
Business
Alliance, NE
Oct 17, 2011

Up all night

For a town that stays up all night, we were up for the wrong reasons. The pillows felt like sleeping on cement. Our cleaning crew tried to accomodate with softer pillows but only came up with one, which my husband and I fought over. We also thought that the restaurant and the Starbucks located in the lobby would have longer hours or be open all day. Not the case. The staff was friendly and helpful and gave us great directions and suggestions. The location is within walking distance to the French Quarter and the Riverwalk (a little longer trek, but doable). The location was good for noise---you couldn't hear any of the music/commotion from the parties downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley stops 2 blocks from the hotel and will take you to various stops by the Riverwalk and up and down Canal street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nomad4dixie
Business
South Carolina
Jul 16, 2012

Needs lots of attention

We found the Wyndham to be clean and refreshing to a point. First issue that faced us was that the staff, especially doormen, we quite shabbily dressed and offered little or no help. When we were leaving it was pouring rain and the doorman continued to lean up against a wall and never offered help or an umbrella. Desk staff many times appeared much too casually attired. The hotel has two elevators, however one of them had the buttons for floors 2 and 4 (our floor) broken for the entire week of our stay. They assured us the first day that repairs would be made, but failed to follow through on that promise. Although we found the rooms clean, they had almost no ammenities.... no microwave, frig, breakfast, pool and etc. We also experienced issues with the cold water in the room (there was none) and that issue was never adequately addressed either. One day we walked out of room and touched the brass railings only to find that they were covered with brass polish and no sign warning of same resulted in my hands being totally blackened. If you visit this hotel be prepared to pay an outrageous amount of money for parking your car in a dark, dingy and tiny basement garage. We were in a Sonata and when parked could hardly even find room to open the door to exit the vehicle. I would have expected much better for such an amount of money. All in all it was a very clean hotel but lacked in all other areas that would bring it up to the status of a good hotel. We definately would NOT stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Phonix
Business
New Orleans
Apr 3, 2013

Not great, Not bad.

When I arrived to check in a young lady told me that she was still waiting for a room with a king bed to be cleaned, The young lady asked if I would have a seat that it should not be too long and that should would walk over and let me know when a room was ready. Well I wait over thirty five minutes and she never came, not even to tell me she was still waiting. So I had to get up and walk to the front desk and see about the room myself. Another young lady helped me with getting my room( which took all of 1 minute) and she did a better job the the first lady, plus the second young lady couldn't talk all that well but I had better, faster service from her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MSMSJ
Business
San Jose,California
Jun 17, 2013

Not so good

This is a property that has seen better days. It seems they are trying to get a bit more income from a hotel that needs a complete renovation. For example the listing indicated that there are microwave ovens in the rooms. There are not. They will provide them for $10 extra per night. The room furniture is what appears to be the leftovers from once nice room suites. There is very little closet space and they will not provide extra hangers. The last two nights there was a wedding party in many of the rooms and they were having a party in the rooms with a boom box that went on until 3:00 AM. The hotel staff did nothing about this at the time. On being pressed about it they gave us a different room for our last night. This resulted in our having to move our stuff for one night on our last night. All in all, I cannot recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2011

Wyndham Baronne Hotel

I was very disappointed with this Wyndham hotel. The window in my room was facing the interior hallway/atrium. I heard conversations from the rooms next to me and people talking from the lobby very clearly because the walls are very thin and all windows were facing the open layout of the atrium. Housekeeping service was also unsatisfactory because shampoo and bottled water was not replenished on a daily basis. The only positive thing about this hotel is that it's within a few blocks of French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Emeril's Delmonico in the Garden District is a very good restaurant to try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 2, 2008

Good Location/Parking Fee too expensive

Key to the room was not working. Came down stair they gave a different room. New room smell much better.Non holiday, and the Parking fee was $20 at that hotel Ouch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top