$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
446 reviews
Best pillows ever!

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. Close to all attractions but far enough away you didnt hear the... See full review

  • emily2255
  • Sep 20, 2014
Loved, loved, loved the Wyndam Baronne Hotel!

I absolutely loved this hotel! It's on Baronne street. A bit tricky to get to the destination... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jul 10, 2014
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. The elegant lobby boasts the original marble floors, stately columns, and stained glass skylights. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome. A valid major credit card is required at check in for all guests. No pets, including service animals, are allowed at this property.

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (446)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 446
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Showtime5220
Business
Florida
Oct 19, 2013

Don't Stay Here

Dingy is the best way to describe this hotel. It needs a major renovation. Hallways carpets are dirty and good luck parking a full size sedan in the basement garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 6, 2011

Just a Facade! as they described ...

As the hotel says, it has an Art Deco facade. And a facade of comfort as well. The room had a window that looked out to a walkway and into another room, so I couldn't have the curtains open unless I wanted to be seen. It felt like a cave. I later noticed that there was no fridge to keep drinks cool, no microwave, a small TV, the hallway was dark and not welcoming. When I arrived in the room I noticed wet towels on the bed and in the bathroom. The bed seemed half made. This may have been simply a miscommunication between housekeeping and front desk? However, the lack of a fridge in New Orleans, in summer, is truly a bad joke!! And the window.... so I cancelled my 4 nights and went up the street to The Hampton Inn, which was fabulous and cheaper and had a great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I loved Audubon Park and the zoo. And a streetcar ride along St, Charles is a must for every visitor to N.O

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Apr 20, 2009

Would not go back if life depended on it

I'm going to make this short, sweet, and point form: * They were doing construction in the hotel. Not construction on the hotel...but *in* the hotel. What kind of construction? They were making picture frames. In the hotel! Circular saws and staple guns...to make picture frames! * The rooms look like they came out of the 1960s. * My laptop got stolen from inside my room. Hotel staff did not care. In fact, they yelled at me and called me belligerent. Which, even if true (it wasn't), is inexcusable. Do not go to this hotel. Trust me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't stay at the Baronne Plaza
Business
Chicago
Feb 27, 2010

Baronne Plaza Hotel New Orleans

What a dump, and the staff was a joke. Dirty rooms, front desk sleeping, asked for a wake up call... sure no problem... but they did not give me one. Food was not fit for a dog. Loud and stinky. Parking garage is 25.00 a day but you have to get the staff to hand open the gate each time you leave and it can take 15 minutes! I have stayed in some rough areas in my day but this is by far the worst ever and I'm an ex Army Ranger. Do yourself a favor and do not stay here even if it's free! This place is a big ZERO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Short walk to the french quarter... four blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, AL
Mar 29, 2011

Not recommended

No problems with the staff. They were friendly and helpful. However, many if not most of the rooms have NO EXTERIOR WINDOWS! Our room had a window facing THE HALLWAY. Not acceptable. Decor was tacky and not at all coordinated. A/C didn't work very well. Bathroom door was broken. Cigarette burns on the plastic bathtub, and so on... WAY over priced for the quality/features/lack of decor and windows

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lucky jerk
Business
chicago
Dec 10, 2011

Over rated hotel

Night staff could not give directions to get to hotel . Later , hot water broke , and had to take "cold showers" to get to meetings. Had to micro manage hotel staff. When leaving, the front desk told me airport was in the opposite direction according to the posted road signs, they told me East when all signs absolutely said West going from New Orleans to the airport ( they could not read a map either) . Hotel in general needs help starting at the upper management level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Better to walk then take taxi or drive Save money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Austin Business Traveler
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Window looks out onto hall??

The weird floorplan is the reason I would not stay in this hotel again. It seems that most of the rooms do not have a window on the exterior of the building. Instead they have a window that looks out onto the hall. It's just not comfortable. Bad architecture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Singha Thai Cafe about 4 blocks away on Carondelet was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MD from IN
Business
Indiana, USA
Apr 29, 2012

close to Quarter and in downtown

Room 201 was noisy, right between the elevators and the exercise room. Lighting was marginal. For the average cost of $240 per night not a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Historic Hotel Aficionado
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 19, 2013

Not great - better options in New Orleans

I had a very disappointing stay - the room was small and windowless (aside from the window to an interior hall way), the sheets were old and uncomfortable, the towels small and scratchy, the carpet was tattered, and the entire building smelled of cheap air freshener. All in all there are many better options in New Orleans - I wouldn't stay here again. The location is great, but there are ample hotels in or near the CBD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Merchant is a great spot for breakfast or lunch and it is just down the street from this hotel. Great coffee, great crepes, great sandwiches, interesting decor - highly recommend you check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BarbaraJane729
Business
New Orleans
May 21, 2013

Room Issue

It would have been nice if i was told that I had an "inside" room with no window. Very claustrophobic. I would have either changed my room or gone to another hotel if I had the chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top